We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a really good stay! Nice part of Tenerife”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Park Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Ursula
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Taking everything into consideration we had a really good stay and have no major complaints

The location was perfect for us. We didn’t want to stay in the busy southern resorts. In a small town of Santa Ursula, the La Quinta Park Suites is the only hotel in the town set a top a valley overlooking the sea and the larger town of Puerto De La Cruz. The area itself was quite nice, very non-touristy and gave you a real local Tenerife experience. The north of the Island does seem to have its own little micro climate because it is higher and among valleys. It is more green and lush looking than the South of Tenerife so expect the area to be more prone to cloudy weather, fog, wetter at times and slightly colder than weather in the South. This really wasn’t a problem for us as we wanted the base in the north to sleep and drove out every day and mostly down to the South. It really is amazing how you can drive half an hour down the road to experience a change in temperature and clear blue skies. If you plan only to just sit about the pool all day in the Sun, the north of the Island in general is probably not the best place for you to do this.

If you are planning on staying, the best way to get here is by having your own transport. It was around an 1hr and 15 minutes drive from Tenerife South Airport. This was never too much of a hindrance for us even with two small children. If you travel here without transport towards the end of your stay you may feel isolated especially if the weather doesn’t work out. Near the hotel there was only 1 restaurant which was a German Taco bar and a shop, both less than a minute walk. If you are therefore self catering without transport your options are limited! About some 10 miles down the road there is an Lidl in the next town.

The hotel does put on free buses down to the major Town Puerto De La Cruz, but the only late bus return back to the hotel is on a Friday and Saturday and is at 2015hrs. Otherwise you can hire a car from the Hotel tour desk and they do have other day trips you can book. For us nothing beat the freedom of just getting up and going out in our own car, walking past the crowd of people waiting outside for the buses for the day trips to arrive.

We had no issue parking the car near the hotel though sometimes expect to park it around a few corners. Still this was better than paying 8 Euros a day which is the cost for Hotel parking.
The Hotel itself was fine. You could imagine in its prime it was really grand. The public areas are still clean, well maintain and look nice but you do get the impression nothing has been done to the property since it opened in the 90s. We’re not hotel inspectors so are not qualified to comment on its 4 star status but we do know the star rating is not purely down to quality. You can have the most wonderful rooms in the world but if you had more than one floor and no lift, this could affect a hotel’s rating. We actually found the grounds to be really nice. It was quite big for the children to explore and the crazy golf gave them the means to do it.

The pools were nice and clean but were absolutely freezing! We didn’t try them ourselves, we just took our 5 year old’s word for it! We say words, more lips which turned blue after 30 seconds! She loves the water, swimming and swimming pool and it takes a lot to put her off. She never asked to go back in the pool all week which really told us something. The indoor heated pool is only for over 16 year olds and none of the pools outside where heated, not even by the sun if it did manage to shine all day in this part of the island.

At the hotel we paid to upgrade our room to supposedly one of the nicest rooms in the hotel. It was an extra 137 Euros for the week. We stayed in room 1008. The room was basic, but basically nice. It was clean and comfortable and the bed was massive and really really so comfortable! The mattress was not thick at all so we were worried but it felt like one of those memory formed type things and was actually very good. First holiday where I never once woke up in the morning with back pain or neck ache. If anything let the room down it was the kitchen only because it looked out of place and possibly is the only thing not to be updated in the rooms. It was clean though and had a fridge and a cooker. We never intended to cook food in our room but it is possible to be self catering at this hotel for basic meals. Our view was amazing and possibly the only advantage we got from the upgrade from what I could see from the other rooms. The Bathroom was nice and big and the shower had good water pressure and always had hot water.

The staff were very helpful on reception all week and the only disappointment is the maid service. They must only sweep the room and empty the bin out and that’s it. One day they didn’t even empty the bin. It was full so we took emptied it ourselves and took the bag of rubbish to reception to make the point. Despite asking for fresh bin liners they were not provided until the next day.

The Hotel provided free Wi-Fi all week but this only worked in the Lobby/ Bar area. I would have expected that since you paid to upgrade the Wi-Fi would at least extend to your room. But then again you cannot buy drinks from the bar from your room ;-) When you have young children you don’t want to sit in a Bar/ Lobby all night. There is no pay for view movies or things like room service available at the hotel. The only English channel on the TV is BBC world news. I know you are not on holiday to watch TV! The only other let down about the hotel is lack of information or it is inaccurately displayed. For instance information in your room and in the lobby indications the Gym is open all day. In actual fact as hotel guests you are only allowed in the Gym at certain times. We saw nothing in advance to tell us these times. We just gave up in the end, trying to use any of the facilities as the times we wanted to use them we were not permitted to and only found out we were not allowed when all ready to use them. Despite being attached to the hotel and sharing the name, the Spa, Indoor Pool and Gym is clearly operated as a separate business with hotel guests allowed only limited access. I did have a massage at the Spa though which was 35 Euros for 45 minutes which was quite reasonable and highly recommended. Additionally the same evening entrainment poster was displayed all week despite some nights they did have different things going on. We seemed to be the only English couple at the Hotel but it didn’t matter to us. The Hotel is very popular with the Spanish and German market but everyone was welcome.

Taking everything into consideration we actually liked the place and would have no problems returning. If you are concerned about the room you may get when you book your package, do what we did and contact the Hotel. The service manager Samual was very helpful in advance of our stay in giving information and suggesting room upgrades etc.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank walshyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel R, Community Manager at La Quinta Park Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

Dear Family Walshy,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your stay in our hotel La Quita Park Suites. It is not common to find a very good explanation about a experience. That's why, your review is very important for us, because we can get information about all the points of our management. You help our future guests giving information about our hotel, but you help us too, because we can improve our service.

Your description about the island and how to move around it is very good.

We have made a note about all things that you recommend us to improve.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you next time. Do not hesitate to contact us, and we will help you with your reservation.

Thank you for sharing these pictures.

Best Regards from all of us,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 955 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2013

We spent a week in La Quinta Park Suites Hotel in January and must admit that it was very enjoyable time. The area is quite, so are the other guests, most of them German retirees, who turn out to be the most friendly people in the world.
The neighbourhood is calm, across the highway (on the hill) one can visit a small town of Santa Ursula. One of the best thing in La Quinta is the free bus to near city of Puerto de la Cruz (ca. 10mins.) which operate hourly.
The bugalow we had is wide, clean and consists of small living room, bedroom, bathroom and small kitchen with basic accessory in. We stayed there with 5 mths old infant on half-board and found it sufficient.
The stuff is friedly and helpful, however most of them don't speak (or speak only basic) english. I assume it's because of Germans oriented policy of the hotel. During the meals the waiters are fast, efficient and almost invisible. The prices in the bar are fair.
So, if you are not a German retiree and want to spend a nice and quite time in the most beautyfull part of Tenerife, full of rich and different types of foliage, away of your conpatriots, La Quinta Park Suites Hotel is an exellent choice for you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel R, Community Manager at La Quinta Park Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Good morning! Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are very pleased that your stay at the hotel was the most comfortable and positive.

We hope you have enjoyed not only our facilities, but all the great Valle de la Orotava and Puerto de la Cruz in particular as it is one of the most tourist empleazamientos and beautiful island of Tenerife.

We hope to have you soon at our hotel. Have a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

This hotel is very old,very tired, and 20 year old furnishings or more, we stayed in a room which was meant to be refurbished ,the bathroom was old tired, the floor a very cheap laminated wood type flooring, it smelled damp and moldy, no heating, a electric heater was brought to our room but was so old and not safe to use with sparks coming from it, we got a replacement still as old but at least this one worked, the corridor and carpets smelled with so many stains on them just seems never been cleaned for years, the spa had an overpowering smell of chlorine it was unusable and also very old 20 years + .
The hotel pool (old) were very pleasant, nice gardens, terrace for eats and drinks,but staff at bar cafe had very little experience seem to be students, very friendly, but need full training,breakfast very good plenty of choice good quality.
Reception staff were just great tried to help you in every way, not easy in such a bad hotel that need total refurbishment urgently,this hotel is one of the worst that I have ever stayed in for years.
The room key was a very old heavy keyring type as old as the hotel just so unpleasant to hold in your hand as so unclean looking, should be never be the first think to great you on first day.
Local government tourist office should reclassify this hotel to a 3 star it´s a sham that they call it a 4 star.

Room Tip: Get at least a fully refurbished room, could never imagine how the none refurbished rooms are like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The hotel is ok, food is average and the customer service ranges from good to mediocre. First receptionist on arrival very unhelpful, we were 15 mins late for dinner (airport delays) and told no food was available, it was only 9.45pm, yet 8 euros were demanded up front for car parking (don't bother, there is plently of on street spaces) The policy of asking guests to pay upfront annoyed many, us included.Yet, another receptionist was very helpful regarding the cable car up Teide.

The grounds are lovely and the plants are beautiful, However the rooms are quite basic but clean and the cleaning ladies are very polite and happy.However, you do feel as though they are deliberately making it difficult to self cater to any extent, e.g. no tea towels, 3 forks and no wine glasses, The hotel focuses on its all inclusive guests to the detriment of other guests which made us all the more determined not to buy at the bar.

Great views from our room and would recommend the chalet/bungalow rooms on the lower levels away from the noise of the hotel.

Entertainment very focused on German guests and really of little interest to us. Hotel well placed for walking and local supermarket although we wouldn't have been without a car. We didn't use the free bus so can't comment but seemed very popular.

Overall, it was ok, The hotel really need to look at its welcome procedure and allow the dining room to serve a limited menu rather than run a vast buffet of indifferent food However the vast majority of guests seemed to be content, so maybe we are being a bit fussy !

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank joax16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel R, Community Manager at La Quinta Park Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Dear Guest,

On one hand, we want to thank you for letting us know your opinion about your stay at our Hotel. Your review is important for our possible future guests, but for us is even more important, because we can know which things should we improve.

On the other hand, we want to explain you some things. For example, we have to obby our timetable because of spanish laws and regulations. Then, it is specified the price of our private car parking, and when you make your reservation, you accept it, even if there are plenty of free parking places on the street. We only give you the possibility to get the car safe, and you decide to choose it or not.

We recommend you to book one of our high level room, for example, JS Deluxe Vista Panoramica, if you want to get a room with the best equipment and views and no a basic one.

We always try to provide the best possible service to our guests. We have made a note about all the things that you recommend us to improve. We hope, you can give us the opportunity to welcoming you next time and meet your expectations.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a week's stay, half board, part of a package holiday.
Our accommodation with seperate lounge area and kitchen was spacious. The very large
bed was comfortable.. The kitchen had an excellent hob /oven and fridge. It was fine for us as we were only making snacks but for making cooked meals more utensils would be welcome. We were very satisfied with the buffet meals in the hotel restaurant
There were ample numbers of recliners round the pool and spacious lounge areas
Although some way out of Puerto de la Cruz the hotel is well positioned and the free shuttle bus provided a good service.
The staff were friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mikoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel R, Community Manager at La Quinta Park Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Dear Mikoll,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your stay at our Hotel.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay, and that you liked our hotel in general. For us is very important your point of view, and that's why we have taken note about the things that we should improve. We are working hard for giving our guests the best possbile service.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcoming you back in the future. Do not hesitate to contact us if you need it.

Best Regards from La Quinta Park Suites,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed for a week this Sept 2012 booking via lastminute.com, it was a '4 star secret hotel'. The hotel is very large and somewhat out dated, our room had a kitchen but had very little utensils so we ate out every night. The location is north of the island and its abit of a trek getting buses etc to actually get to the hotel. There is an hourly free bus into the nearest town which was handy. It was very outdated all around the hotel, there seemed to be areas that had been untouched and not very clean. If they modified, losing alot of unnecessary furniture and giving it a big lick of paint it would probably be a lot nicer but at the moment it's much more of a 3 star than 4.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank HettyRob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel R, Community Manager at La Quinta Park Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at out Hotel. In this way, we can know your point of view, and get information about what things we should improve. Our purpose is to provide the best possible service, and we work very hard for that.

We are renovating the rooms and the hotel. Next time try to book the deluxe rooms.

We are located in a very quiet area in the north of the island, few kilometers away from the crowded areas. If you are looking forward to spend such a nice, relaxed and quiet holidays, our hotel is perfect for you.

If you are planning to come back to Tenerife, we are available for you. Do not hesitate to contact us if you need it.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed in at this Hotel in February. The hotel should not have more than 3 stars as it is a little worn. The service is ok overall with a few exceptions, the view is very nice. Wifi works in the reception area only and is quite slow. Paid to use the hotel's computer for faster connection but this was so slow that I left after 20 min. When I complained the manager told me that there was nothing wrong with the connection!
Breakfast is ok and staff is friendly. The prices in the bar and restaurant are reasonable and the service is good. Pool staff are very friendly although the outdoor pool is freezing cold. The spa is really nice but kids under 14 (or 16?) are not allowed there.
The temperature in the north of the island is about 2-3 degrees cooler than in the south which makes a big difference in the winter. Puerta de la Cruz is really nice, much nicer than the towns down south, so the last couple of days we would go to Aqualand in the south during the day and go out for dinner in P. de la Cruz in the evening.
The hotel should improve standards and bring things up to date by renovating rooms, heat pool, improve WIFI and use key cards instead of keys. These cards could also be used for pool towels, spa entrance, brekfast etc, now different paper tickets are used for all (had 4 in total!).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mptranslations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel R, Community Manager at La Quinta Park Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your sharing your opinion about your stay in Februay at our hotel. From February, a lot of things have changed, and day a day, we are trying to improve our service. We have been renovating rooms, but not with key card. Maybe in the future.

As you know, the WiFi is for free, and if all of our guests are using it at the same time, maybe it goes a little bit slow.

We have taken note about all these things that you are explaining. We still continue improving our service.

You could visit us in the future and let us meet your expectatives. It would be a pleasure for us.

Best Regards,

Samuel Rodríguez
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ursula
15.1 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,955 reviews
25.1 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 2 in Playa de la Arena
2,367 reviews
3.4 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#17 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 mi away
Sol Arona Tenerife
Sol Arona Tenerife
#5 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,572 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Best Semiramis
Hotel Best Semiramis
#22 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,214 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sol Costa Atlantis
Sol Costa Atlantis
#10 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Park Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Park Suites

Address: Calle Bicacarera 21 | Urb. La Quinta, 38390 Santa Ursula, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Santa Ursula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Ursula
Price Range: £39 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Quinta Park Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel-Spa & Conventions La Quinta Park Suites, is located in the north of Tenerife on a cliff overlooking the Atlantic Ocean with spectacular panoramic views of not only the Teide, the volcano with the highest peak in all of Spain, but also of Puerto de la Cruz as well as the rest of the valley of La Orotava. The hotel is surrounded by a naturally captivating setting of subtropical gardens where you can relish in an unsurpassable climate of eternal spring. It is situated in a privileged community and is guaranteed to be the ideal place for anyone seeking tranquillity and contact with nature.The semi-circular building consists of Junior Suites, which are complete with all of the luxuries of home. Moreover, as an alternative leisure activity we have on our premises the first Spa in northern Tenerife: a true oasis for complete relaxation and peace of mind. Here we offer a complete array of the latest health and beauty programs, and we are always seeking to satisfy even the most demanding of clients by always offering personalised treatment and paying attention to the smallest of details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Quinta Park Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Park Hotel Santa Ursula
La Quinta Santa Ursula
La Quinta Puerto De La Cruz
Santa Ursula La Quinta
La Quinta Park Suites Tenerife/Santa Ursula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing