We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel for a city break!”
Review of Melia Alicante

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melia Alicante
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quality hotel for a city break!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed in a double Melia room with a sea view on the 4th floor with the continental breakfast plan. The breakfast was the best I've had at any hotel I've stayed at previously. There is something for everyone, all of which was delicious. Over the 3 days there, I made sure to try it all! The room was very good with the sea view being quiet with only the sound of the sea- very relaxing. The bathroom was a good size, but the shower/tub could use with some updating (apparently the premium rooms have been recently updated, so maybe a better shower/tub). The reception staff were friendly enough but they were easily distracted by the phone so service was slow for check-ing and requesting towels for the pool at times, but the staff during breakfast were friendly and fabulous. For our short break, this was perfect. You won't get a better location.

We are a couple from England who went over during the May half-term,so there were many families there too, but the atmosphere was still very calm, although it did make it difficult to secure a chair at the pool for some tanning. They do offer an adult only floor, but I couldn't see a reason to pay extra for it. Our stay went undisturbed.

The quality breakfast, fantastic location, beautiful views and cost makes this hotel one of the best bargains with being far better than a bargain hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kabuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for reporting us your experience after your last stay at Meliá Alicante.

It is a real honour to know that you enjoyed it.

We hope we have the chance to meet you soon in our hotel and we remain at your disposal and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

María Tomás
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,738
    1,573
    609
    194
    100
See reviews for
947
1,959
145
505
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (869)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed in the Melia a second time lovely clean hotel, rooms spacious and well serviced, breakfast is great, enough to suit all tastes, lovely friendly staff, would definitely visit again. This hotel is perfectly placed to visit the tourist areas of Alicante, near to beach and the airport bus stops right outside

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Mrs. Debra,

Thank you very much for your time and for sharing with other TripAdvisor users your experience in Melia Alicante.

We are pleased to read that you really got relaxed in our hotel and you enjoyed our breakfast and room very much.
.
We will be glad to welcome you in a future and make your visit unforgettable.

Best regards,

María Tomás
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent 3 enjoyable days at the Melia. The hotel is well placed for local amenities including the castle and the harbour. This time we had an harbour view. It is a little noisier than a sea view but on The Level on the 5th floor, this isn't a problem.
We went for a suite at 52 sq. mtrs., double the size of a standard room. Lots and lots of space. Super King bed with extremely comfortable mattress. Dining table and chairs and 2 armchairs. Huge walk in dressing room with full length mirror and his and hers wardrobes with safe. Excellent bathroom with twin basins, large shower with multi jets, spa bath, toilet and bidet.
Free mini bar with beers, soft drinks and snacks restocked daily. Pod coffee maker. There is a turn down service with chocolates but this was missed on one of our nights.
We had a huge wrap around balcony with chairs, tables and loungers.
This time we went for half board and you can have lunch or dinner from the Menu of the Day. I am vegetarian and this was a bit of a problem although the Head Waiter was extremely helpful in coming up with some choices for me. My other half thoroughly enjoyed the food on offer.
There is also The Level Bar/ Lounge with free drinks and tapas. Breakfast can be eaten here although we chose to go to the main restaurant which had more choices for me.
The staff throughout are friendly and helpful. The Level has it's own reception area on the 5th floor which inevitably proves quicker.
We feel very comfortable in this hotel and I am sure we will return next year. The Level is not cheap but we like the advantages it provides.
One small issue. I thought I had left an item in our room. I emailed the hotel and got a prompt automated reply saying that person was on maternity leave and my email would be forwarded and dealt with promptly. No one ever got back to me. If someone is not available, their system should cope with this.
But all in all, a great stay.

Room Tip: The harbour view is interesting but is noisier because of the road. Not really an issue on the 5th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stevejdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you a lot for being so kind to take your time and to post a comment regarding your recent stay in our exclusive service The Level.

Please do not hesitate that we appreciate a lot all your nice words and the most important, we are proud to know that you had a wonderful stay with us!

For the next time, please contact with me in this direction maria.tomas@melia.com.

It would be a big pleasure to welcome you once again soon!

Kind regards,

María Tomás
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

A fantastic choice of stay in Alicante. The Meliá is a modern, clean, smart hotel with friendly helpful staff, fantastic views and in a perfect location next to the beach, by the marina and just a short walk from town. Comfy, quiet rooms, sea-view balconies and great quality breakfast.

Only slight weakness is the pool: it faces east and is surrounded by the hotel so doesn't get all-day sun and it's not a huge area and was busy by 10am when we stayed.

Would recommend and stay again if I was back in the area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YorkTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for having trusted in Melia Alicante for your last visit to the city and for being so kind to share your comments about your stay with us.

Please do not hesitate that it makes us extremely proud to know that we managed to exceed your expectations and that you had a pleasant stay.

All our team looks foward to meeting you again!

Best regards,

María Tomás
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikkeli, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We spent the week 21 on may with our friends in Alicante searching sun and warm. We found them both ,but at home in Finland same week was exeptional warm.....Bite...

Althoug ,we were very satisfied with the tidines of the hotel and very, very friendly staff.
The beach begun nearly under the balcony of our room with sea wiew.

Breakfast was miscellaneous and goodtasteing with fresh groceries.

And the best of all is the location of the hotel near by beech and old town. The tourists have not spoiled either.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better and if you will see the sea and hear the wawes, choose sea wiew room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kari2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your positive feedback about your last stay in Meliá Alicante.

As I can read from your lines, it seems you have enjoyed your stay among us and you have been really satisfied with our facilities, services, staff and location.

We truly hope that you come back in a near future.

Best resgards,

Mª Carmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

what a wonderful way to celebrate an anniversary together - after 50 years we felt more like honey-mooners. Everyone and everything was so friendly and delightful we seemed to be friends rather than customers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
2 Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Mr.Barry,

Thank you so much for your kind review.

We appreciate to hear that you enjoyed your annivesary in our hotel.

Please do not hesitate to contact me on your next arrival in order to welcome you personally.

Best regards,

Mª Carmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed in the Melia Alicante for 2 nights last week. We were having a special break away so decided to treat ourselves and book the Junior Suite. We telephoned through our booking as we were already staying in Spain and asked for a quiet room. On arrival the receptionist seemed confused and had trouble finding our reservation, we got there in the end after around 20 mins. Our room was disappointingly smaller than we expected for a suite and also very dated. There was a really strong aroma of smoke in both rooms and we specifically asked for a non smoking room. The floor had a lot of hair and dust on the floor which was very off putting. In the morning we could hear furniture being dragged around from upstairs both days and doors slamming and banging in the coridoors, so the soundproofing was practically non existant.

The sea view from the room was lovely and also from the breakfast room. But overall we were really disappointed and this was no where near a 4* experience.

Room Tip: Take some ear plugs and get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidecatalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for being so kind to take your time to transmit your opinion and to share with others about your experience in Meliá Alicante.

We regret to hear we have not reached your expectation, especially regarding for the room in which you have been allocated. We will take good notice of your impressions to try to avoid these incidents in the future.

We truly hope that you come back and give us another opportunity to reach your expectations.

Best regards,

Mª Carmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 49 in Alicante
1,456 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Alicante
#3 of 49 in Alicante
626 reviews
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#4 of 49 in Alicante
775 reviews
AC Hotel Alicante
#8 of 49 in Alicante
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Alicante

Property: Melia Alicante
Address: Plaza del Puerto 3, 03001 Alicante, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Ensanche Diputación
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Alicante
#1 Green Hotel in Alicante
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#4 Business Hotel in Alicante
#5 Family Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Alicante 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meliá Alicante has been open since 1973 and provides 545 rooms, all outward facing with views of Postiguet Beach or the marina. The hotel perfectly combines service for both business and leisure guests. Amongst its magnificent services and facilities, the hotel has 12 meeting and banqueting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 550 people, as well as an outdoor swimming pool, solarium, activities programme for children (in summer) and different dining spaces. The hotel also offers the exclusive The Level service (for adults only), a range of superior services and facilities, such as private reception and private breakfast buffet, and infinity pool for The Level guests with stunning sea views. The rooms are equipped with a welcome gift, bathrobe, slippers, pillow menu, bathroom amenities, kettle and the ironing of one item of clothing every day free of charge. The Level Junior Suites also have a Nespresso coffee maker, bathroom scales, iron and ironing board and Loewe bathroom amenities. The hotel also offers free WiFi and ADSL internet, as well as computer and printer services in the hall (with charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Melia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Alicante Hotel Alicante
Sol Melia Alicante
Alicante Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing