We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rudeness towards a pregnant lady” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Abama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Abama
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Guia de Isora
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rudeness towards a pregnant lady”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Having had a family lunch in the beach restaurant taken down by the hotel buggy as a member of the family 6 months pregnant as non residents but we were eating at their restaurant.
On the return trip to our car in the hotel car park - by their train service the driver refused to take us as we were not residents including the pregnant lady - it's a steep walk up impossible if you are 6 months pregnant! We had to get a car to collect her.

We always stay at Ritz Carlton hotels last one in Colorado skiing never had this kind of service and would never stay at this hotel because of their rudeness .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trip07London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abama2, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Abama, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear trip07London,

Thank you for taking the time in submitting your review.

It is very disappointing to read how you and your family were treated after lunching in one of our outlets, I offer no excuses but my sincerest apologies.

As you correctly mentioned this is not the renowned service we are known for around the world. I truly hope that on your next visit to Tenerife, even if not staying with us, you´d give us another opportunity in redeeming ourselves.

I sincerely hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,
David Cayuela
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,249
    525
    235
    94
    67
See reviews for
766
886
26
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I think it is a best hotel on Canary Island/ Tenerife. Good place for golf, eating ( M.B. restaurant with 2 michellin stars is worth it's price for a dinner). Other restaurants are ok - the best is argentinian , tapas and italian was quite ok.Breakfast was excellent. Spa brilliant. White beach with elevator. Rooms big, clean and beautyful. We had a suit, our mothers standard rooms and all of them was very nice. No disadvantages.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katarzyna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We were a business group. The service provided was awful. The front desk personnel needed more training, rooms were not ready at 15:00 (check in time). Cockcroachs and ants in rooms, they said it's normal due to the banana plantations nearby. Quality and quantity of the food was poor and price too expensive. Waiters and cleaners not efficient. Overall not what you expect from a Ritz Carlton 5-star GL (Grand Luxe).

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
8 Thank Sumipego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is a gem of a hotel and so great for families. We went outside of school time and in May, which was perfect both weather wise and calmness of the place. The staff wouldn't be nicer or more accommodating. This is our second visit and already looking forward to a third next year.

Room Tip: For great views go for the citadel garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We have been to quite a few hotels in Tenerife and unfortunately found this one was not the 5 stars it claims to be. The swimming pool was a bit small and overcrowded for our liking and the food choice was not as impressive as we expected. We had a squeaky bed which we asked to be fixed somehow and they promised at the reception it will be replaced. After spending the day out we came back to the room to find the same bed still there and no one new anything about it at reception. We also disliked the darkness in the hallways and not to forget the long walk to the beach. We moved to another hotel straight away.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Azsam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abama2, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Abama, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Azsam1,

I would like to thank you for your time in submitting you review.

It is saddening to read that we were unable to meet your expectations whilst staying with us, for this I offer no excuses but my sincerest apologies.

I have taken the liberty of sharing your views with my management team and measures will be taken to improve on the service in order to enhance our guests’ experiences.

Kind regards,
David Cayuela
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had a great 6 nights at Abama. Beautiful resort and very happy that we choose an out-of-town location rather than being in a tourist area. Through Amex FHR we were upgraded to a lovely, big 1 bedroom suite, and breakfast and housekeeping were excellent.
Our 7-month loved the pools which were quieter than expected and the beach - not picturesque but with soft sand and gentle waves better for a little one than anything else we saw on the island.
Dining was decent; was not a high priority for us though. Actually we liked low-key Verona (friendly service, linguine al mare!) most, but were disappointed by El Mirador with higher expectations (service, disappointing turbot). If you don't have an infant do venture out of the resort if you can, otherwise perhaps not surprising many other reviewers had a duff or poor-value meal or two, but it shouldn't stop you coming.
Was a perfect holiday with our baby. Being a big, child-friendly hotel and a golf & conference venue, I'm not sure it would be quite as good for a couple though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pauldb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abama2, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Abama, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear pauldb,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

My apologies for falling short at the Mirador but I certainly hope that this would not hinder a decision to visit us again.

All the Ladies & Gentlemen at the Abama look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
David Cayuela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The first impact with the island of Tenerife is brutal. Most of the south coast is devastated by intensive constructions of all kinds. Happily, the Abama Resort is quite secluded away, in the middle of banana plantations. The grounds are magnificent and the rooms ( I stayed in a double rooms by the Tagor villas) are large, airy and well furnished, including a nespresso coffee machine. From our terrace we could see the pool the gardens and the blue ocean.
In the resort there are many children, and is very suitable for families. However guests of the Tagor villas enjoy a children free area and pool and children free breakfast.
Service is attentive and meticulous. There are many restaurants. During our 8 days stay we tried them all. The 2 Michelin star of the Basque chef Beratsegui is world class: a really extraordinary experience, but priced accordingly: from 120 euro per person and up according to drinks. We enjoied a lot also the Japanese Kabuky ( very innovative sushi) and the Argentinian Pampa, but all were of high standard. The golf course is magnificent, up and down the hills, with magnificent views over the resort and the Ocean. A couple of suggestions: rent a car and do not miss the Teide vulcano, the villages of Masca and La Orotava and the Loro Parque.

Room Tip: If you can , avoid rooms facing the parking lot or the inner courtyard. In the citadel the best room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hypernova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guia de Isora
3.0 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
23.0 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
6.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
3.2 mi away
RedLevel at Gran Melia Palacio de Isora
6.4 mi away
Bahia del Duque
Bahia del Duque
#11 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Abama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Abama

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Abama
Address: Ctra. General TF47 km 9, 38687, Guia de Isora, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Abama)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Guia de Isora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Guia de Isora
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Guia de Isora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Abama 5*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the luxurious amenities from the Ritz-Carlton, Abama. Surrounded by picturesque backdrops like no other, guests will leave with memories to last a lifetime with experiences to follow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Destinology, Hotelopia, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Abama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abama Hotel Tenerife
Abama Tenerife
The Ritz-Carlton, Abama Tenerife/Guia De Isora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing