We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cava & Hotel Mastinell
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Our stay here which included the Cava tour was a gift from our daughter who lives in Barcelona. She had visited soon after it had opened and recommended it.
This was the most unique hotel experience we have had, despite staying in many beautiful establishments around the world. We loved the "boutique " feel. The service was excellent, the room over looked the vines and the chocoales and bottles of wine in the fridge were thoroughly appreciated.
The restaurant though small served authentic Catalan food and the wine selection was excellent.
We would visit again and certainly reccommend.

Room Tip: A room facing the vines with the Church on the horizon is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyPatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    38
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
146
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic modern vineyard hotel. The rooms are sensational and look over the hills and vineyards. We stayed in the Chardonnay room and was delighted with the amenties and lay out.

The staff are very friendly and welcoming. We had a wine tasting which was incredible value and the Cava and wines on offer we're delicious. A bargain at only €4. The lady was knowledgable about the local area and was keen to answer any questions.

I would thoroughly recommended the restaurant. We had both lunch and dinner. Again fantastic value and the wine/cava was included. As much as you could drink!

One of the best places I've stayed in Europe. Thoroughly recommend.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark-Rainsforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Beautiful property with one of a kind architecture. Great service. Perfect for a romantic getaway. Didn't do the on site wine tour since time was limited but Torres is right around the corner.

And the wines are surprisingly good. Giselle White Xarello blew us away!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herman1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stumbled upon this whilst biking in the area and whilst in our cycling gear, the staff welcomed us into their fancy restaurant where we had a lovely lunch. Three courses with cava was only 19 euro each. The cava was AMAZING and great value to take some away with you. The staff were so lovely and knowledgable. Much better than another nameless vineyard in the area. Definitely visit here for lunch, or just a glass amongst the vines!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydTraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The design of the hotel is stunning and staff are warm, friendly and very accommodating. We stayed for 2 nights and the view from the hotel overlooks the vineyards, village and mountains -depending on your room.

The food is fantastic - Catalan cuisine prepared using locally sourced ingredients ... served with a twist. The seafood was delicious - the fish with the "rovallones" (local, in season mushrooms) were delicately seasoned, fresh and light. The tuna tartar with olive oil caviar was unique and worked beautifully together. The olive oil was a little intense for me but that is just a matter of preference. My husband loved the caviar ... he's Spanish so that should say it all :) We had every dish paired with a wine from the cellar including sparkling wine (Cava) and the team did a great job with the pairings.

The bread served at the start of the meal could use some work - it might work better if it were toasted and served with the wonderful olive oil (that was used to make the caviar) and some sea salt. Next day's breakfast was the highlight of our day! Perfectly poached, runny eggs with cold cuts, toasted bread, pulpy orange juice (freshly squeezed!) and a sinfully yummy selection of pastries - just say yes to the croissants ... just do it. Last but not least, the beds are super comfy and we slept like babies!

Looking forward to heading there again soon - thanks for a wonderful experience and compliments to the team! On the way out, be sure to grab a bottle of Sant Pau, almost ice wine-like but so much better because it isn't as syrupy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Msvaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliviaHotels, Director General at Cava & Hotel Mastinell, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Google Translation
Estimado cliente, ante todo muchas gracias por haber compartido su experiencia con los viajeros de Trip Advisor. Es para nosotros un auténtico placer que disfrutaran de su estancia en nuestro pequeño gran hotel, esperamos verles pronto de nuevo.

Saludos cordiales en nombre de todo el equipo,

Jordi Ferré
Director Cava&Hotel Mastinell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This hotel was absolutely gorgeous, was on a gorgeous piece of property, and had spectacular rooms. My wife and I were very pleased and we will definitely stay here again. The cost of the hotel is pretty high, but you get free wine and cava in your room and the dinner cost is very low. Also the dinner was one of the best meals I have ever had, so that last point is important. If you are able to stay here I would highly highly recommend it, it will be completely worth your time and money.

Room Tip: There are only 12 rooms in this hotel and I believe 10 of the 12 are the same. Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Booked this hotel as it was near the wineries we were visiting and we wanted to stay over in Vilafranca. We were not disappointed.

Firstly the architecture is quite stunning - extremely modern yet still in keeping with the surroundings (think Hobbiton designed by Mies van de Rohe). The rooms have views of the vineyards and are well-appointed with plenty of space and both bath and separate shower (separate again from the loo, which is always a nice touch). As well as the standard hotel mini-bar there is a wine fridge in which you can store any of your purchases from the day. We were touched that this also contained a complementary half bottle of Mas Tinell wine and the same of cava!

We dined in the hotel restaurant which has a fully open kitchen - they do tasting menu experiences so there is also a dining space right next to the kitchen - this is now on our 'to do list'! The food was very good and well-priced as a fixed-price menu with three options per course. Charming service and wine from the Mas Tinell estate was included in the price.
The included breakfast was leisurely and generous.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same apart from the one suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklebcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilafranca del Penedes
0.9 mi away
Mercer Hotels Casa Torner i Guell
Mercer Hotels Casa Torner i Guel...
#2 of 5 in Vilafranca del Penedes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
9.8 mi away
Dolce Sitges
Dolce Sitges
#5 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,270 reviews
13.2 mi away
Le Meridien Ra Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Hotel Platjador
Hotel Platjador
#1 of 40 in Sitges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,769 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Air Penedes
Hotel Air Penedes
#5 of 5 in Vilafranca del Penedes
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Sol i Vi
Hotel Sol i Vi
#1 of 1 in Lavern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cava & Hotel Mastinell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cava & Hotel Mastinell

Property: Cava & Hotel Mastinell
Address: Ctra. Vilafranca a St. Marti Sarroca, Km 0.5, 08720 Vilafranca del Penedes, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Vilafranca del Penedes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vilafranca del Penedes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cava & Hotel Mastinell 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cava & Hotel Mastinell is located in a superb land, with a low-rise building to minimize the visual impact respect to the environment. Its Gaudi's architecture mimics a sinuous rhyme bottles of cava by the second fermentation between the vineyards. A 5-star hotel overlooking the vineyards that offers 11 deluxe rooms and a suite with elegant decor in light colors and wooden furniture, air conditioning, flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi and a private bathroom with free toiletries. This fantastic architectural project is awarded with the gold medal at the International Exhibition of Interior Design Shanghai 2011 and in its first year is awarded as "Best tourist establishment in Wine Routes of Spain", awarded by the Spanish Association of Cities Wine (ACEVIN) and Turiespana. In 2014 is also awarded the prize for Best Tourism Experience by the Generalitat de Catalunya. In its elegant dining, En Rima Gastronomic Space, offer Mediterranean cuisine of sea and mountain "km 0" with local produce in a cozy atmosphere, with "show cooking" and overlooking the vineyards. Among other services offered by this enotouristic complex we can found the cellar where wines and champagnes Mastinell are made; cavaterapia and wine therapy treatments; and various wine tourism activities. The beaches of Sitges and Vilanova i la Geltru are located to 25km, and E15 motorway is 5 minutes away and offers access to the coast and the center of Barcelona in 45 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cava & Hotel Mastinell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cava & Hotel Mastinell Province Of Barcelona/Vilafranca Del Penedes, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing