We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unwind peacefully”
Review of Parador de Vic-Sau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Parador de Vic-Sau
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Vic
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We sampled 5 paradores some 4 years ago in andalusia and found them great value . Vic Sau was in the same vein : efficient, dependable, clean , super location . Vic Sau was the closest parador to ...Barcelona would you believe , so as a location to take day trips to Gaudi city , it was not perfect. But we had silence, good weather , reasonable food and helpful staff .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Philippe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
There are newer reviews for Parador de Vic-Sau
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at the Parador de Vic-Sau for 2 nights - before we arrived the hotel emailed us offering us the opportunity to pay an additional €25 per night to upgrade to a superior room with a balcony overlooking the lake. I don't know what the standard rooms look like (or if they have a lake view) but I certainly felt that the upgrade was worth the money. The room was spacious and comfortable and the view from our balcony was just stunning.

The parador is about a 15 minute drive from the centre of Vic, but this was not an issue as we had a hire car and found some free car parking very close to the city centre (5 minutes walk to the main square) which proved to have some excellent dinner options.

The parador location is beautiful and peaceful and a real escape from the urban hustle and bustle.

Would definitely recommend a stay in Vic for a night or two, and the parador makes a good base - great value for money.

Room Tip: You definitely need a room with a lake view - we were offered an upgrade at a cost - we thought it w...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nikkip378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

with similar furniture in most rooms. What they do have, however is stunning buildings and/or locations. This parador is quite new - opened 2006 - almost at the end of a mountain road, and high above the Sau reservoir. Unlike some paradores that we have experienced, the staff here are extremely helpful, friendly and pleased to give information on places to visit (and where to park in Vic - extremely useful). As stated in other reviews, it is important to book a superior room with a terrace which overlooks the reservoir. Our room was spotless, the food very good (and the huge restaurant not at all busy, although apparently very different at weekends). The pool area is lovely, with staff on hand to give out towels. Two activities not to be missed: (1) A superb walk from the hotel along a woodland path, high above the river, to the Monastery of Sant Pere de Casseres, set on a headland where the river does a U-turn. (2) A 40 minute drive to the lovely mountain village of Rupit (Don't forget to take 2 euros for the car park). Apparently Rupit is very busy at weekends; we went at about 4pm on a Thursday, when it was lovely and quiet. The medieval centre of Vic is also not far and well worth a visit

Room Tip: Be sure to overlook the reservoir
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woody4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This was our last stop on the way to Barcelona and the hotel had everything we were hoping for. High quality spacious room and a balcony overlooking the lake. The room was well equipped with everything you would expect from a luxury hotel and the little extra things like free uncomplicated wifi with good bandwidth meant that it was easy to keep in touch with others (and leave this review of course)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank gordoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This paradoris Situated on a bluff overlooking a beautiful lake. Some rooms do not look over the, be sure and request one that does. The restaurant and bar were good with very nice staff. Hiking trsils abound inthe area.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We called in for a quick snack at lunchtime. The food was good and the views were amazing! We also drove further up the hill to visit the old monastery. The views up there were even better! A lovely place in a beautiful part of Catalunya.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JackieTrainor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Had a great couple of nights in this great hotel.
Would recommend this Parador the standard of food and accommodation is very good.
If booking would recommend you book a room with a balcony. The view is amazing out over the reservoir. Could not fault it in any way.
Which Parador next ?

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jphoffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vic
6.0 mi away
Hotel J. Balmes Vic
6.4 mi away
NH Ciutat de Vic
NH Ciutat de Vic
#2 of 6 in Vic
193 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Can Pamplona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Mas Albereda
Mas Albereda
#1 of 2 in Sant Julia De Vilatorta
209 reviews
13.9 mi away
Husa Sant Bernat
Husa Sant Bernat
#1 of 4 in Montseny
211 reviews
6.2 mi away
Seminari Allotjaments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Vic-Sau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Vic-Sau

Address: Carretera de Tavernoles Km 10, 08500, Vic, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Vic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Vic
Price Range: £72 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Vic-Sau 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in one of the loveliest parts of the Osona district, with the Guillerías Mountains in the distance and Sau Reservoir at its feet. The Parador reflects the traditional style of a Catalan country house. Its beautifully maintained garden, superior guest rooms with balconies and a magnificent seasonal swimming pool with views of the exceptional landscape make this a wonderful place to get away from it all and relax. The tranquil surroundings are perfect for nature and adventure sports. You can also visit Barcelona. This is the closest Parador to the Catalan capital (82 kilometers by car), allowing you to make the short journey from the hotel for day trips to the cosmopolitan city.In addition to excursions to nearby sights like Sau Reservoir and Casserres Monastery, the town of Vic is well worth a visit. Its old quarter will transport you back in time, where you will discover such treasures as the Roman temple, city walls and cathedral.The beauty of the Parador and its surrounding area, its exquisite cuisine and proximity to lovely Barcelona, together with the peaceful natural setting, make this an exceptional place that is sure to fascinate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Parador de Vic-Sau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Vic-Sau Hotel Vic
Parador De Vic-Sau Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing