We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Salamnca”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Salamanca Bar - Restaurant
Ranked #632 of 1,298 Restaurants in Alicante
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
jalon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Salamnca”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Great and staff always friendly. In the summer we love the garden

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank helen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“all positives”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

visited this restaurant..not been for there for years. was greeted as long lost friends by helen,stephen and di...sat in courtyard and served courtiously.
choice was varied and we could have chosen all. they were so tempting and when starters arrived we were not dissapointed.
mains were top drawer and service with a smile. they were very busy but made sure you were ok drinks wise in between rushing around the tables.
could not fault anything here and another gem found. we shall return........nice one you guys.....george clooney says hi

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zimmyzimbabwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant”
Reviewed 25 June 2011

This restaurant is truly a treasure. We found it by chance but go back time and time again.
We even had Christmas lunch there.

The food is wonderful, a great selection and the staff are friendly and helpful. It is a restaurant that is great whether it is summer or winter and they have great themed food nights.

The selection and quality of the food is second to none on the Costa Blanca, and we will be going back time and time again.

Lee Gage

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rustie-Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
86 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lovely evening, a little on the expensive side tho.”
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We have lived in the area for 2 years and this was our first visit to the restaurant as we are trying to try a new place each time we eat out now.
Setting wise it is very strange, being in the residential street you really wouldn't think of looking down there for a restaurant at all....apart from the sign on the end of the road. Parking is a nightmare outside and you are far better off to park on the outskirts of the village by the petrol station and walk the short walk to the restaurant.

The ambience is very nice - a cosy feeling from the decor and lots of little rooms with tables so it didn't feel like some of the spanish canteens that you sometimes get out here. The menu was varied and we had a set menu which we chose potato skins (very very thin potato peelings, nice and light and crispy) and then chicken in a leek sauce followed by banoffee pie (very nice indeed!).

There were a lot of options to upgrade on your meal with additional supplements here and there.... 3 euros extra for the lamb ( which my brother found very tough) I think another 2.5 euros extra if you chose a pudding off the normal menu rather than the menu del dia listings...... which meant that the price would rocket up by quite a bit if they were chosen. I think the menu was about 19 euros when we went ( 3 course inc. bread, alioli and wine).
All in all a superb meal with good service, but expensive for inland. We would go there for special occasions, but as a general eating place the price was a little high.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kht1468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haworth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
Reviewed 23 February 2011

This lovely restaurant is set in the small town of Jalon and serves International Cuisine. I first ate there about 2 years ago in the lovely courtyard at the back. The food was superb and so, when visiting friends over there again this month, we decided to eat there again. We weren't disappointed - it was too cold to eat outdoors so we ate inside. The restaurant was originally a bordega and still has it's original stone walls and stain glass windows, etc., which, together with a roaring fire, dark wood and cosy areas to sit in created the perfect ambience in which to have a meal. The food itself from start to finish was excellent. I can definitely recomment the liver and onions, which was pre-ordered as I remembered how good it was the previous visit and the staff were only too happy to put it on as a special that evening especially for us. Starters were very tasty and the other main meals were cooked to perfection. I didn't really have room for a dessert but couldn't turn down the pavlova with homemade ice cream and fruit, it was delicious! The restaurant is up a residential street so you wouldn't know it was there if you hadn't been told, but it really is a little gem, so worth a visit and a must for anyone staying in that area of Spain. Although it was very quiet being a Winter month I believe it gets much busier in the Summer so it would be advisable to book.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HaworthHappywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salamanca Bar - Restaurant also viewed

 
Alicante, Costa Blanca
Alicante, Costa Blanca
 
Alicante, Costa Blanca
Alicante, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Salamanca Bar - Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing