We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheesecake heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Vista de Medina

La Vista de Medina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, View, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: As the name suggests, the terraces offer magnificents views over a patchwork of undulating tiled roofs and church spires to the rural splendour of rolling hills – fringed by the Atlantic Ocean. On a clear day you can even see the Rif Mountains of Morocco shimmering in the distance!
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheesecake heaven”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We had the pleasure of eating here twice this last week. Amazing views, excellent food, friendly waiter. A must visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    98
    34
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cadiz, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic memorable end to holiday”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

La Vista de Medina has always been a favourite with us and we often recommend it to guests renting our villa. So this week when we had a party of eight visitors (family and friends) over for the MotoGP we were looking for a restaurant to spend our last evening together as a group.
I booked a table for 10 via email and had such a lovely reply from Gary giving details of the expected temps at the time we would be dining ( which we wanted to do on the terrace0 and telling us the time of the sunset.

The evening could not have gone better. The staff were attentive and helpful,Kirsty a delightful host, the food fantastic, the ambience perfect, the views stunning and to top it all off there was a glorious sunset.
Our friends were also surprised at how reasonable the prices were. Each and every one said that it was the perfect memorable evening on which to end their holiday in Spain.

Thank you Gary and Kirsty, it is always nice when friends go away wishing they could stay longer.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Great place to lunch and sure to have diner. Quality food, good service and beautiful place.
Un gran sitio para comer y seguro que pasta cenar. Comida calidad, buen servicio y un bonito lugar.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yasnak1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamphire, England
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Fabulous views, terrible food”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We dined at La Vista last June and found the food to be very very average. We're back in Medina Sidonia again this year and because La Vista is getting lots of good reviews we decided to give it another chance. I have to say I am completely baffled as to why it is so highly rated (this comment is aimed at the restaurant, not the rooms which I have never stayed in).

On the plus side:
- La Vista is situated at the very top of Medina, in a beautiful church square, and the views are absolutely stunning.
- There are two outside terraces you can dine on to take in the fabulous views and enjoy the weather.
- the staff are friendly and speak good English.

On the down side:
- the menu is clearly aimed at tourists and is confused. It's neither Spanish nor international cuisines, but instead an odd mix of Italian, Spanish, English/American, with many lazy dishes.
- the quality of the cooking is not at all good. There is no imagination in the dishes and they are executed, at best, very averagely.
- the quality of the ingredients is poor, which is surprising in a region that offers a plethora of excellent foods (fresh fish, Iberian pig, local brown cattle, ripe fruits and vegetables).
- the quality of service is poor, despite the friendliness.

This was our experience last night:
We asked to sit on the terrace and had a choice of almost all the outside tables. A young (English) lady showed us to the table and took our drinks order and gave us the menus. We ordered two glasses of house rose wine - it was of extremely poor quality, with a musty, cardboardy aroma and taste, which signifies poor quality winemaking. I threw the contents of my glass in to one of the pot plants!
We were brought the bread basket - the bread was tasteless and cottonwood-like, despite there being an excellent baker in Medina. We ordered some fino sherry and placed our order. With the sherry we were served some cracked green olives and an amusebouche of an onion, tomato, pepper and tuna salad, which turned out to be the freshest and most tasty food we were to eat that evening.
For starters we ordered garlic prawns with asparagus, and a platter of Iberico charcuterie with cheese and fruits and nuts. The prawns had little flavour as they were clearly defrosted peeled prawns from the freezer. These came with four overcooked and very thin green asparagus spears. The platter comprised a selection of supermarket-quality pre-sliced chorizo, salami, lomo and jamon with three large slices of fresh neutrally-flavoured cheese and some shrivelled sultanas and walnut halves (both of cooking quality, better suited to cake making). With a little imagination the walnuts might have been soaked in honey and the sultanas soaked in local moscatel wine - this is what I mean by lazy dishes.
There was a long wait in between the starter and main course, and we had to chase our ordered bottle of wine, having been sat at the table with empty glasses for about 20 minutes.
We both had the Iberico pork steak (which we'd had the previous year and had enjoyed) with potato au gratin (a bit of French cuisine chucked in to mix the menu a little more!) and vegetables, which turned out to be baked courgettes, peppers and onions. This year the pork was disappointing. No longer a thick chop, this time it was a thinly sliced and chewy leg steak. The potatoes weren't well executed and the vegetables should have been cooked for different lengths of time to avoid the mushy courgette and undercooked onion - the peppers were perfect!
We ordered our bill rather than subject ourselves to dessert (an excellent choice of Hagendqz ice creams!) and coffee.

From now on we won't trust the reviews about La Vista. We won't be returning either!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SimoneP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“"Great food, Majestic Views and extremely pleasant staff"”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We visited Medena Sedonia and visisted La Vista in March of this year. We could not believe our eyes when we walked out onto the terrace and saw the view, it was to die for. We could not make our mind up but Gary had suggested we try the 9 euro menu. We both had a lovely tuna salad for starters, for main my husband had chicken and I had the pork cheek which was really tasty. The sweet was a wonderful almond cake and we were informed by David that this was home made. David spoke good English and everyone was so helpful and friendly. Thanks to all staff. We finally sat on the terrace and relaxed with tea and the nicest cappuccino I have tasted listening to the church bells. What more could you ask for!
We hope to return next year when we plan to visit the area again and will definitely be visiting Las Vista on our return visit to peruse their menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Italientraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Vista de Medina also viewed

Medina-Sidonia, Province of Cadiz
Medina-Sidonia, Province of Cadiz
 
Medina-Sidonia, Province of Cadiz
Medina-Sidonia, Province of Cadiz
 
Medina-Sidonia, Province of Cadiz
Medina-Sidonia, Province of Cadiz
 

Been to La Vista de Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing