We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for your money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Castilla Alicante
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for your money!”
Reviewed 9 March 2011

The hotel was great - nothing special, but suitable for our needs and for fantastic money. The hotel is clean, service perfect (receptionists speak English, they're very helpfull), location is approx 100 m from see, however a little bit far from the center (10 km). Bus stop is just in front of the hotel (1,25 €), taxi is around 12 €. Rooms are good, but when the weather is cold, the air conditioning doesn't heat that well. Breakfast was fine, however it's always the same, so I recommend the hotel just for a short stay (weekend getaway, business trip, etc.).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pavolmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    261
    115
    25
    16
See reviews for
121
266
39
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Rooms are very clean and spacious. We had a lovely large balcony with some views of the sea. I would recommend this hotel for a Summer break as it is in very close proximity (right across the road) from a beautiful clean beach. However, the location for a spring break is not ideal as there is very little to do in the proximity as most shops/restaurants are closed because it is out of season. The tram and bus stop right outside the hotel and a tram journey is 20 minutes to Alicante city. However, the last tram leaves the city at 10.20pm and the last bus at 11.20pm so there is not much time to explore the nightlife in the city as taxis are approx €15. A taxi from the airport to the hotel is €40 approx. However, we took the shuttle bus to the city and then a texi to the hotel. There is a lovely pool at the hotel and the breakfast has a very good selection. Overall it is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatamaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2010

If only all hotels were as good as this one, traveling to Spain would be even more delightful! It is modestly classed as 3-Star but that does not do justice to the friendly and comfortable ambience of the hotel. There is a lovely open-plan bar cafe which has an outdoor street-side section for people watchers. There are tasty snacks on the menu there all day. The resturant serves breakfast buffet, sit-down lunch and dinner serving from what we call a non-threatening menu; part Spanish and part northern European.

I must comment on the extremely friendly and knowlegable Receptionists who seem to know everything you want to know about! For instance they changed out room for us last year (shower/bath requirements) on the spot and with no fuss. The rest of the staff are quietly efficient and never 'in your face'. Other hotels please copy. Because of the interesting tall and narrow design of the hotel, all the spotlessly clean rooms face out to the pool area and the welcoming sea beyond that.

And what a sea and beach it is. Just accross the road from the hotel is the longest beach I have seen with miles of white sand, covered loungers, showers and toilets and plenty of on-the-beach resturants. Even in June it was nearly empty as this whole area, called St. Juan, is really a quiet Spanish frequented district.

Back to the hotel again and to one of its winning features. Right outside the door is a stop for the local bus into Alicante Town and, best of all, the new electric Tram service. This is a wonderful way to see this corner of Spain as the Tram goes both into Alicante town and in the other direction it travels for miles along the coast. It visits lots of small sea-side towns and even as far as Benidorm and beyond. It is low-cost and you can hop on and off as you please.

I highly recomment this hotel, I have no business connection with it of course and I am returning to it again, in fact to the same room which they arranged on the spot - with no fuss!

Karas, Dublin, 2010.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank timcostello1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Out of season we would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We, as the only clients on half board, were treated by an ever changing staff as an inconvenience. We were expected to eat in the hotel's public bar - the beautiful restaurant serving "international cuisine" Remain firmly shut during our 4 night stay. When we protest about eating in the bar smoking among members of the public on the first morning and supposedly having a buffet meal served by the bartender at our table, the meeting room was opened for us at each breakfast time but our dinners were always served lukewarm and of poor quality in the public bar in front of the flat screen tv.

We were advised by the receptionist the day before we were leaving to book our airport taxi in advance. She rang our room later to check that she had "booked the correct day" but on the morning of our departure on checking that a taxi had been organized, we were told by yet another receptionist that no taxi had been arranged for us.

Surely in a hotel that caters for hundreds of visitors during the summer season, it should not be so difficult to cater for 2 guests. Meal times were an ordeal instead of a pleasure and we were made to feel that we were unwelcome. With the exception of one young female receptionist and one young barman who were very apologetic, the rest of the staff were surly and uncaring.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frequenttraveller089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

We have just returned from a long weekend - 3 nights. The hotel was mostly fine. We were in room 811. It was a good size, clean, comfortable, had a nice large balcony, a sea view and in a good location to go to the beach, take the bus into town, walk to the Golf complex for a night out etc. Our only issue was an annoying mechanical/plumbing type noise that started around 8:30 every morning.... it was quiet at night.

San Juan is very Spanish and is as would be expected of the Spanish people, culture and lifestyle. There are a lot of Spanish tourists there as it is a favorite local beach, with good access to Madrid, Barcelona and Valencia. There were language difficulties, but all you need is a phrase book and they appreciate if you try and communicate in Spanish. The area is definitely not full of English tourists but in our opinion thats a good thing... if you want English tourists and an environment conducive with that then I would advise you go to Benidorm.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Any1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights for a short getaway holiday. Large comfortable room with lots of storage space. Nice and quiet and very close to the beach. We didn't have a sea view but the rooms at the front did and it didn't bother us that much.

Very helpful staff at reception and the rooms were kept very clean. Had a few language problems in the restaurant but we were in Spain and most of the guests at this hotel appeared to be Spanish so what the heck! We will just have to brush up on our Spanish next time!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadrunner90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presov
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Beautiful hotel, great service, walking distance to the beach. Great variety for breakfast. Clean room every day. Beach-absolutely amazing, long , clean, safe even for my 3 years old daughter. We would appriciate swimmingpool for kids and better playground in the hotel area.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiaraPresov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Playa de San Juan
Almirante Hotel
Almirante Hotel
#15 of 49 in Alicante
349 reviews
Hotel Maya Alicante
#8 of 49 in Alicante
1,175 reviews
NH Alicante
#3 of 49 in Alicante
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
B&B Hotel Alicante
#23 of 49 in Alicante
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castilla Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castilla Alicante

Property: Hotel Castilla Alicante
Address: Avenida Paises Escandinavos 7, 03540 Alicante, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Castilla Alicante 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Castilla Alicante is a three star hotel that has been certified with the "Q" of Quality trade mark. The hotel has been recently renovated. It is located in the city`s north and placed in a charming environment. Only 50 metres from the beach "San Juan Playa".Wich has been awanded a blue flag. A few minutes drive from the citycentre , the much filmed "Ciudad de la Luz" , the Airport "EL ALTET" , the Exhibition Centre ( IFA) ,The theme park "Terra Mitica" the ,"Terra Natura" off the A7 / A31,and 300 metres away is the Golf course " Alicante Golf ".Hotel Castilla Alicante has 155 rooms, all recently redecorated and are equiped with full marble bathroom, large balconies , satellite TV, telephone, internet connection, safety deposit box ( optional) and the majority have sea views. The rooms majority has free wi-fi connection under availability .All rooms have air conditioning and central heating .There are also non smoking rooms alarms.Hotel Castilla Alicante is a suitable location to combine business, sport and leisure, where relaxation and rest are guaranteed.Moreover, we have conference rooms and banqueting with suites varying capacities (350-25 people ) , a restaurant with a capacity of 300 people , swimming pool, childrens play area, undercover parking, a terrace with a cafe-bar, a Cafe lounge with a TV area, a limited room service, a laundry service, a florist, excursions, a ticket service, car-rental available at reception, Green Fees reservations and information about the golf courses . Close to the hotel, there is an office for local shows, Commercial Centres, restaurants, pubs and high speed wi-fi connection on the main floor. Full equipped kitchen of our own specialised in Home made and mediterranean cooking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Castilla Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing