We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice if you're 16 years but don't stay here to get your rest.”
Review of Hostal La Lonja

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostal La Lonja
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Alicante
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We really don't understand how this place can get so many good reviews. We stayed here for 3 nights, but payed for 6! We left 3 days ahead because this place was really uncomfy. It's extremely noisy, my pillow smelled unclean so they had to change it.
The only positive point is the location and the price. It's basically next to the market place and walking distance to everything you want to visit. But if you also appreciate a good night rest, don't bother this hostel and pay a bit more and go to a better hotel.
Every night you will be staying awake because of the drunken people in the street.
Oh and one other thing you have to give the key of your room each time you go outside!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tubita00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan P, Gerente at Hostal La Lonja, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

We deeply regret that they have had that experience in our establishment.
I understand that the problem with the pillow was solved in a reasonable time, right?
With respect to the payment of the entire stay, I understand that your fee was not refundable and therefore more economical than standard. It's like if you buy a ticket in Rayanair not you use it and hope that they will return the total amount.
The reason we ask for the keys to customers is very simple, the key itself has written the address of the hostel and room number, if for any reason you lose the client poses a risk to the customer.
We value your opinion and would not hesitate to improve. From now on we include in the quality control protocol mention the smell of the pillows to not happen again.
Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed here in March and although the room was very basic and small, it was very clean and had a hair dryer which was handy. I did also stay in another hotel in Alicante and I wished I had stayed in the La Lonja as the location was very good, it didn't seem that way at first but if you want to be more away from the tourist restaurants and stuff, best not to be too close to the beach or harbour. This is located by the historic market building and so close to where the airport bus stops, you literally get off the bus at the stop Avada. Aldfonso X El Sabo,12 and you turn around walking a metre back and take the road on the left and you are on the Hostal road, literally 5 mins or less, bus is 2.90 euros. Also there is cafe next door to the Hostal and you can get a 3 course meal with drink for 7 euro or 6 at the bar! Also there is a lovely cafe and quite a good bar on the first road on the left as you walk up the road, just before the laundry mat on the right is a good bar and just after the laundry mat is a nice cafe for breakfast, which is pretty cheap. There is a square on the right as you walk up the hostal road where loads of people hang out on Saturdays, it seems a place to meet up for locals, the hostal is in a good location if you want to take in the atmosphere. If you are okay with basic, this is a good place to be

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lemondrizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan P, Gerente at Hostal La Lonja, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you very much for your opinion and the directions are very handy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Reasonable place. Great value in a good location. Couple of issues; the shower basin had a crack in it so when we had a shower the bathroom floor flooded.
Secondly the man on the desk gave our passport to another customer. We only noticed because he gave us the wrong one. When it was pointed it there was no apology, we were just told these things happen and that we should just wait until he got it back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank deaduncleted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Good central location, handy for airport bus, 10 minute walk to beach; rooms quite small and not to the highest standard but clean & tidy. Quite noisy and not much soundproofing, but it is outstanding value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tartanblindman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Bad things:
- Not so clean.
- Walls made out of paper, you heard everything!!! Even things from the other floors! Never before we woke up from a noise, this time though we did.
- Bed and pillow weren't good, pain in the back, we were glad we only stayed one night.
- Holes in bed sheets, toilet-holder fell off the wall, the room smelled (smoke), while you can't smoke?

Good things:
- Near City Centre.
- Free internet.
- We received a city-plan at the desk.
- There was a (small) TV in the room.

We didn't took the breakfast, so can't say anything about it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJ000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, and it was just perfect for what my girlfriend and I wanted. The room was clean, albeit rather small. It had a tv, but all channels are naturally all in spanish.
It's about a 15/20min walk to the train station, but it's all direct. I'd consider taking a taxi if you have bags. The beach isn't far at all, so it scored high on location. Staff area nice enough. It's a decent little place and a very good price too!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whitters80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

stayed here for 10 nights in July does what it says on the tin very clean fresh towels every day breakfast a toasted baguette or croissant fresh orange juice and coffee great location right in the city center only 10 mins from the beach c6 bus to airport outside only 2.70 euros also the local Mercado next door. l guess my only gripe would that the staff could speak more English not a lot spoken here but you get by

Room Tip: ask for rooms away from front of hotel as there is a road there and you do get some noise so go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robbiem22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Cabo de las Huertas
Hotel Mio Cid
Hotel Mio Cid
#29 of 50 in Alicante
265 reviews
Hotel Albahia
#13 of 50 in Alicante
623 reviews
Ibis Budget Alicante
#34 of 50 in Alicante
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Estudiotel Alicante
#26 of 50 in Alicante
205 reviews
Centro
Hotel Cervantes
Hotel Cervantes
#25 of 50 in Alicante
200 reviews
Ibis Hotel Alicante
#21 of 50 in Alicante
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Lonja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Lonja

Address: Calle Capitan Segarra 10, 03004 Alicante, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Alicante
Price Range: £22 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal La Lonja 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Hostal La Lonja" is located in the center of Alicante, really close (50 meters) to a public parking and 15 minutes walking from the beach. Free WIFI is available for ours guests in the whole building. All our room are private and have their own full bathroom, some with bathtube some with shower. Our hotel is in the vicinity of the historical "Mercado Central" and near the old town and the neighbourhood has all kind of services (supermarkets, restaurants, chemist, ...). All room, double or single, has full bathroom (bathtub or shower), tv, central heating and air conditioning. The extraordinary location of our hotel makes available to the traveller Alicante's public transport, which will make possible for him go to other beaches as "San Juan" beach or "El Campello" beach. Stands out the proximity of the C-6 bus stops, this bus line links directly "Alicante" and its airport ("El Altet"). TRAM's "Mercado" station is 4 minutes far walking (Google Maps information). The railway station is 13 minutes far walking (Google Maps information). Our agreement with "La Lonja" Bar-Restaurant, located in the same building, make possible for us offering you the breakfast included option. We work in La Lonja Hotel to make the stay of our guests as comfortable as it can be. Thats the reason why, from the moment you make your reservation to the last night of your visit, you are our priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hostal La Lonja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing