We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel if you need to be in the area.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Madrid-Rivas
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Vaciamadrid
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Okay hotel if you need to be in the area.”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This was a very typical HIX in a suburban location. Good breakfast and the rooms were standard for European Holiday Inn Expresses. The location is not for anyone expecting to stay in Madrid as it is at least 10 miles from the downtown with no public transportation nearby. But if you have a car and want to be in the Rivas area, this hotel is a good choice.

One note: if you try to find the hotel with a GPS, the address listed on the website does not work. I had to find it by driving in circles in the area for 45 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    87
    69
    30
    9
See reviews for
119
32
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

If anyone is travelling on business, I urge you to avoid this hotel with all costs!

no room service, no restaurants inside the hotel, no decent breakfast, no complementary water in the room.. and the no's dont stop

I found hotels with the same about price range with much better quality closer to madrid.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Menidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectoraRivas, Director General at Holiday Inn Express Madrid-Rivas, responded to this review, 12 October 2010
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for your comments that will help us to improve our service. However, Holiday Inn Express Madrid-Rivas is a limited service Hotel. So, we have no restaurant inside, no room service, no complimentary water in the room....Our Hotel is "Limited Service".

I am sure we are perfect for leisure and business travellers alike, as we offer bar service, vending machines, a mall center with restaurants just 3 minutes walking from the hotel, Wifi, Business Corner, free continental buffet Breakfast for all our guests.... and a staff that will do their best to fulfil your requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vaciamadrid hotels

Torrance, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We picked hotels online that listed accommodations for parking, WiFi internet connection, breakfast. This hotel charges 3 Euros for 30 min access to internet. Can only use 1 computer in cafeteria. Very frustrating. Charge for basic TV channels. Hotel is near industrial area. Rude staff. Looks clean. Not impressed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mercado-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectoraRivas, Director General at Holiday Inn Express Madrid-Rivas, responded to this review, 12 October 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time that will help us to improve our service.

Our hotel offers free fenced outdoor parking and complimentary continental buffet breakfast for all our guests. At the moment, Internet access is chargeable.

Basic Tv channels are free of charge (Spanish Tv and Satellite Tv). The only one you have to pay for is the Pay-Tv films.

Thank you again for your time and we will consider your comments regarding Internet access.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

First off there is no shuttle service from the airport so your paying at least 20+ Euro there and back each way. It's located in the middle of nowhere, very industrial area. The staff was okay, not %100 welcoming. There is a bus stop located 10mins away but if you want to get downtown you have to cross a busy highway over a bridge which is another 15mins from the first bus stop. If you have a car it might be alright. Without a car this place is a complete nightmare. Never would I stay here again... EVER!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthonyhenhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectoraRivas, Gerente at Holiday Inn Express Madrid-Rivas, responded to this review, 12 October 2010
Dear Guest,

There must be a misunderstanding with the name of the property you stayed at, because our hotel is not close to the airport, that is why we do not offer Shuttle from or to the airport, and a taxi from the airport will cost about 35 euros, not 20 euros.

Our Hotel is located in an industrial area but we have a mall center just 3 minutes walking, a Mc Donalds, the Town Hall, a gas station... The bus stop is just in front of the mall center, so 3 minutes walking and this bus will take you directly to Conde de Casal where it is easy to go to the city center by bus or metro.... (you have to cross no highway).

I am afraid, you stayed at other hotel, but not at Holiday Inn Express Madrid-Rivas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

I originally read poor reviews for this hotel and stayed at Novotel Naciones in Madrid. That hotel reeked of smoke and the rooms were dingy. Ended up staying here and was pleasantly surprised. The place is very clean--the cleaning staff works until 2000 every day. The rooms are modern, you don't have to pay for tv, there's free breakfast, the staff is amazingly helpful, and there's a nice bar. For dinner, there are no nearby restaurants save a steakhouse. The steakhouse is good, not great. The portions are small and the prices hefty. If you need to eat, order from the Chinese take-out place; wholly moley, it was surprisingly good. For transportation, you can walk to the bus stop and take a bus to Avenue of the Americas and then catch the metro from there to see all of Madrid. A taxi to the airport varies since the cab drivers seem to have a button they push that suddenly adds additional costs onto any ride. We went to the airport several times and noticed the best fares were subjectively applied when we talked nicely to the driver. We were stuck in Marid after the volcano and enjoyed our time at HI Express; if you really want to be closer to the cultural sites, this is not the place to stay.

Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank VonWandurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2010

The staff were friendly and helpful during our stay, yes it is a fare way out of madrid but the nearby rivas centro (shopping centre) is ideal for a nice meal and a few beers after a long day sightseeing in the city. Best tip i can give is- a working knowledge of spanish is essential and to use bus no. 333 to get to the metro station : Rivas-Urbanizaciones as it is too far to walk.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roylancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

This was our first visit to Madrid, we stayed 2 days. The hotel is way out from city center. Holiday Inn had free parking for our car, which was its only plus. It is run down, really showing the wear and tear. The room was very small - only one person could walk around the room at a time. There was only room for one piece of our luggage to be accessible at a time. The only view is from the breakfast area on the main floor, the desk staff were not overly helpful in telling us what amenities were in the area, laguage barrier. There is a small mall a couple blocks away, but in driving around on our own found a major mall about 2 km away that had restaurants open late. The driving directions to get to the hotel were confusing.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoLoco69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaciamadrid
1.3 mi away
Sercotel AB Rivas
Sercotel AB Rivas
#1 of 2 in Vaciamadrid
112 reviews
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Madrid-Getafe
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Madrid Leganes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Ibis Madrid Arganda
Ibis Madrid Arganda
#1 of 2 in Arganda del Rey
272 reviews
9.5 mi away
Eurostars Arenas de Pinto
10.9 mi away
Sercotel Princesa De Eboli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Madrid-Rivas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Madrid-Rivas

Property: Holiday Inn Express Madrid-Rivas
Address: Avenida De La Tecnica 8, 28529 Vaciamadrid, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Community of Madrid > Vaciamadrid
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Vaciamadrid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Madrid-Rivas 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Express by Holiday Inn Madrid- Rivas is ideally located to the South East of Madrid. The hotel is only 15 minutes by car from the centre of 'Old' Madrid and near the fast expanding business area of Rivas Futura with the new mall center H2Ocio.The hotel is perfect for business and leisure travellers alike; Hotel located only 20 minutes by car from Warner Bros Park Madrid, Faunia, IFEMA fairground and Barajas International airport. Only 5 minutes by car from new IKEA Madrid Este and 10 minutes from Arganda del Rey.Near to Coslada the hotel has easy access to the A3 Madrid-Valencia motorway with connection to the M50, M45 and M40 ring roads. The hotel is close to companies in the area such as Leroy Merlin, Canon and SOS Cuétara. In addition the hotel has spacious parking for cars and buses.The hotel Express by Holiday Inn Madrid- Rivas offers an extensive complimentary buffet breakfast to all our guests to start the day and has an informal atmosphere in our bar to relax after work.If you need to use a computer our Business Corner is at your disposal for printing, fax, photocopies and e.mails. The hotel also offers High-speed internet access, wireless connection (WIFI) and Pay-Tv in all guest bedrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Madrid-Rivas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Madrid-Rivas Hotel Madrid
Holiday Inn Madrid
Madrid Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing