We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel A Torre do Xudeu
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Thursday is market day in Tui, and our Sat Nav didn’t want to deal with it. But a tortuous detour through the medieval streets to the splendid A Torre do Xudeu made our eventual arrival all the more worth while. Ana, the charming owner, helped us unwind with a welcoming cold beer in the shade of a 200 year old magnolia tree: we left the car in its own garage within the grounds, included in the room price. The 18th century mansion has been in the family for generations, and has been very recently reborn as a six bedroomed hotel. It is in a privileged position, on one of the highest points of a surprisingly interesting town: the view from our bedroom was inspiring – a broad sweep across the River Miño, towards the greenery of Portugal on the opposite bank. Tucked away in a leafy corner, a lone Spanish Navy patrol boat keeping an eye on the frontier – probably one of the most agreeable military postings in Europe. The large double bed was super-comfortable, the linen and the towels in keeping with the overall feel of the hotel. But we have to add one cautionary note: the room was tucked into the eaves of the house, and much of the ceiling slopes steeply, which made for some awkward moments when using the bathroom and shower. OK for my petite wife, less so for me. Breakfast, also included in the room rate, was a copious buffet laid out in the restored former kitchen; the meltingly light cake explained the seductive baking smell that wafted through the building on the previous night. We stopped for only one night: we wished it had been more, but A Torre do Xudeu would make an excellent base to explore the Miño valley, and we will return.

Room Tip: Beware the sloping ceiling of the river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank westofcordoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Torre do Xude... H, Gerente at Hotel A Torre do Xudeu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014
Google Translation

Estimado cliente,

En primer lugar, queremos pedirle disculpas por la demora en la respuesta a su opinión sobre nuestro hotel. Nos agrada muchísimo leer su comentario y poder ver reflejado en sus palabras que disfrutó del encanto de nuestro hotel al igual que de su historia y de los servicios que ofrecemos. Con clientes así da gusto trabajar cada día y mejorar en cada uno de nuestros servicios. Un saludo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

To sum it up: we have never stayed in an hotel where the owners and the place were one. This was it. Ana and his mother are two beautiful persons that made us feel not at home... at their home, which is even better! Ask her mother for their coffe liquor made at their farm. It´s superb!
The tower room has a beautiful view of the river and would be the one I recommend as we didi not visit the other rooms. Just 5 minute walk from the church, is maybe the best option at Tui. The brekfast includes a cake made by Ana that is superb! We loved the town, the place and them.

Room Tip: Ask for the tower room. Is ample and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CesardeBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A Torre d, Gerente at Hotel A Torre do Xudeu, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2015

First of all, sorry for the delated of the answering. We are so glad reading your comment and see you enjoy our hotel and its history. With customer like you is fantastic working. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

You are guaranteed to receive a very friendly and personal welcome in this litte and very elegant hotel. It you have the choice - go for the Tower Room. Great room, cool and refreshing garden, breakfast ok. My personal choice in Tui.

Room Tip: Go for the Tower Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cyril_Austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A Torre d, Gerente at Hotel A Torre do Xudeu, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2015

First of all sorry for the delate of asnwering your opinion. Thank you very much. Your opinion is very important for us. We are very happies that you enjoy your accomodation in our hotel. Kinds regargds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 days and met up with my brother and his family who were also traveling through Spain. They only stayed one day as they were leaving back to the States the next day. They regretted not being able to stay longer! The Hotel is an old stone house superbly decorated with antiques,paintings,flowers etc.We stayed in the Magnolia Room which overlooks the back of the house.The room was nicely decorated,spotless,and had a great bathroom as well. The wifi throughout the house was excellent too. The owners Ana and her mother could not have been more friendly and accommodating, we would chat it up every time we ran into them.They recommended great places to eat and visit as well.The breakfast spread was also great, they had good coffee,fresh squeezed orange juice,hams, cheese,croissants,different breads,jams,homemade pound cakes etc.The grounds of the hotel are beautiful as well, with great views of the town, the river and Portugal.It had a huge magnolia tree as well as orange ,tangerine,lemon, and many flowers in full bloom. The town of Tui is very charming and everything is within walking distance,restaurants,the Cathedral ,and even neighboring Valenca,Portugal is nearby.We walked it all. We would definitely stay at A Torre Do Xudeo again and highly recommend it! Saludos y gracias Ana y tu mama de Juan y Mariana.

Room Tip: We were shown all the rooms and all were very charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swuan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A Torre d, Gerente at Hotel A Torre do Xudeu, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2015

First of all sorry for the delate of asnwering your opinion. Thank you very much. Your opinion is very important for us. We are very happies that you enjoy your accomodation in our hotel. Kinds regargds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay on the camino Portugues. Hotel con Encanto means 'with charm' and this 1700s house has that, as do Ana and her mother. Beautifully decorated with period furniture & modern touches. Breakfast plentiful, varied and high quality. Great location. Excellent services for pilgrims. Will fast become best place to stay in Tui

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank mynameiseddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A Torre d, Gerente at Hotel A Torre do Xudeu, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2015

First of all sorry for the delate of asnwering your opinion. Thank you very much. Your opinion is very important for us. We are very happies that you enjoy your accomodation in our hotel. Kinds regargds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Located on a quiet location in the heart of Tui near the cathedral. Very clean and warm interior and extremely nice people. A beautifull old house, completely renovated with beautifull rooms and lobby. The room we had was spacious, comfortable and had a beautifull view on the river and hills (border with Portugal). It is hard to believe that the hotel has only two stars.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter_Goose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A Torre d, Gerente at Hotel A Torre do Xudeu, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2015

First of all sorry for the delate of asnwering your opinion. Thank you very much. Your opinion is very important for us. We are very happies that you enjoy your accomodation in our hotel. Kinds regargds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Charming clean comfortable
Staff extremely gracious and very helpful
This was a lovely older very large home that has been recently converted to a hotel.
I found the entrance a bit difficult to find ,it's dark green and practically on the lane

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bigfer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel A Torre d, Gerente at Hotel A Torre do Xudeu, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2015

First of all sorry for the delate of asnwering your opinion. Thank you very much. Your opinion is very important for us. We are very happies that you enjoy your accomodation in our hotel. Kinds regargds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tui
2.6 mi away
Hotel Alfonso I
Hotel Alfonso I
#2 of 5 in Tui
205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colon Tuy
Hotel Colon Tuy
#4 of 5 in Tui
159 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cruceiro do Monte
Cruceiro do Monte
#3 of 5 in Tui
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parador de Tui
Parador de Tui
#2 of 25 in Pontevedra
239 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pousada de Valenca do Minho, Sao Teotonio
5.4 mi away
Hotel Minho
Hotel Minho
#1 of 3 in Vila Nova de Cerveira
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel A Torre do Xudeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel A Torre do Xudeu

Address: Calexon Tide 3, 36700 Tui, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > Tui
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tui
Price Range: £52 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel A Torre do Xudeu 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Tui, on the banks of Mino River and left on the Portuguese Route to Santiago, Hotel A Torre do Xundeu features rooms with free breakfast, parking and WiFi. There is an elegant shared lounge, complete with a TV and sofas. Breakfast is served daily and it consists of coffee, juice, pastries, and local produce. The rooms are equipped with a telephone and they all have a private bathroom with a bathtub or shower. Free toiletries, towels, and bed linen are provided. Some rooms have a balcony and views of the river or the garden. Paseo de la Corredera Street, with many shops and restaurants, is a 5-minute walk away. The surrounding area is popular for hiking, fishing, and horse riding. Monte Aloya Nature Reserve can be reached in 6 minutes by car, and there is a 15-minute walk to the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel A Torre do Xudeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing