We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant enough for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Castilla Alicante
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough for the price”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Castilla Alicante in mid October. The hotel is quite a distance from central Alicante but is easily accessible by bus (number 22) or tram. The journey into central Alicante is around 8km and takes about 30 minutes. There is a bus stop immediately outside the hotel and the tram stops aren’t too far away either.

The hotel is rather large and generally clean without being exceptional. The rooms are a standard size with television (and remote control), moderate size bathrooms with plenty of towels supplied and replaced daily. Shower gel sachets are supplied too but are hardly enough for a proper wash.

Free WiFi is supplied in three day blocks via a temporary username and password. Once it has expired reception will issue you another one on request. All the staff had at least an adequate understanding of English which is much better than my level of Spanish and they were always willing to assist. The WiFi reception covers the bedrooms too.

The hotel has a pool but this was rarely used as the San Juan beach is just across the road and is one of the best beaches I have seen in a built up area. The beach is a few miles long (longer than Alicante beach) and has an array of bars and restaurants along it. As it was low season quite a few of the bars/restaurants were closed but there were still enough to accommodate the amount of trade.
There are also more bars and shops along the main road but many of these were closed for their holidays too. If you’re looking for a lively cultured break then you’re probably better off staying closer to Alicante town centre, but if you're just after a relaxing sunshine break then the Castilla is fine.

A bus into Alicante cost €1.45, Tram €1.75 and Taxi €12

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Truckerami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    253
    112
    25
    15
See reviews for
115
257
38
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I cannot understand how people are complaining about this hotel. I have just spent 5 days there and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The Hotel was extremely busy hosting guests for the IPC competition. Many of these were in wheelchairs and I saw nothing but hard work and helpfulness from the staff. The restaurant was fully booked due to this event but staff ensured I was looked after and received dinner. After a slight hitch with my booking my room was changed as soon as a larger one became available after the event was over. It may be a little old fashioned but it is spotlessly clean in the Hotel and and around the pool area. This is a 3* premises and I found it very good value for money. Well done Hotel Castilla, I will be more than happy to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank helly52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My Boyfriend and I have just returned after a long weekend at Castilla. We got there the Friday morning and the check in was fine - we had been allocated one of the more superior rooms on the 5th floor (502) which didnt overlook the sea, but if you leaned out you could see it from the HUGE balcony! The bed wasnt the comfiest, but have slept in alot worse and had a good nights sleep! The bathroom was fine - quite modern and the room was clean. The only problem with the room is the lack of English Channels! only BBC news...
Its about 50m to the beach, just under a minuite walk and its the most gorgeous white sand beach...and it has a lovely promenade for a good stroll in the evenings. It is quite far from Alicante, but you can get a bus for E1.45. And there is a night bus at the weekends that goes through out the night.
We didnt actually eat at the hotel so cant comment on that, but there are a few local resturants (some on the beach) we visited that were nice. (Sorry cant remember the name but went to a nice pizzeria) and a good italian in Alicante Centre Sat night, The town centre was very busy but a good night out with very cheap drinks :) If you like that kind of thing!!
The pool was cold but refreshing i guess when its really hot! the sea was lovely and actually warmer so would recommend that instead!
I cant believe everyone is saying how bad the staff were?! I thought they were really nice!! They were very Friendly and very helpful with buses etc.
I would definately recommend a stay here for the price £36 a night! Its simple, but you cant expect the ritz for that price!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The staff were very unfriendly, although the hotel was not so bad.
Other things that werent so nice - the breakfast was appalling and the shower gel were in pouches which weren't all that easy to use and the quantity was too little.
Good things:
The hotel is really close to the beach and if you have a car there's enough parking nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay. The hotel is exceptionally clean and very convenient for public transport into Alicante. All staff were friendly and helpful, with excellent English spoken by the receptionists - especially the lovely Fran! We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Eau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

clean and tidy hotel. Two small lifts, stairs ok to top floor, 8 floors.
Friendly reception.
150metres from Londres tram stop.
Only slept at hotel so no food review, plenty of food outlets nearby, beach across the road.
No kettle in room. Bathroom ok but basic. Rooms at the end of building towards sea have a long balcony. Beach is very good, tram service excellent, town has enough for a day or two to explore, castle good, tram to Benidorm for day out not expensive.
No complaint overall.

Room Tip: top floor at sea end best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramjet51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Staff very helpful and polite. A clean and well run hotel. The pool area was adequate and suffers from shade from the building next door, but could potentially get very busy. However most guests used the lovely San Juan beach 2 minutes walk away. It would have been nice to have direct access to the cafe though. You can park in the street right outside. Getting to Alicante centre is no problem, just get a 21 or 22 bus outside the hotel. They go all the way to the esplanade, about 25 minutes. €1.45 each way. There is a nice cafe in the hotel which seems popular with locals so we didn't use the restaurant. Overall a pleasant and well located hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CARROTZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Playa de San Juan
Almirante Hotel
Almirante Hotel
#15 of 49 in Alicante
330 reviews
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
1,078 reviews
Hotel Albahia
#17 of 49 in Alicante
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
B&B Hotel Alicante
#23 of 49 in Alicante
397 reviews
NH Alicante
#3 of 49 in Alicante
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castilla Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castilla Alicante

Property: Hotel Castilla Alicante
Address: Avenida Paises Escandinavos 7, 03540 Alicante, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Castilla Alicante 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Castilla Alicante is a three star hotel that has been certified with the "Q" of Quality trade mark. The hotel has been recently renovated. It is located in the city`s north and placed in a charming environment. Only 50 metres from the beach "San Juan Playa".Wich has been awanded a blue flag. A few minutes drive from the citycentre , the much filmed "Ciudad de la Luz" , the Airport "EL ALTET" , the Exhibition Centre ( IFA) ,The theme park "Terra Mitica" the ,"Terra Natura" off the A7 / A31,and 300 metres away is the Golf course " Alicante Golf ".Hotel Castilla Alicante has 155 rooms, all recently redecorated and are equiped with full marble bathroom, large balconies , satellite TV, telephone, internet connection, safety deposit box ( optional) and the majority have sea views. The rooms majority has free wi-fi connection under availability .All rooms have air conditioning and central heating .There are also non smoking rooms alarms.Hotel Castilla Alicante is a suitable location to combine business, sport and leisure, where relaxation and rest are guaranteed.Moreover, we have conference rooms and banqueting with suites varying capacities (350-25 people ) , a restaurant with a capacity of 300 people , swimming pool, childrens play area, undercover parking, a terrace with a cafe-bar, a Cafe lounge with a TV area, a limited room service, a laundry service, a florist, excursions, a ticket service, car-rental available at reception, Green Fees reservations and information about the golf courses . Close to the hotel, there is an office for local shows, Commercial Centres, restaurants, pubs and high speed wi-fi connection on the main floor. Full equipped kitchen of our own specialised in Home made and mediterranean cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Castilla Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing