We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday in Costa Brava”
Review of Camping Cala Gogo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calonge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Cala Gogo
Reviewed 11 June 2012

As a family of five, our Eurocamp cabin was great. Located close to the beach, it was easy to get to the beAch to wallow away the time. We went off season around June 6-13,2012 it was quite but as a family it was great. The supermarket was well stocked and we ate local and at times in the close by town of playa da aros. The beach was not overly crowded, but they were little coves dotted nearby if you walked along the coastal tracks. There are two large pools for use and the mini club was ok. We even went next door to camping international for some meals and their mini club since it was so quite!
Taxi cost to playa da aros wee about 10 euros one way. Walking into town takes about 40 minuteS with a 4 year in tow. Taxi to Palamos the other town cost about 20 euros. The aqua diver is a must for the family but pack a picnic as everything cost! Public transport is not that regular so don't depend on it

If you are gonna arrive and just squat at the site, then it has all the necessary amenities to keep everyone entertained.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank my1stmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

Spent 9 nights at the site withhubby, children (9 and 6). Booked directly with campsite - quick and easy, and great on site reception. Fabulous little caravan, 2 decent bedrooms and great kitchen/diner. BBQ and garden area with sunbeds and chairs at campsite.
Pools great for kids and adults. Beach and beach tractor very good. Supermarket very good. Restaurant awful (both food and service). Beach bar/cafe ok - kids loved the spag Bol!
It's true you can hear the music from the next site but it isn't intrusive and always stopped at 11pm
I'd go again - 35mins from Girona airport, easy relaxing family holiday

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Justr came back from a week here with my partner and our 3 year old. I think we may have just missed the crowds but the campsite stil felt fairly full. As for the area, there are so many great beaches to choose from including of course the one linked to this site. We hired a car from Girona airport which is definetely the best way to get around this coast. As for the site, the restuarant never seemed to have anyone in it so maybe the reviews above are spot on - food possibly not always good. But the bakery and supermarket make up for it - freshly baked bread, croissants and orange juice a real treat. The food in the local restaurants was never really good but we did find one or two brilliant ones in the town which made fresh paellas and great seafood unlike a lot of places here which really dont offer much in the way of fresh food. You can get around this though, there are numerous good butcheries and fresh produce markets in surrounding towns so a morning walk normally gives you the opportunity to buy fresh food for the evening - on site bakery takes care of breakfast and lunch. The resort is great, the pools were very clean and warm with good views. There seemed to be lots for the kids to do and it was very easy hanging out in this resort during the day without feeling as if you need to go anywhere. It is on a steep hill but there is a tractor train which shuttles you from near the top to the beach throughout the day. There is really not much that this place has not got covered. The reception duty manager was very helpful and gave us some great tips for the best way to get to Barcelona by train and in general this was a very relaxed, fun holiday and considering its so close to Girona - we will be going back I have no doubt. Does exactly what it says on the tin. Also well done Eurocamp, our caravan/chalet was very clean and comfortable and being just off season, the price was brilliant. Great family holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mswart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We went with Eurocamp and stayed in a 'premier location' which was nice as it overlooked the sea. to sum up:
Good Things:
Onsite Bakery - lovely bread, cakes and orange juice
Onsite Supermarket - small but great range and not the rip off these places can usually be
Bad Things:
Club/Rave music every night either from within the campsite of from the one next door, so loud, you can say goodbye to sleep until midnight.
Hills - others have mentioned this but you really had to be a mountain goat
Beach - tiny beach and not sandy - you could barely get through the crowds to the water on some days especially weekends when public are allowed too
Local area - this is blackpool in the sun - tacky and overpriced with very little in terms of authentic restaurants - all pizzeria's and microwaved paella.
Onsite restaurant was awful - everything with chips and ketchup.

I always use TripAdvisor before booking anything and it's usually been good in terms of advice, this time, it was way off the mark - dreadful place, never again

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank trisharksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampingCalaGogo, Manager at Camping Cala Gogo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Trisharksey

First of all thank you for your feedback.

I see in your post that bothered the music every night there on the campsite or in the neighboring campsite. You are right that most nights there is music as part of the entertainment program. In fact, is what the vast majority of clients ask us. However we are aware that in some places near where they make the shows, can annoy those who do not enjoy.

Hilly? Right. Cala Gogo is a sloping site, but here lies partly the beauty of the place, as can be seen from many places the sea and there is so much tightness. True, some people prefer campsites completely flat and this should be your case. Cala Gogo is located on a gently sloping hill from the 90m high to the wonderful sandy beach on the campsite.

As for your opinion of Playa de Aro sorry I can not answer you well as you compare with Blackpool. Unfortunately never seen that town and I can not compare, but I can say that Playa de Aro is one of the most popular resorts on the Costa Brava, with a wide choice in terms of restaurants, shops, entertainment etc. each summer that attracts tens of thousands of visitors. Sorry that is not right for you.

And we also want to inform that the restaurant you mentioned in your comment, has changed dthe management in 2011 and has improved substantially since then. You can see nice pictures at our web.

I am glad that you appreciate our service bakery and stocked supermarket that you liked so much and hope that on your next visit, if it happens, you can appreciate the improvements that each year we are adding to our campsite.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Yours faithfully

Cala Gogo Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

We stayed here with Thomsons for only one week. with children aged 15,13,11,7.

The caravans were excellent as they normally are with Thomsons. The campsite has direct acess to small beach - which i was told was very busy in the peak time. We preferred to take a 20-30 mins walk to the main beach at Playa d'aro which was beautiful not crowded and really clean . There was a jlarge raft that you could swim out to and then dive off if you wanted - the sea wa really clean.
the campsite is quite hilly so if you have a buggy this may cause a problem . The pools haven't really got a shallow end so our 7 year old did struggle a bit as he coudn't touch the bottom - the sunbeds wer enot always available but we never went a full day without getting some.

The onsite bakery was excellent with freshly cooked bread all day and freshly squeezed orange juice (well worth the wait) Theonly down side was the restauarant which was terrible we only tried it once and the canspite should really look into it as it spoilt what would have been a perfect campsite. I would still go back. Not much for our teenagers to do as we found very few British there which didn't really concern us as we were only there for a week.
We also nearly booked the thomson transfer serviee which is great for peice of mind but the taxis have a flat rate to Platja D'aro which cost us 50 euro one way and 70 back ( as this was 5.00 in the morning ) This was going to cost us about 170 pounds so if you can bear the uncertainty you can save quite q bit of money -we waited about 30 mins at Girona airport for the taxis and the rep booked us one back. There were quite a few 9 seater taxis so can accomodate the larger family

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NewcastleStc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2009

We stayed at Cala Gogo for a weekend in May and thought it was excellent. There were 7 of us (2 families with young children) and we stayed in a Campitel bungalow. It was small but clean and all of the equipment seemed to be new. It was very well-equipped and even had a BBQ. The site is very big but it has lots of trees and different areas, so you feel like you have some privacy. There are three swimming pools (including one for little kids). Luckily one of them was heated as it was still a bit cold in the others for May. The supermarket on site is well-stocked and not over-priced. The on site bakery is good. We ate at the restaurant too and enjoyed our meal. The campsite is built on a hillside and so if you don't like walking up hill ask for a site lower down. The campitel bungalows are all at the top of the hill - it is a long walk back from the beach with tired children! The beach is easily accessible - you have to walk under the road to get there. It isn't exactly sandy - more like tiny tiny stones, but that was fine for us with kids and there was a bar and play area by the beach too.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank burningsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lorena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CalaGogo1961, Gerente at Camping Cala Gogo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calonge
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cap Roig by Brava Hoteles
Hotel Cap Roig by Brava Hoteles
#11 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
442 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
#4 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
401 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Rosamar
Hotel Rosamar
#2 of 5 in Sant Antoni de Calonge
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
H.TOP Caleta Palace
H.TOP Caleta Palace
#20 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
1,164 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
#9 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
232 reviews
16.1 mi away
Camping Castell Montgri
Camping Castell Montgri
#2 of 43 in L'Estartit
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Cala Gogo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Cala Gogo

Address: Av. Andorra 13 | Playa de Aro, 17252 Calonge, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Calonge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Calonge
Price Range: £30 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Camping Cala Gogo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 824
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First class camping located on a beautiful beach. At the center of the Costa Brava, between Playa de Aro and Palamos. Many free services such as Mini Club, Tennis, Internal Transport to the beach, Volley, Beach Volley, Table Tennis, etc.2 Bars / Restaurants, 2 laundries, safe boxes, supermarket, take-away, video games room, shows, entertainment, etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cala Gogo Hotel Calonge
Camping Cala Gogo Spain/Calonge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing