We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well coated hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Medina Sidonia
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Medina-Sidonia
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a lovely hotel in the wonderful village of Medina Sidonia, the reception is a great courtyard, rooms are well sized and have all the amenities. A nice small bar is also good. The only let down was breakfast a piece of toast and cup of coffee is not that good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_calvinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2013

This Hotel is in a stunning historic building so we thought we'd try the restaurant situated in the hotel but we were so disappointed, very slow service, tasteless soup and all the meat main courses we had ordered which were lamb,chicken and the 2 pork dishes were so over cooked that they were really tough. Accompanied by only greasy chips and no vegetables so we asked to add a salad to our order and we were told they hadn't got any salad and this was at 10 pm and the restaurant only opens at 8.30 pm! The appetiser of goats cheese and tomato toasts which had sounded good was made up of large lumps of bread with slices of cheese and tomatoes on the top some of which were cold and others barely warm. We didn't bother with the desserts as we had spent enough on the food we had not enjoyed. The house red wine was ok as was the local beer and the mineral water but you can't go too wrong with those.all in all a very disappointing dining experience, we won't be returning.

Room Tip: We didn't stay in the hotel so cannot comment on the rooms, the reception area is very nice and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank pedlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

What a great Hotel in a small village. They knew how to do it right. Parking closeby. Our room was bright and airy and large. WIFI in room. Lovely restaurant and bar area and easy walking distance to central square. Carnaval was on and the town was just humming - so lovely. Very Spanish in Medina and the people were very friendly. Breakfast was included and it was simple but substantial with good coffee. Huge bathroom with really nice decor and if you wanted you could open the window from the shower and look out over the rooftops.

Room Tip: We looked into many rooms and they were all nice and luxuriously fitted
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TedandBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We visited Medina Sidonia by chance on our way from Jerez to Algeciras as we needed somewhere to eat. Having arrived we decided to stay the night to have time to explore this lovely town ( OK it is a City but not in any real sense). We checked out Trip Adviser and decided to look at the hotel. It is charming and the staff were very helpful. The rooms were both clean and comfortable and the price, at 44 Euros, excellent. It was perfect for a one night stay. The inclusive breakfast turned out to be toast but never mind.

One warning is parking. The hotel has free parking but it is not that close. You certainly do not want to lug heavy bags from it. Either drop them off before parking or use the reasonably priced street parking nearby. Getting to the hotel by car is also not easy so make sure you get your GPS right or use a map that has the one way system marked out.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marcus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at the hotel thanks to the generosity of our family to celebrate a special birthday. The hotel is in an exceptional setting above two great valleys of rural Spain. Our stay was in March and the weather blessed us. The hotel is exquisite with a hybrid Spanish/ Moorish feel to the decore. Great attention is given to the finish of the rooms and the terrace gardens. The local staff are lovely. Although their English was limited they more than made up for this with warm smiles. The owners are an English duo who have a solid local Spanish clientelle which adds to the feeling of being in a truly Spanish environment- this is not 'put on Spain' for English tourists, rather a haven for locals and travellers alike. The restaurant was beautiful at all times of the day but I have to say, lunch was gorgeous- huge- but gorgeous! And the 'day beds' on the terrace a touch of genius as the short walk to the room seemed a hazy possibility afterwards! The little kitchen in each room was well equipped and would allow travellers to be quite self sufficient if they were to take the 'self catering option. Something to consider though... the sky was full of birds of prey, including vultures!! Quite a sight when one wakes from a siesta!! Great for 'in the clouds' bird watching. My husband had to tear me away from the sound of cascading water features and laden lemon trees... but then, the area has so much to offer! I would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Prepare to spend time here. It is a place to slow down and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patsy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

So we stayed at this hotel on a spanish groupon equivalent. And it was ok but we never felt like we were especially wanted. Or maybe its just that the staff weren't that welcoming generally but we've certainly had a lot warmer in other spanish hotels.

Room itself was ok although shower fixing was weird only showering the water onto the wall so meaning you had to hold it. I'm picky but a good shower is one of my prerequisities so that, the basic breakfast (toast and coffee) and the twin room despite a double being asked for, just means this hotel was average for the money paid.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justarover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

I stayed here with my husband for one night in Sept, we have been to Medina-Sidonia many times & this time we decided to stay the night. The hotel is truly lovely & the room was quite large with a large bathroom. It is very spanish & spotlessly clean. Reception staff were very polite. The hotel is in a great location close to the main plaza. The food in the little pubs & restuarants along the plaza was very good. Would defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emerson00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medina-Sidonia
10.4 mi away
Fairplay Golf & Spa Resort
Fairplay Golf & Spa Resort
#1 of 2 in Benalup-Casas Viejas
76 reviews
14.9 mi away
ILUNION Tartessus Sancti Petri Hotels
ILUNION Tartessus Sancti Petri H...
#5 of 10 in Novo Sancti Petri
1,113 reviews
19.6 mi away
Tryp Jerez Hotel
Tryp Jerez Hotel
#5 of 30 in Jerez De La Frontera
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel
Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Vejer de la Frontera
508 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cortijo Los Monteros
Cortijo Los Monteros
#1 of 6 in Medina-Sidonia
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Rural Sidonia
Casa Rural Sidonia
#3 of 9 in Medina-Sidonia
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Medina Sidonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Medina Sidonia

Address: Plaza Llanete de Herederos s/n, 11170 Medina-Sidonia, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Medina-Sidonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Medina-Sidonia
Price Range: £43 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Medina Sidonia 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Medina Sidonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing