We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended”
Review of La City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La City
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We chose this hotel due to its location, being situated directly over the road to the train station (as we were catching a train to Valencia to spend a few days at Las Fallas festival the following morning). We took a taxi to the hotel from Alicante airport which took about 10 minutes and cost only 17 euros. We stayed a further night on our return from Valencia towards the end of March.

We were very impressed by the friendliness of the staff and cleanliness of the rooms. The rooms looked out onto the street below but we were not disturbed by any passing traffic at all during our stay as the road was not a particularly busy one. There was plenty of storage space for our luggage, the beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were much more luxurious than we had expected for the price of the room.

The only thing missing from the rooms was tea/coffee making facilities but we did not request this from Reception and it may be that these were available for guests on request. They did provide us with a bottle opener and wine glasses on request however and looked after our luggage after we had checked out.

The hotel is within walking distance of the marina (15 mins) which was a pleasant stroll with nice shops and cafes en route.

If I ever visit Alicante again, I would most certainly stay at this hotel as it met all my expectations and the location was ideal for both the central train and bus stations.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    85
    33
    4
    4
See reviews for
24
58
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This hotel is ideally located in Alicante. It is within walking distance of the Tram Station and is just across the street from the main train station which offers connections all over Spain and to the south of France. The main shopping streets are close by and so is the main harbour area which provides activities for children and a pedestrianised walkway where artists and street performers can be found. The hotel itself is not large, but the rooms are of a good size and totally adequate and relatively modern. There is free wi-fi in your room. The hotel is clean and well presented and is an excellent facility for a 3 star hotel. The only problem encountered was the fact they knew we were arriving as a couple but only provided one set of towels in the bathroom. This was resolved as soon as it was noticed. We left in the early hours of the morning to catch a flight out of the airport. The transfer was just over 10 minutes and cost less than 20 €. A great place to stay if you are in transit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Well located in front on the train station, and at 10 min walk to the marina. It is also a good point to explore the upper town, the best for hanging around. The hotel has simple but comfortable rooms. It is clean and service is fine.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed in La City only one night as we had to catch a train early morning so it was really convenient (just across the street from the RENFE station). The room was quite big and comfortable with all the necessary amenities. Apart from the train station the main shopping streets are within walking distance and the same refers to bars and restaurants. You get the same price when booking online (on hotel's official page and via booking.com) as when appearing at the reception. Altogether - it can be recomended!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

having had our passports stolen in BENIDORM we were sent here by Alicante Tourism Dept. An amazingly friendly hotel, very helpful to us. Just a walk around the corner to the British Consulate office if you end up needing their services. Everything very handy, hotel is spacious and spottlessly clean, would def stay here again if in this area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Stayed in this hotel for four nights through work. All we needed was a comfortable bed, a nice bathroom and a basic continental breakfast. This little hotel fulfilled all our requirements perfectly. The minimal staff were very friendly and the hotel was very clean. It's location was perfect as it was close enough to the centre and aswell as the harbour. If you are looking for a no frills base to a city centre break, this is the perfect place for you!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Boo_Radleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Clean hotel, room small but comfortable. 20 minute walk from old town, need to walk there for restaurants etc. Shopping area. Good value for money, but a bit far from bars etc at night. Staff pleasant and helpful. Nice buffet breakfast, good value for money compared to what you get in the town. Decent hotel,

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrelandCleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Centro
Hotel Rambla
Hotel Rambla
#19 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#6 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#3 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
NH Rambla de Alicante
NH Rambla de Alicante
#10 of 49 in Alicante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Centro
Mendez Nunez
Mendez Nunez
#18 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La City

Property: La City
Address: Avenida Salamanca 16, 03005 Alicante, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Ensanche Diputación
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La City 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is one of the most centrally located 3-star hotel in Alicante, right beside the railway central station and just a stones throw from the some of the city's most popular attractions. The hotel offers comfort, quality, attentive service and pure urban character. The Hotel is the perfect choice for those who wish to stay just a few steps away from museums, tourist attractions, restaurants, shops, without missing out on all the comforts of a new hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your La City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La City Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing