We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing views”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Finca -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
La Matanza de Acentejo, Tenerife, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Herder71
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Giacomo and his family are fantastic hosts, extremely helpful and go above and beyond what you would expect to help you enjoy your stay. Giacomo is also a professional chef and offers evening meals if desired in a small restaurant area next door (no obligation at all, flexible on timing and menu). I'd certainly recommend eating there during your stay, we ate there a few times and the food was amazing.

The location is great, peaceful, surrounded by lush green countryside and a view of the volcano. We much preferred the area to the south of the island. The journey from the south Airport took around an hour and was relatively straight forward although I would recommend sat-nav in general as the road signs can be a little confusing at times.

The accommodation is a traditional rustic finca with amazing views and a lovely pool area. The kitchen is rather basic but we did have everything we needed. A normal oven would be a nice addition as when I'm on holiday I'm a little lazy and sometimes just want to put a pizza or something in the oven.

Overall a great holiday and I would certainly recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality, views and the pool
Liked least: Lack of an ordinary oven in the kitchen
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The finca is an old Spanish farmhouse, a little quirky but oozes character and the gardens are such a lovely, relaxing spot, by day or night. Sitting in the morning sunshine looking across small scale farming fields at a snow capped mountain was exceptional. We even made it into the pool, despite the weather! If you only want a five star luxury villa with all possible mod cons you may be better looking elsewhere but Suerteluna is spotlessly clean, comfortable and gives a real flavour of rural Canarian life within a 5 min drive (or 5 Euro taxi ride) to bars and restaurants in La Matanza or (approx. 10 miles) more tourism centred facilities in Puerto de la Cruz.
We had an absolutely wonderful time here. 5 single, middle aged male and female friends, we wanted some winter warmth but not the mass tourism trappings of Playa de las Americas, so decided to take a chance on North Tenerife, which none of us had visited before. In the end we had very mixed weather by local Tenerifean expectations (still excellent by UK standards in late Feb!) but found the island to be an incredibly rich mixture of scenery and things to do, even when the sun didn’t shine.
In no small part this was due to the owner, Giacomo, and his lovely family. They live in an annexe at the opposite end of the property but unless you choose to interact you’d barely know they were there. Giacomo speaks fluent English (also fluent Italian and Spanish), clearly wants his guests to have a brilliant time, will take care to find out your likes and dislikes, and has an abundance of suggestions and offers to bring this about. Every single one of his suggestions provided exactly what we had thought we wanted (and often more). Giacomo will be around as much, or as little, as you want him to be. That said the family are all lovely and a pleasure to spend time with. Giacomo was always helpful at arranging things (eg taxis, hire car swop, market shopping) where a greater use of Spanish than we possess was useful. None of us have ever been on a holiday where we felt so well looked after.
Giacomo is also a prominent chef on Tenerife and you MUST try out his cooking. Giacomo is putting all his energies into Suerteluna and so is genuinely keen to cook for guests, as often as they might want it. Giacomo is flexible when agreeing the timings of meals and he always came up with interesting, tasty options for the vegetarian in our party. Having great food served by the whole family, by the pool or in the living accommodation (according to weather and preference), was simply wonderful. If you happen to be there when the Guachince Chupet next door is open (approx mid Jan to early May) there is another wonderful Canarian experience, with good cheap food and wine and a wonderful warm welcome every time.
North Tenerife was a revelation. Suerteluna, Giacomo and his family even more so. I/we cannot recommend it too highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience of the finca and the fantastic service from the owner
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2016
You made me cry!!! Thanks guys. Hope to see you again!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiamsMum2...
North Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The hosts Giacomo and Meri and the house made our holiday really good.”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

From first seeing the house in the advert i knew it would be great for our family holiday to celebrate my sons 50th birthday. Giacomo and Meri were very helpful with everything from medicines to guidance as to where to go and when. The house and gardens are delightful and the views definitely stunning. Giacomo cooked for us twice, local food which was delicious. The guacinche(bar restaurant) next door is worth a visit as the wine is superb. We were nine people in total ranging in age from 2 to 69 and we would all return happily. Thank you so much for making it into a very special occasion.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the house, space to be alone or together.
Liked least: No dry wood for the fire.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duzi2015
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great house with a beautiful view and a very nice owner”
Reviewed 1 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We (young couple with a 9 months old boy) came the first time to Teneriffe and we had a great vacation. Starting from the perfect communication with Giacomo (he speaks fluent English) and continuing with the warm reception when we arrived and great recommendations of nice places to go to, we are very happy to have booked this place.
From your bedroom you have a fantastic view over the vineyard over to the El Teide. And from the Pool you can see the sea. There are restaurants and supermarkets nearby.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
climb1975
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, charming owner, perfect for a quiet holiday.”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This is a beautiful old Canarian house set among vineyards in the lush northwest of the island. There are stunning views to Mount Teide, a lovely garden, pool and a sense of peace and calm everywhere. The owner, Alberto, is very friendly and helpful and the entire stay was wonderful. Next door is a simple but delightful bar/restaurant supplying the local wine and delicious food. If you want a quiet and peaceful holiday in Tenerife in a simple but charming environment this is perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: La casa en general, el trato de los propietarios y la comida.
Liked least: nada malo que decir acerca de la estancia
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Muchas gracias!!! Un abrazo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing