We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where You Want To Be” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Hotel Puente Colgante

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Gran Hotel Puente Colgante
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portugalete
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Where You Want To Be”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed here only one night, but thought everything was great and the value for the money couldn't be beat. Awesome view of the bridge and promenade, guy playing sax outside below, just a quick crossing on the bridge to the other side of town where there are plenty of tasty pinxtos places. It is not a luxury hotel, instead I found it clearly geared toward business travelers. But it provided everything we needed and was very clean and stylish. The gentlemen at the reception desk were very helpful. And again, such a good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water - the view is killer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annamc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    116
    53
    27
    8
See reviews for
62
110
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

quiet most of the times, nice restaurant and bar/tapas...
room is clean, and workable.
the only things i didn't like were small tv (very small), and carpet was a bit stained.
otherwise bed was nice, hotel staff were friendly (as much as possible)
breakfast was great and worth the money! fresh juice and coldcuts were excellent!
nice large bathroom!
next to walk-way next to the river, very nice... on weekends there is a market just outside the hotel in the morning, niceeeeee

Room Tip: not too many floors, so i guess anyone you get would be about the same - but river side must be quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AD-CY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

We arrived there on april 18th 2013, because we could not find any available room in Bilbao. What lucky we were!!!. This hotel is superb, the view from our balcony was wonderfull, the fresh air coming from the sea was a God blessing after a long trip from Alcossebre.
The bathroom and the room was very clean and confortable and at night we could rest perfectly well because everything was so quiet...Wi-fi service was free and we could use skype at no charge. The food and the "tapas" at the bar were so good.

Regards to the people at the front desk!! what a lovely staff, they gave us maps, show how to reach to that specials places nobody knows if you are not a local...Thank you once again for taking care of us.
We would recomend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

I've traveled all over the world and stayed in everything from a hostel in rural Mexico to a five star hotel in New York. This hotel is, by far, the filthiest, worst excuse for a hotel I've ever seen.

We checked in around 3pm on April 7th, 2013 and were given a room "with a nice view of the river". The room did have a view of the river and we quickly opened the windows because the room smelled bad (foul) and was about 95 degrees. The river didn't smell much better but at least we got some air moving.

The room was a wreck and filthy (see the pictures I attached). The rug was worn and dirty, the walls were heavily damaged, we found garbage in the closet and behind & underneath the bed, the so called "king" bed we booked was two short-twins pushed together (not long enough for my 6'-2" travelling partner) and they were the hardest beds we've ever tried. A canvas cot would have been more comfortable.

The bathroom, in contrast, was very nicely remodeled and appeared mostly clean. However, it was clear that the odor was coming from the bathroom.

After a short time (of taking pictures) we complained to the front desk and were promptly told "the hotel is fully booked, we have no other rooms". We then refused the room, but the Hotel staff suddenly came down with a case of "No Hablo Inglés" and insisted on charging the full fee for one night's stay despite the room being totally unsatisfactory. My employer was stuck with a 65 Euro charge.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portugalete hotels

Baton Rouge
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Rooms and bathrooms were clean, and while not overly spacious, were certainly adequate. Location is adjacent to the river with a scenic view of the bridge and nice walkway just outside the door and along the river. Convenient location to many shops and not far from attractions in nearby Bilbao. Wi-fi service was free and reliable so it was easy to communicate internationally at no charge. The food service was good. Staff communicated well in English and were all very kind and helpful. Would recommend to others traveling in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieQBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

Fantastic place,staff were so helpfull and pleasant. We had a great meal on the veranda, well priced and good food set menu with wine inc. Room matched the rating and perfectly comfortable.
Try the bridge well worth a go both walking above for the views and by car.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

Just stayed one night, but i can say the hotel was very well located, next to the Ria de Bilbao with fantastic views to Puente Colgante. Beautiful, calm terrace next to the river. Hotel and rooms not very big, but new and clean. Oh! and free, quick Wi-Fi throughout the hotel :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cug118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portugalete
0.4 mi away
URH Palacio de Oriol Hotel
1.5 mi away
Petit Palace Tamarises
0.8 mi away
Hotel Embarcadero
Hotel Embarcadero
#3 of 5 in Getxo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ibis Bilbao Barakaldo
Ibis Bilbao Barakaldo
#1 of 3 in Barakaldo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
2.6 mi away
Novotel Bilbao Exhibition Center
7.1 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Gran Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Puente Colgante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Puente Colgante

Property: Gran Hotel Puente Colgante
Address: Maria Diaz de Haro 2 | Portugalette, 48920 Portugalete, Spain
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Portugalete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Portugalete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gran Hotel Puente Colgante 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Gran Hotel Puente Colgante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Portugalete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing