We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension O Meson Novo
Ranked #1 of 3 Ordes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Happy”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We were very happy to have stayed here. The father and mother can understand and speak quite a bit of English and Antonio speaks very well. We made a mistake with our booking, one of our group was injured on the camino and we had to change our plans a little. In all the panic I confused the booking and thought we had booked Wednesday night when we had in fact booked Tuesday. After a panicked phone call on Tuesday night a new set of rooms was booked for Wednesday and Antonio insisted on waving the cost of cancelling Tuesday night. The hotel was comfortable, clean and in a small little village with a nice atmosphere. The showers were powerful and hot and after a long days walking it was amazing to stay here. 2km walk from Bruma and right by the Camino path. They are very welcoming and we'd stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhappy1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
23
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elstree, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Such a warm welcome after a long days walking. Antonio used to work in the UK and speaks English. The rooms are lovely - totally up to good hotel standards with lots of hot water - eventually! Exceptional value. We walked to Siguero but got the bus back here to stay for a second night, thus allowing us to walk without our larger packs. Meson do Vento is a nice small town with a couple of good restaurants as well. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter. We even got our own single rooms for the same price as it was out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacolod, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Our pilgrim’s group of 6 stayed at the Pension O Meson Novo while on the Camino Ingles. We had booked a stay only for 1 night, as we wanted to stay at the nearby albergue in Hospital de Bruma the following night. But our stay at Meson Novo was so wonderful, we decided to stay the following day and we were lucky enough to be accommodated. The family of Antonio, his mum and dad, are amazing, treating us with so much warmth and kindness.

Dinners are delicious, though there are no menus. Antonio’s mum will serve you whatever she has that day at her appointed time, I guess depending on what is available on the market. A dinner of breaded chicken breast, empanaditas de atun, ensalada, patatas fritas, Pimientos de Padrón, cost only a total of €70 (€11 per person only), including wine, soda and cheese! Coffee and freshly-made churros were great! She also prepared bocadillos which we took with us for lunch on the camino.

Overall, Pension O Meson Novo was a fine example of Galician warmth and hospitality. Perfect stopover to recharge and recover for the next leg of the Camino.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beesytrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

After a long weary day of walking this place was a real gem! Very reasonably priced rooms and fantastic home cooked tapas and raciones at the bar. Owners very helpful and friendly. A real pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2012

If you are lucky enough to hike the Camino de Santiago from FERROL to SANTIAGO, then make sure your agent books you into this hotel on your 3rd nights stop.
The O MESON NOVE in Meson do Vento ( outside Bruma ), Galicia, is simply the best 1 start pension I have EVER stayed at, and I travel a lot !

The Accommodation is basic Spanish but Clean, but the Hospitality and Service from the Mother, Father, Son team is simply 5 STAR *****.

Antonio will look after your every needs, the food is great, you eat as part of the crowd in the bar, you really must try this. FANTASTIC.

ps. Good luck from here on the Camino, only another 12 hours hiking to go .

Room Tip: Ask for " habitacion tranquila
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BearingmanDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We recently spent two nights at Meson Novo while on Camino. We were treated with such great care and warmth. We enjoyed having great meals right in the hotel, and since we had a Triple room were lucky enough to get a room with a bath tub. We each took a long hot bath which healed our aching muscles. We want to go back to repat this camino just so that we can stay at Meson again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin,Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stopped off here on Camino, having previously stayed in the really grim hotel across the road. This is a welcome gem after completing a tough day to Bruma. The accomodation is excellent - more like 4 star standard, and the family are very helpful and charming. The home cooked meals are superb. Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank choppers-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ordes
20.6 mi away
Hotel Eumesa
Hotel Eumesa
#1 of 1 in Pontedeume
79 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Garelos
Hotel Garelos
#1 of 2 in Betanzos
155 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Palacete de Betanzos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
El Suizo
El Suizo
#4 of 9 in Ferrol
122 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel Attica 21
Hotel Attica 21
#3 of 32 in La Coruna
693 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hotel Sarga
Hotel Sarga
#1 of 2 in Cabanas
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension O Meson Novo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension O Meson Novo

Property: Pension O Meson Novo
Address: Rua Santiago Apostol 86 | Meson Do Vento, 15685 Ordes, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Ordes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ordes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boarding house which is situated on the 550 road in the direction of La Corunna- Tuy, to be exact at the 27 th kilometer from La Corunna. The establishment is perfectly well located in the way through the English Pilgrim's road to Santiago de Compostela, in the direction from Betanzos to Ordenes, and 1 kilometer and 300 meters far from the Pilgrims' hostel of Bruma (Mesia), and 300 meters far from the pilgrim's road. Aquapark Cerceda (one of the biggest aquatic park in Europe) is 9 km far from the boarding house. Finally, we should comment that Ordes, a famous village for its cultural and jovial tradition, is 8 km. Far from the boarding house. CHARACTERISTICS OF THE BOARDING HOUSE - Central and individual heating. - Spacious rooms with bath and shower (hot water, sanitary products....). - Satellite TV system, TDT and analogical one. - WIFI system free in all the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pension O Meson Novo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing