We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melia Alicante
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Bahia(Alicante)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Milan(Alicante)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Hospes Amerigo(Alicante)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (4,851)
Filter reviews
4,851 results
Traveller rating
2,063
1,756
691
219
122
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,063
1,756
691
219
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslevel loungelevel experienceterra restaurantfree barsea viewold townoverlooking the beachlarge hoteltapaspool areamain restaurantjunior suiteafternoon sunbuilding workfifth floorpaellastandard room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,885 - 1,890 of 4,851 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just back from a 5 day break in Alicante. Chose this Hotel mainly because of the perfect location and the fact of the Level experience! The hotel isn't a smart boutique hotel but it's position right with the beach and seaviews on one side and marina on the other more than made up for the slightly 70's appearance! The Level on the 5th floor has its own check in , small outdoor terrace and lounge with every drink available( all included in the room tariff) and superb snacks served at different times through the day. We more than made use of these facilities! Breakfast in the main restaurant was superb! Vast choices, fresh filter coffee brought to the table and attentive waiter service. We couldn't fault it. Small swimming pool and sun terrace but we could get loungers if we wanted them. The city had everything, we enjoyed walking to the Castle,the Promenade, the shopping centres,the museums,the beach and the many bars and restaurants. Very easy to catch the C6 city bus from Alicante airport directly to the Hotel, less expensive than a taxi and hardly anyone on it!
The only fault we could find was,the hotel entrance has an off putting smell of drains and some areas need a facelift but the hotel says it is being refurbished.
Would certainly return to Alicante and will definitely choose this hotel and a Level room again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnandjulie085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you a lot to take your time to post a comment about your recent stay in The Level at Melia Alicante.

We appreciate a lot all your comments both positive as well as negative ones as only by knowing the opinion of our guests we are able to be in a constant improvement.

We remain at your entire disposal and we look forward to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,

María Tomás
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We made our way to the Level room check in based on previous reviews and experience of not doing this in the Berlin equivalent. A sign would be helpful. Staff are very friendly and accommodating and the Level area is pleasant enough with adequate facilities and access to media, alcohol, other beverages and nibbles. Quite what might be supplied as a 'tapas' appears to vary so if you intend to 'fill yer boots' then some nights you will be disappointed and have to visit one of the many reasonably priced local restaurants. On occasion we returned to the hotel following such a local incursion to find a hot plate full of goodies that would have provided many a hearty meal going to waste. Perhaps communicating the intentions of the kitchen to the Level guest would achieve a better balance of food to demand? The layout of our room is a bit strange. I have to crab around a glass desk to get into bed and this makes my nightly toilet trip interesting. My darkness visualisation is not what it used to be. I cannot see any use for the stool under the TV other than staring at the TV from a short distance. The TV remote is held together with duct tape and as useful as a cucumber in a sword fight. we have resorted to web radio on iPad , which is not great. The minibar on the website indicates that soft drinks and snacks are included in the Level rate. why then include beers in the fridge without a price list? Are they included?

The best thing about our stay thus far has been the sunrise view (I couldn't sleep due to back pain) and I hope that any subsequent guests are lucky enough to experience this.

Room Tip: Marina facing for afternoon sun
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frosticle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent experience in The Level at Meliá Alicante.

We regret that there were some points which did not make you a positive impression.
Please do not hesitate that we take all your comments very seriously what help us to be in a constant improvement.

On the other hand, I would like to inform you that the mini bar in the Level rooms are included.

Finally, we are extremely proud to hear that you were impressed with our efficient service and that you had a wonderful get up.

It would be a big pleasure to welcome you once again soon!

Best regards,

María Tomás
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just come back from a few days relaxing here. Room was good, Marina side so lovely afternoon sun, think the beach side would be too chilly for evening drinks on the balcony! Breakfast was great, loads to choose from and good for vegetarians. Very close to the beach, no more than a couple of minutes walk and some lovely beach bars very close by. Didn't eat in the hotel as it was a bit corporate and lacking character

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sugaredpill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team of Meliá Alicante we would like to thank you for the time you took to share your positive opinion about your experience in our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate to hear that your expectations were met with our services and facilities and that you enjoyed.

Our appreciation again for sharing your experience and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Regards,

María Tomás
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Overall our stay was good, not great.

THE LEVEL
- The Front Desk staff seems too busy to handle people. Luckily we had our own Front Desk for "The Level" floor.
- The Level cost 25% more per night, but wasn't that great.
- It offers a small 3m X 3m open room with a view of the sea, which you can get from your room.
- The drinks selection is mid level quality, which is just fine.
- The food was just ok.

SERVICE
- I would rate it fair to poor.
- Except for Allina at The Level, who works 7AM to 2PM. Please do all your work with her.
- Silvia comes in later is not pleasant to work with and honestly she seems to not care whether she has helped you or not, she just wants to be done with you as soon as possible.
- Angela the maid on The Level floor is a darling and we loved talking with her.
- The lady checking you in for breakfast in the morning is also a darling.

SEASIDE or MARINA?
- Get the Seaside rooms. The Marina side isn't that pleasant to look at.
- Very noisy on the boardwalk on the Marina side so we switched rooms. Again, Allina was the best. She saved our weekend.

LOBBY
- Nice lobby, but there is a smell at the hotel that they need to work on.

WIFI
- Horrible. Bring a wire and plug into your laptop.

BREAKFAST
- WOW, what a view! This is why you stay at this hotel… Seaside view!
- Delicious Spanish food. Eggs cooked however you want them. Delicious pastries.
- Excellent staff!

ALICANTE CITY
- Take the double decker bus through the city. It will take you around the city and give you and idea of anything else you might want to do.
- We were lucky and saw that Les Miserables was playing.
- Warm people, lots of energy, good food, good drinks.

FINAL RECOMMENDATION
- If I return, I would book a Junior Suite on the 4th floor seaside, instead of paying more for a room above me on The Level.
- I would ask for manager if you're not getting good service from Front Desk. You are paying for it and deserve it.

Room Tip: Seaside Jr Suite.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cposso1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your comments; we believe it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our guests that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for.

We hope you visit us again and of course we will be very pleased to welcome you.

Kind regards,

María Tomás
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel is located in a very good location, although I didnt got a sea looking looking room, I managed to get a port looking room which was also good.....But I would suggest to get a sea looking room and it will be awesome......The Wifi wasn't good in the room where I stayed and also the buffet breakfast don't have that many options...........Apart from this the hotel was very good, you will be always greeted with smile from the people working there....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank Muthiah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Mr. Muthiah,

Thank you for taking your time to express your opinion about your stay in Meliá Alicante.

We regret that there were some points which did not make you a positive impression.
Please do not hesitate that we take all your comments very seriously what help us to be in a constant improvement.

It would be nice to see you here again and to get a chance to change your impression by offering our constant attention and efficient service.

Regards,

María Tomás
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews