We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little hotel”
Review of La City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La City
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Alicante
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Just back from a 5 night stay at La City Hotel (30th Sept to 5th Oct 2011) and found the hotel really good. The rooms are quite big and a good size bathroom too. The aircon was brilliant! All areas were clean and tidy, breakfast had a good enough choice with good coffee.
Rooms cleaned well with really good towels in the bathroom, not the cardboard threadless things on offer in most hotels!
The Hotel in just across the road from the train station which was handy for the airport bus which runs about every twenty mins. You do get a little city noise but when the window is closed theres no real problem.
We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Smoking rooms available on first and second floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adventuremaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2011

OK www of the world and beyond, this was my first trip to Spain. The main focus was to stay as close to X Hostel Alicante as possible to visit with friends there who are now co-owners. We found La City Hotel 3 streets away. Perfect. The staff was not just nice but kind and helpful. The rooms was very clean and reasonable.

Room Tip: We wanted a little more space so we took the junior sweet but it was still a very reasonable rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BNjamfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Hello all ,

Myself and my best friend stayed here for 7 nights between 15th to 21st of August 2011. We booked the room via their website and we got free continental breakfast and the room rate was 60 euros per night for a twin double room. We loved the fact we had daily turn down service , with fresh towels and amenities every day. Breakfast is a nice selection of croissants , pain aux chocolat , muffins , cereals , ham , cheese , spanish omelette , coffee , etc...The room was huge for us , really nice , with air conditioning working brilliant , comfy beds, flat screen tv , free internet via cable in room and free as wi-fi in public areas...Also there is a mini bar in the room and room service menu , which is actually made outside the hotel to tele pizza...We had a pizza from there but bought ourselves straight from the shop which is down the boulevard :) It was very good quality as well... In the reception will find a selection of newspapers and a computer for guests use...Staff really friendly , and useful in all situations !

For this price , and location , we both decided it was well spend monies ...We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This is a a modern hotel close to the station. Everything fine and also close to the tram system that takes you to the various beach towns along the coast. Clean and affordable.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagnumSauna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Stayed here with some friends in July 2011. I thought the price was great as it had breakfast included, and as a lot of places push their prices up in July and August, we got a great deal.

The rooms are great, spacious, clean, and although it's on a busy street there was no noise whatsoever. It's literally right next to the train station, which is great if you need to catch the train somewhere or have been dropped off there by the airport bus. It's not next to the beach but Alicante is a small city so it's only a 15 or 20 minute walk away.

The breakfast had the usual basics (juice, coffee, ham, cheese, fruit, croissants), which was fine for us really and no less than we expected.

There was always someone on reception and we liked the fact that the guy who was there in the early hours still greeted us with a smile despite the time!

So all-in-all if you're just looking for a place to stay that's clean and comfortable I recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank markoCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

There were absolutely no frills to this hotel but it was safe and the rooms were clean (except a slightly musty shower). The rooms were narrow as were the hallways but it is right across the street from the train station, and you cant beat that at all. You can easily walk to the central square and from there to the beach. All in all, you would pay a lot more for a comparable room in the US this close to the beaches. All in all I would give it a solid B.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank manu4t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I booked a last minute flight to Alicante the week before last, and used a price comparison website to find a late deal on a hotel. The price seemed reasonable so I checked directly on the hotel website and saw the difference between a standard room and a junior suite was barely anything - so I reserved the last junior suite for three nights at €75 a night with breakfast. For the standard of the hotel this was extremely reasonable and I would have been prepared to pay a lot more.

I was concerned about car parking as I was hiring a car for our trip and the hotel website explains that parking is available at Alicante Train Station opposite. You go straight to the train station car park, take a ticket and get it stamped once a day at the hotel, then take it to the booth at the car park when you want to take your car out and then the zero the cost of the ticket and the hotel adds €10 to your room bill - extremely good value as the car park is €20 per day usually.

The junior suite I reserved was extremely clean upon arrival, the usual large flatscreen tv, minibar with soft drinks were available, a very large private balcony with 2 sun loungers and a 6 seater table was outside and the bathroom was just right.

Breakfast was a simple bread/ham/cheese selection with croissants and preserves and coffee and fresh orange juice available - self serve - perfect for those proactive enough to serve themselves!

The reception staff were very friendly and welcoming making the stay even more enjoyable.

Room service is outsourced to telepizza - a local delivery service - and they can't speak English - If you struggle with Spanish, ask the reception staff to call and order for you - they did for us!

Only one negative point, our room wasn't made up on the third day - I didn't complain or check whether it should have been but I was a little disappointed that we didn't have clean towels.

We would definitely stay here again - thoroughly enjoyed!

Room Tip: lacity.com for comparison of suites/standard room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjt1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hotel Maya Alicante
#8 of 50 in Alicante
1,308 reviews
NH Alicante
#2 of 50 in Alicante
682 reviews
B&B Hotel Alicante
#24 of 50 in Alicante
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#4 of 50 in Alicante
835 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#6 of 50 in Alicante
1,093 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La City

Address: Avenida Salamanca 16, 03005 Alicante, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Ensanche Diputación
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Alicante
Price Range: £42 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La City 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is one of the most centrally located 3-star hotel in Alicante, right beside the railway central station and just a stones throw from the some of the city's most popular attractions. The hotel offers comfort, quality, attentive service and pure urban character. The Hotel is the perfect choice for those who wish to stay just a few steps away from museums, tourist attractions, restaurants, shops, without missing out on all the comforts of a new hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your La City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La City Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing