We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very minor disadvantages cannot mean too much”
Review of Hotel Garelos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Garelos
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Betanzos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Location is excellent - close to the city centre and still on side, out of the rush streets.
The hotel itself is very decent, built about 100 years ago. Rooms are spacious and light. Internet works fine. Cleaning level is very good as well.
Outside view is not the best at least from my room - old factory hall.
Breakfast is sufficient but I understand some complaints if guests stay longer than few days.

I would like to underline excellent reception staff. They are helpful, speaking fluently English and showing work enthusiasm - they offered me coffee on my departure at 5 AM and a sandwich on my arriving at 10 AM.

I mentioned some disadvantages - Shower water was not hot but only lukewarm early in the morning. Underground garage is not easy to access.

On and on - recommended place and I would like to visit Garelos again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krzysztof N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at Hotel Garelos as part of a large party who were there for a wedding. The hotel was very well kept, the breakfast included was great and the owners went out of their way to help us with anything we needed.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were delighted with our stay at Hotel Garelos. The roms were clean, well appointed and comfortable. The hotel is well situated on a side street just off the main square. There is parking available under the hotel but requires 4 sets of eyes and is not for the spatially challenged. I gladly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGarelos B, Gerente at Hotel Garelos, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

We are really thankful to you for the review and recommendation. Hope to see you and your family again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed for 9 days from Aug. 26th through Sept. 3 and my experience was a very enjoyable one. Facility was immaculate, very comfortable and the management could not have been more accommodating. Look forward to my next visit to Betanzos. Would recommend to anyone seeking accommodations in and around Betanzos.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isidro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGarelos B, Gerente at Hotel Garelos, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review Mr. Barreiro. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Located on a side street just off the main square and short walk from the old town, this modern hotel provides ideal accommodation for an overnight stopover, or if using Betanzos as a small-town base for exploring the region. Service at reception was friendly and efficient. The pleasant surprise was the size of the well-furnished bedroom and lounge, including chairs, settee, table, original paintings and adjoining bathroom - far grander than would be expected for a hotel with a 2-star rating. Buffet breakfast was plentiful and featured a range of interesting breads. Only issue was the antiquated TV that received just 3 channels.
Betanzos old town is well-worth strolling around and the square a good place to people watch. Monday night options for eating, when several restaurants are closed, were relatively limited.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prujim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

A very beautiful historic centre, Betanzos is very much worth a visit.

This hotel was a disappointment. We were walking on the Camino de Santiago, and along with a friend walking with us, had booked to stay here for an intended good night sleep, following 3 nights of staying in Albuerges. Our hoped for good nights sleep turned into a very disturbed night, with a lot of noise disturbance from the adjoining room. The confirmed reservation for our friend had been cancelled and she had had to transfer to another hotel, with the associated inconvenience. And a further irritant was that our intention to wash out and dry socks was prevented by the bathroom towel rail not working. The hotel would benefit from new hotels opening in Betanzos offering competition, as it seems that they do not currently value their guests sufficiently, either through facilities and standard of their offer or their tariff.

If you are on the Camino de Santiago, I would encourage Pelegrinos to stay at the new Albuerge that recently opened in Betanzos.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGarelos B, Gerente at Hotel Garelos, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Hello Andrew3003, we are really sorry because your stay wasn´t as pleasent as you expected. Along these years we have tried to make this place a comfy, relaxed and peaceful hotel, being helped by the extremely good soundproofing of the rooms and floors. But we see that this time we failed: as long as we didn´t received any call during the night our staff thought that everything was quite and ok. We should had checked any noise in the higher floors and we are going to do it from now on.
We are surprised that you add to your complaints the transfer of your friend; because it was solved at the hotel and: 1. We didn´t know that you were together (two different reservations were made). 2 We booked for her a three star hotel in our city with no extra cost . 3. We sent her in a taxi with no cost.

It was a pity that you didn´t let us know that your towel rail was not working ok, we could have helped with a more powerful hair-drier or with our laundry service.

Thank for your review, any comment is well received to improve our service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

A small hotel, with nice people. It is a two star Hotel, but it deserves three. It's placed close to the centre of the town, two minutes walking to the lovely historic old town. The breakfast has everithing you need, and staff is very helpfull. They know lots of things about Betanzos.
Betanzons is a must in Galicia, with is old churches and streets. We loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianoBarretoRamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGarelos B, Gerente at Hotel Garelos, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate the third star that you are giving us!! We will work hard to deserve it and find new tips for your next visit. Best wishes from all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betanzos
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa de Betanzos
Hotel Villa de Betanzos
#2 of 2 in Betanzos
88 reviews
3.6 mi away
Os Olivos
Os Olivos
#1 of 3 in Bergondo
169 reviews
11.4 mi away
Sercotel Blue Coruna
Sercotel Blue Coruna
#1 of 32 in La Coruna
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Attica21 As Galeras
Attica21 As Galeras
#1 of 4 in Oleiros
345 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garelos

Address: Praza Alfonso IX 8, 15300 Betanzos, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of A Coruna > Betanzos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Betanzos
Price Range: £48 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Garelos 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Garelos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing