We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely breathtaking views and very comfortable too!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Vista de Medina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Vista de Medina
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely breathtaking views and very comfortable too!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

We have a holiday home nearby this beautiful pueblo blanco (white town on a hill) but decided to go and stay in this hotel because we had heard that the food was very good the hotel was comfortable.
We were not disappointed. This quaint small hotel is almost at the top of the town and looks over the rooftops towards the bay of Cadiz. The day and night we stayed had been crystal clear which meant we enjoyed the most stunning views out to sea some 25kms away. I cannot find the words to describe the sunset! The hotel is on different levels with the bar and restaurant on the top. Next floor was a small function suite and our room/apartment. On the bottom level there were many rooms all let out onto the terrace which had a couple of small pools to cool down in. The views from this terrace gave you the feeling that you were in an infinity pool as you looked out over the town. The appartment was exceptional with a double sofa bed for our son, a tv and DVD player in the lounge area. A small kitchen off with a separate bedroom and shower room. All heated or air conditioned.

We were made to feel really welcome by the owner who could not have been more helpful. The staff were attentive without smothering you.

We just loved the place, would thoroughly recommend it if you want someplace quiet and personal to stay for a night or two. We also dined in the restaurant that night. This too was great value and the food really tasty.


Cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: They all looked good to me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neil_mckagencies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    14
    4
    6
    2
See reviews for
27
64
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed at the hotel thanks to the generosity of our family to celebrate a special birthday. The hotel is in an exceptional setting above two great valleys of rural Spain. Our stay was in March and the weather blessed us. The hotel is exquisite with a hybrid Spanish/ Moorish feel to the decore. Great attention is given to the finish of the rooms and the terrace gardens. The local staff are lovely. Although their English was limited they more than made up for this with warm smiles. The owners are an English duo who have a solid local Spanish clientelle which adds to the feeling of being in a truly Spanish environment- this is not 'put on Spain' for English tourists, rather a haven for locals and travellers alike. The restaurant was beautiful at all times of the day but I have to say, lunch was gorgeous- huge- but gorgeous! And the 'day beds' on the terrace a touch of genius as the short walk to the room seemed a hazy possibility afterwards! The little kitchen in each room was well equipped and would allow travellers to be quite self sufficient if they were to take the 'self catering option. Something to consider though... the sky was full of birds of prey, including vultures!! Quite a sight when one wakes from a siesta!! Great for 'in the clouds' bird watching. My husband had to tear me away from the sound of cascading water features and laden lemon trees... but then, the area has so much to offer! I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

La Vista Medina is ideally located in this small hill town; on a small plaza across the street from the town’s main church which sits on the peak of the hill the town is on. This affords the hotel breath-taking views of this picturesque town, valley below, and mountains beyond from the restraint, most rooms, the garden, and a large terrace. The food in the restaurant was very good and reasonably priced. The breakfast however was bread and coffee, leaving my kids asking, "where's breakfast?" The rooms left much to be desired. Ours was fairly compact, with tired furnishings, dated fixtures and amenities, a small Spanish only tv, and a functional kitchenette. Unfortunately, it was cold and rainy during our stay and the heater was inadequate to keep the apartment warm, nor did they have any additional blankets to provide. The solution was a propane heater, which was warm, but gave off noxious fumes. The hosts were also very nice, and even invited our children to attend their daughter’s birthday party, which they loved. However, the hosts did not provide anything in the way of direction or things to do in the town. In hindsight, while cute, this town is more suited for a day trip or stop over, but we would not suggest staying there for more than a night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KidsAreATrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majorca, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I have now been to Medina 3 times. The first time in the winter 2010 and we stayed in Casa Medina. Although the weather was not too kind we managed to have a good time. The location of Medina is exceptional, so near to Cadiz, Jerez and Morrisons in Gibralter where I stocked up on all my English goodies!!! (I live in Spain). I was so impressed that I decided to go back with a pal in June 2011. Kirsty and Gary now had open the Vista Medina and we stayed there in one of their apartments which are so well thought out and very comfortable. We ate in the Vista restaurant overlooking the wonderful views and to be honest didn't really want to do more that laze around their lovely pools. The food was excellent and as per usual Gary and Kirsty are very much "hands on" and made our stay so enjoyable, so much in fact that I was back there again in November 2011 with some more pals - need I say more. We will be off again soon!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jane leggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

After visiting many resorts, i can truly say this has to be the most perfect idle relaxing holiday.The self contained apartments are clean modern and tasteful and have the most amazing views across Medina. Gary and Kirsty are welcoming and nothing is any trouble. Will be visiting again hopefully in September this year.

Room Tip: All rooms are close to pool and have good scenic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palma de mallorca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Situated at the top of Medina Sidonia, one could not ask for a better location. Apart from the characterful village, the closeness to interesting places such as Jerez, Cadiz, Gibraltar etc makers the stay here full of interest. The restaurant is open for meals, and drinks.

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed in one of the airy self-contained apartments,the bedroom had a great big enormous comfy bed and there was an open-plan lounge diner with a tiny fully equipped kitchen to make tea or a quick meal. But most of the time we spent out by the pool area - there's a lovely enclosed garden with 2 pools and the constant sound of running water, absolutely charming and totally sheltered with amazing views. The owners make you feel very welcome and the friendly staff go out of their way to help. Loved it!

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerhard7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Medina-Sidonia
0.1 mi away
Hotel Medina Sidonia
Hotel Medina Sidonia
#1 of 4 in Medina-Sidonia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hotel Utopia
Hotel Utopia
#1 of 2 in Benalup-Casas Viejas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
19.2 mi away
Casa Grande
Casa Grande
#1 of 33 in Jerez De La Frontera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Cortijo Los Monteros
Cortijo Los Monteros
#1 of 6 in Medina-Sidonia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurante el Castillo
Hotel Restaurante el Castillo
#2 of 6 in Medina-Sidonia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos La Casa de la Alameda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vista de Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vista de Medina

Property: La Vista de Medina
Address: Plaza Iglesia Mayor No. 2, 11170 Medina-Sidonia, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Medina-Sidonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Medina-Sidonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This imaginatively finished rambling property offers unparalleled views over a patchwork of undulating tiled roofs and church spires to the rural splendour of rolling hills fringed by the Atlantic Ocean..The 6 self-catering suites are stylish and comfortable, the perfect base for holidays which are both relaxing and stimulating.Enjoy lazy days by the pools in the flower-filled, terraced gardens, discover a wode range of local attractions from Golden-sand beaches, White-washed villages, historic cities and even a taste of the exotic in Morocco, Africa which you can see from the dining terrace of the on-site rooftop restaurant! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Vista de Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vista De Medina Hotel Medina-Sidonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing