We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant”
Review of Parador de Vic-Sau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador de Vic-Sau
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Vic
Certificate of Excellence
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Excellent, peaceful setting. Room upgrade to a balcony was well justified for the early morning breakfast in room service (no extra charge).
Evening meal, was average - no real gastronomic surprises, after we spent two weeks on holiday on the costa's with far better food. May be worth checking out a local restaurant if staying longer than the overnight we stayed.

Room Tip: If staying more than one night, consider local restaurants also. If dining half board this could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveDag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    189
    62
    15
    4
See reviews for
89
290
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in an amazing location, very remote, but with a wonderful view. No man made sound at night, no man made light in the sky.
The hotel is very impressive, and we were very lucky to get room 212 with a view over the Lake. And what a view! !!
The rooms are of a very high standard, well appointed and spacious. The hotel staff were very very helpful and polite, and did a very good job. The bar staff also worked in the restaurant so the wait for a drink could be quite long. The only downside, like the parador in Vielha that we stayed in immediately before this one is that it lacks some charm or some atmosphere. It seems to be a trait in Paradors. Some music perhaps, maybe some candles on tables or in the bar, some more subtle lighting perhaps, I can't put my finger on it - its just missing something. However, to reiterate, the staff did a great job and the hotel is lovely, especially if you are looking for peace and quiet in a remote location. And bring your camera!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JonRankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We sampled 5 paradores some 4 years ago in andalusia and found them great value . Vic Sau was in the same vein : efficient, dependable, clean , super location . Vic Sau was the closest parador to ...Barcelona would you believe , so as a location to take day trips to Gaudi city , it was not perfect. But we had silence, good weather , reasonable food and helpful staff .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at the Parador de Vic-Sau for 2 nights - before we arrived the hotel emailed us offering us the opportunity to pay an additional €25 per night to upgrade to a superior room with a balcony overlooking the lake. I don't know what the standard rooms look like (or if they have a lake view) but I certainly felt that the upgrade was worth the money. The room was spacious and comfortable and the view from our balcony was just stunning.

The parador is about a 15 minute drive from the centre of Vic, but this was not an issue as we had a hire car and found some free car parking very close to the city centre (5 minutes walk to the main square) which proved to have some excellent dinner options.

The parador location is beautiful and peaceful and a real escape from the urban hustle and bustle.

Would definitely recommend a stay in Vic for a night or two, and the parador makes a good base - great value for money.

Room Tip: You definitely need a room with a lake view - we were offered an upgrade at a cost - we thought it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkip378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

with similar furniture in most rooms. What they do have, however is stunning buildings and/or locations. This parador is quite new - opened 2006 - almost at the end of a mountain road, and high above the Sau reservoir. Unlike some paradores that we have experienced, the staff here are extremely helpful, friendly and pleased to give information on places to visit (and where to park in Vic - extremely useful). As stated in other reviews, it is important to book a superior room with a terrace which overlooks the reservoir. Our room was spotless, the food very good (and the huge restaurant not at all busy, although apparently very different at weekends). The pool area is lovely, with staff on hand to give out towels. Two activities not to be missed: (1) A superb walk from the hotel along a woodland path, high above the river, to the Monastery of Sant Pere de Casseres, set on a headland where the river does a U-turn. (2) A 40 minute drive to the lovely mountain village of Rupit (Don't forget to take 2 euros for the car park). Apparently Rupit is very busy at weekends; we went at about 4pm on a Thursday, when it was lovely and quiet. The medieval centre of Vic is also not far and well worth a visit

Room Tip: Be sure to overlook the reservoir
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

This was our last stop on the way to Barcelona and the hotel had everything we were hoping for. High quality spacious room and a balcony overlooking the lake. The room was well equipped with everything you would expect from a luxury hotel and the little extra things like free uncomplicated wifi with good bandwidth meant that it was easy to keep in touch with others (and leave this review of course)

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank gordoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angels Camp, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This paradoris Situated on a bluff overlooking a beautiful lake. Some rooms do not look over the, be sure and request one that does. The restaurant and bar were good with very nice staff. Hiking trsils abound inthe area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vic
6.4 mi away
NH Ciutat de Vic
NH Ciutat de Vic
#2 of 6 in Vic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
13.9 mi away
Husa Sant Bernat
Husa Sant Bernat
#1 of 4 in Montseny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel J. Balmes Vic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Montanya Hotel & Lodge
4.1 mi away
Hotel Torre Marti
Hotel Torre Marti
#2 of 2 in Sant Julia De Vilatorta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mas Albereda
Mas Albereda
#1 of 2 in Sant Julia De Vilatorta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Vic-Sau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Vic-Sau

Property: Parador de Vic-Sau
Address: Carretera de Tavernoles Km 10 (BV-5213), 08500, Vic, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Vic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Vic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Vic-Sau 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in one of the loveliest parts of the Osona district, with the Guillerías Mountains in the distance and Sau Reservoir at its feet. The Parador reflects the traditional style of a Catalan country house. Its beautifully maintained garden, superior guest rooms with balconies and a magnificent seasonal swimming pool with views of the exceptional landscape make this a wonderful place to get away from it all and relax. The tranquil surroundings are perfect for nature and adventure sports. You can also visit Barcelona. This is the closest Parador to the Catalan capital (82 kilometers by car), allowing you to make the short journey from the hotel for day trips to the cosmopolitan city.In addition to excursions to nearby sights like Sau Reservoir and Casserres Monastery, the town of Vic is well worth a visit. Its old quarter will transport you back in time, where you will discover such treasures as the Roman temple, city walls and cathedral.The beauty of the Parador and its surrounding area, its exquisite cuisine and proximity to lovely Barcelona, together with the peaceful natural setting, make this an exceptional place that is sure to fascinate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Parador de Vic-Sau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Vic-Sau Hotel Vic
Parador De Vic-Sau Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing