We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Spot for Basque Region Vacation”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Deba, Province of Guipuzcoa, Basque Country

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
DRAnthony...
St. Louis
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot for Basque Region Vacation”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I, my fiance', and my two youngest children (college age) spent a week in Deba in this apartment and highly recommend it as a vacation spot in the delightful Basque region of Spain.
Arrangements with Joxean, the owner, were smooth and pleasant. He greeted us upon arrival and treated us to local apple cider and cheese followed by an extensive discussion of the attractions in the region, complete with tons of brochures and helpful maps.
The apartment was perfectly sized for our group and had all the amenities we needed. It was very clean and well kept.
The location is good. I estimated an 8 minute walk to the beach, 1-3 minutes to markets, restaurants, bars, pharmacies. and the train station.
Great beach with surfers and occasional topless woman.
A pleasant 50 minute train ride will take you to glorious San Sebastian.
The fantastic Geopark is nearby with outstanding hikes which take you to magnificent views of the unusual coastal regions.
Finally, I must say that Joxean, our host, is a delightful, gregarious man who is an enthusiastic supporter and explainer of Basque culture, food, and attractions.
Our last night I asked him to join us for dinner at the restaurant of his choice. Two of our party went hiking that morning and had not returned by 8 PM that night. Joxean helped us by talking to the local and regional police and showing up in person. When the hikers returned we all had an outstanding time at Urberu Sagardotegia (Cyder house Urberu), an authentic cider house in the hills nearby (to which Joxean commandeered a taxi there and back)
Joxean showed us how to obtain unlimited cider directly from the barrels with spigots that spewed forth across the floor. The monkfish and steak were outstanding!
Deba has almost no American tourists. We were often asked by residents why we had come there. The people are very friendly with varying amounts of English spoken. It is a delightful place to stay off the bean path of tourists.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything else
Liked least: Parking car in Deba
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
What can I say after a so generous review? Thanks, thanks a lot.

Tell your relatives and friends about your experience, it´s better than all my written information, the true experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethdanny
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were greeted by the owner Joxean baring cider and pintxos, who was able to give recommendations of places to visit, the local area, culture and customs. This eased us into life in the Basque country. The apartment itself was very clean and well equipped and central to all amenities. Its location allowed us to travel by car and train to various places of interest and still be back in time for the teenagers to top up their tan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and centrality
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
Thanks a lot for your kind review.

My aim is your satisfaction and I try to make easier your stay among us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneMFH
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A modern, spacious apartment in Deba, Spain”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were greeted by the owner, the lovely Joxean, who made us feel very welcome with a glass of local cider and some local cheese and olives. He provided a lot of brochures, information and advice on places to visit. He was also contactable throughout our visit for restaurant recommendations and anything we needed to know. The apartment is very nice, spacious, modern, clean, well equipped and comfortable beds in a quiet and secure building. A few minutes walk to the supermarket, shops and the train station. The beach in Deba is beautiful and our children loved it there. The water was also surprisingly warm. There are some lovely villages nearby - Getaria has great restaurants, Mutriku has a massive sea swimming pool, the drive to Mount Karakate has incredible views at the top and we had a fun day at the Science Museum in San Sebastian. There are not a lot of restaurants in the town and they open late but we did have a beautiful dinner with very friendly service at Urgain. It was great to experience the Basque region of Spain. Thanks Joxean.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2014
Thanks a lot for taking your time to write your review. Guests like you encourage me to do my best for your satisfaction. Looking forward to having you or your relatives as my guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila wa...
Reviewed 31 August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jim Flemi...
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Conor o s...
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Agradezco esta generosa valoración, que me anima a seguir buscando la plena satisfacción de mis huéspedes. Si éstos me cuentan sus intereses podré enfocar mejor en mis sugerencias para una feliz estancia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing