We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai dishes in a provincial French Restaurant!”

Auberge de la Diligence
Reserve with
Auberge de la Diligence is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #160 of 1,202 Restaurants in Maine et Loire
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Thai dishes in a provincial French Restaurant!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Had the Menu Surprise (8 courses chosen by the Chef) and was delighted to find included an excellent Thai curry dish based around some beautifully cooked pieces of lamb(!). Every dish achieved the standard expected of a Michelin starred restaurant and a couple stood out as excellent). Service was good, the menu's were provided in English and the wine list provided very interesting choices without silly mark ups.

For those with a penchant for dessert the menu surprise includes a small version of each of the 6 desserts on offer from the menu. They all come at once and you need quite a constitution to get through them all!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Takehimanywheretwice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    12
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Experience”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant with a large group of 12 and had a great night.

The staff were friendl and helpful and even though none of us spoke much French they provided us with English menus. The food was very good, the wine list extensive and they assisted us with some excellent wine choices.

I would definitely return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlexMorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner in the country”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

In stark contrast to the previous reviewer, we had such a nice time at la Diligence that we came back for a second dinner in order to share the place with a friend during our recent stay in northern Anjou. We do speak passable French, but our waiter would have been happy to serve us in English and offered to more than once. We couldn't have felt more welcome, and the staff was nice about letting us come late one night after a long day of sightseeing in Tours.
The food is really delicious with the emphasis on seafood. We had lovely preparations of bar, cabillaud, homard and torteau. The wine list is excellent, and the room is all rustic elegance. Ask for a table near the fire.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlyingOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not visit this restaurant unless you are a fluent French speaker”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Chef's tasting menu was of the standard and price to be expected in a Michelin starred restaurant, the wine selection was (with the exception of the La Vie En Rose served with the dessert) unexceptional and showed no trace of though in terms of matching food to wine. Our young waiter, was arrogant and disinterested.- in sharp contrast to the exceptionally friendly and good humoured service which up to now had been invariably been our experience in good French restaurants. The only concern of the young man seemed to be to make our dining experience as uncomfortable as possible in front of a full house of locals. We made a 70 km round trip to sample the delights of "La Diligence" it was a mistake

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auberge de la Diligence also viewed

Vern-d'Anjou, Maine et Loire
Cande, Maine et Loire
 
Les Rosiers sur Loire, Maine et Loire
 
Segre, Maine et Loire
Chenille-Change, Maine et Loire
 

Been to Auberge de la Diligence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing