We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hostess”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Rural Errota-Barri
Ranked #1 of 2 Mungia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, great hostess”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here so that we could visit Bilbao's old town and the Guggenheim. The accommodation was first class as were the breakfasts. A lovely quiet rural setting with few surrounding houses made for a peaceful break after walking the streets of Bilbao. Maria, the owner, was extremely helpful and knowledgeable and always willing to have a chat if that is your wish.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckyus07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
73
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My partner and I spent a week at errota-barri in September of this year and we can only say that we had great week exploring this part of Spain, this was of course enhanced by the fact that the accommodation was so good. Maria the hostess was extremely helpful aiding with places to visit, helping out with the local public transport system and generally just being a good hostess.
The actual guesthouse its self has been decorated to a very high standard, also well maintained, the rooms are immaculately clean and the setting is also stunning set in the hills of the Basque country.
My partner and I had the breakfast provided by Maria every morning and again I can only recommend it.
Errota-Barri is good base to explore the coast of the Basque country and other parts of this region. The only negative about the our stay was the road leading into the property, its a bit rough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_Alexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Spent 9 nights here and had a wonderful time. It`s about 5 minutes from the town of Mungia and a great base for exploring the beautiful Basque landschape. The rooms are light and airy and spotless. The owner couldn`t have been nicer or more helpfull. It is a little hard to find the first time and the GPS is not always reliable in the mountains. We where there out of season and sometimes found it hard to find a resturant open during the week for an evening meal. Maria knows all the best places to eat so be sure to consult her. Lots of great walks to be done in the area and also close to the sea in the good weather. Great fun for kids and adults. Something for everyone. Scenary, sea, culture and great pintos (tapas).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaga19_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LourdesMungia, Owner at Casa Rural Errota-Barri, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
I was just thinking of you and wondering how was your coming back home. I am happy to know you enjoy your stay in the basque country and in Errota-Barri; having guests like you makes my job easier because is fun! It was fantastic to have you in my house and to had the oportunity to know you; I´ll be here if you decide to visit me again.
Big hug from Maria, Aimar and Vini, and Patxi, of course!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed at this beautiful Casa Rural close to Bilbao for one night. The owner is wonderful, and the location is beautiful. The room was spacious and comfortable, clean and quiet. We had one of the best night's sleep of the entire trip. Beware that if you are using GPS, it might take you on the wrong road, so it's best to arrive during the day. Turn into the street where "El Asador" is located and you will find the signs to the Casa Rural. It's almost impossible to find at night if you get lost. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ben_from_philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mungia
4.6 mi away
Hotel Palacio Urgoiti
6.5 mi away
Apartamentos Mundaka
Apartamentos Mundaka
#1 of 3 in Mundaka
169 reviews
0.9 mi away
Agroturismo Ibarrondo Etxea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hotel Gametxo
Hotel Gametxo
#1 of 2 in Ibarrangelu
111 reviews
9.8 mi away
Petit Palace Tamarises
10.3 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Gran Bilbao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Rural Errota-Barri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rural Errota-Barri

Property: Casa Rural Errota-Barri
Address: Zumetxaga Bidea 6, 48120 Mungia, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Vizcaya > Mungia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mungia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Rural Errota-Barri 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa rural Errota-Barri is a traditional Basque farm and water mill turned into a modern and comfortable country hotel, offering B&B accommodation in 7 spacious rooms, all with ensuite bathroom and views to the surrounding green lands, woods and mountains. It is set in the middle of lovely countryside, at the foot of Mount Jata, in the municipality of Mungia, Bizkaia. Though secluded, it is close to several sandy beaches, interesting villages and tourist sights, the airport and Bilbao. There are nearby restaurants (one of them, just a walk away) and the neighbouring town of Mungia offers a complete range of services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Casa Rural Errota-Barri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rural Errota-Barri Spain/Mungia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing