We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Hotel Marad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Marad
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Torre Del Greco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is located in Torre del Greco, just outside of Naples.
Very nice hotel with beautiful rooms and a great terrace with a view of both the Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples.
Good and reasonably priced food.
Recommended

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Clarencephil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Such a wonderful hotel and wonderful owners !
Lovely clean room with 2 incredible views: ocean on the right and Vesuvius vulcan on the left!
Greece influences in terraces decorations with little elegant details.
You will find a Very friendly restaurant's staff and an excellent guide in mr Masimo from reception!
This hotel has an excellent location, so you can visit Pompei , Vesuvius, Amalfi coast, Sorento and ...if you need a bit of stress, Napoli ....

Food is great, only not too many daily choices ....

Definitely we loved this hotel.We would gladly recommend it and go back , whenever will visit Italy again!

Room Tip: The building with the reception has newer rooms and is close to restaurant, pool and rest area. 2n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Camelai2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a lovely stay in this hotel, which is well placed for visiting Pompeii and Herculaneum. The rooms are comfortable and quiet with sunny balconies (the hair driers are terrible,though!!.) The public areas are lovely but the rooms are in need of a little updating ( a work in progress maybe??) The views of Vesuvius and also of the sea are magnificent. We enjoyed the food in the restaurant each night at the end of a hectic day's sightseeing. Service was friendly and efficient and the food very enjoyable. There was enough variety at the breakfast buffet - great cake too. We always relaxed by the quiet pool in the late afternoon, which was pleasant.
My husband managed to leave his I-pod and all our cables behind when we left! We phoned and they had been found by our lovely chambermaid so we were able to collect them a few days later. Brilliant! Well done Hotel Marad( and thanks to our chambermaid)! A great stay!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We arrived at this hotel after a 9 hour drive from Austria and the first impression was very good. The layout and the condition of the hotel are perfect.

The rooms are small but are modern and clean. The TV was only Italian (however, there was a trick, if you start at channel 1 and roll backwards you will find ARD (german) channel on position 4). Internet was free and it worked OK

I thought breakfast was brilliant – the offer was small (continental) but the coffee was good and we were able to sit outside and enjoy the weather.

The pool was small but I also enjoyed a couple of hours there one afternoon.

Value for money was also very good

The reason why I didn’t give this place 4 stars was the reception - unfriendly (I hate it when they don’t smile), inefficient (did they not understand or did they not care?) and were not in a position to inform about local amenities

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel to be out of noisy Naples and to have a base for being close to the area (Napoli, Pompeii, Ercolano, Sorrento etc)
I wouldn't call it a 4* hotel, anyhow it is very friendly and located in a great place. The view is magnificient (you can see bay of Napoli and mount Vesuvio as well); restaurant and the food is gorgeous, personell is courteous and polite (some with poor English though). The rooms and all locations are clean, breakfast was adequate, service was excellent.
If you're not with a car but with train (circumvesuiviana) it's advisable to print out your route from the station to the hotel before arrival - it can be very helpful. Since the hotel is almost on the top of the hill you need to walk a lot uphill, which to be honest it's not so fun when you have lots of baggages.
Torre del Greco itself it's not worth visiting or spending more time than necessary, anyhow it is situated in a good places so every attraction of the area can be easily accessed from here.
Not so many restaurants in the neighborhood (= none), it's advisable you eat at hotel's restaurant or at the place you visited that day (there are many many great pizzeria's and restaurants in Pompeii or Sorrento, and Napoli of course). There's a nice little grocery store close to Marad, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with balcony in order to have a gorgeous view to Vesuvio and/or the bay of Napoli.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this nice hotel to be out of Naples and to have a base for seeing the area. Hotel is clean; beautiful view if you have a room above the second floor like we did to see the gulf of Naples and the mountain. The breakfast was nice each morning and service was excellent! The price was good compared to others I looked at. At the bottom of the hill from the motel is a grocery store with fresh fruit , vegetables and etc. we bought some snacks and water there. Across the street from it is a gelato and pastry shop. Had a nice cappuccino there. The area is kind of grungy but most of the area around Naples is, but we walked from the hotel here and I felt at ease. I would return to this hotel because it was very relaxing after the hustle of Rome we had earlier in the week and to enjoy a drink in the garden or on the rooftop terrace.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3roaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Overall a good hotel in a quiet location. There was four of us sharing a room which could have been a bit bigger but had a good balcony area and very efficient air conditioning. The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was perfectly adequate with fresh fruit and a choice of mainly cold foods with pastries. The pool area was good with plenty of available sunbeds but the best feature was the lovely roof terrace where you could get a drink in the evening and watch the amazing view and sunsets. It was more difficult to get a drink during the day but when the waiters were working they were very helpful.

The area of Torre del Greco is fairly quiet but not very attractive (dirty and scruffy) and we would probably not return there. There is only really one restaurant within walking distance from the hotel and not much in the way of shops. However it is a good base to climb Versuvius (which is a must!) and to visit Pompeii etc. Overall I would recommend the hotel but not the area!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torre Del Greco
0.9 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#2 of 4 in Torre Del Greco
485 reviews
1.9 mi away
Andris Hotel
Andris Hotel
#2 of 6 in Ercolano
392 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Signorini Events & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Miglio d'Oro Park Hotel
Miglio d'Oro Park Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ercolano
401 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Herculaneum
Hotel Herculaneum
#1 of 6 in Ercolano
431 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Puntaquattroventi
Hotel Puntaquattroventi
#6 of 6 in Ercolano
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marad

Address: Via Benedetto Croce 20, 80059 Torre Del Greco, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Torre Del Greco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Torre Del Greco
Price Range: £49 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marad 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Marad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marad Hotel Torre Del Greco
Hotel Marad Torre Del Greco, Italy - Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing