We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under construction at the moment”
Review of Opel Zoo

Opel Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Open Zoo is a private zoo located 20 minutes north of Frankfurt.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Under construction at the moment”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Still worth the visit with children, nice setting out in the green of the Taunus hills. Some exhibits are dated and need refurbishment, lot's of construction at the moment.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tablank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    129
    38
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Super fun place to enjoy the family and all the smiles”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Great place to take the kids on a nice day. Lots of restaurants, but you can also bring your own food as there are lots of places to picnic. If it is a hot day the kids can bring their swimsuits and play in the stream. Mini-golf, games, rides. My kids favorite was the field of trampolines. I really wonderful day.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Lots to do and See”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

You can buy carrots when you purchase your tickets to feed the animals along the way. I thought this was interesting. The zoo is large and can take most of your day to get around. It also has a great kids park, with many large climbing areas and activities to keep the kids busy while you sit and rest.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kara79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice, clean zoo with lots of animals”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Very nice zoo close to Wiesbaden. Easy way to spend a half day or more. Prices were low and there the kids had a wonderful time seeing all of the various animals.

Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice day out”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We were looking for a nice low key activity to do with our little one after having run ourselves all over Germany, and found the Opel Zoo to be perfect. My husband had also visited there as a child and had some fond memories and wanted to return. We were pleasantly surprised as just how clean and well maintained the zoo is with lovely walking trails which allow you to get pretty close to the animals. We also enjoyed the playgrounds for the little ones.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank nanyogfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Opel Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Opel Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing