We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our review” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Alicante

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Melia Alicante
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Whyteleafe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Excellent hotel right on the harbour with spectacular views and a minute walk from the beautiful beach.Has it's own pool with two lounge areas and fitness suite. Do wish they had kettles in the room for tea and coffe Takes around 15 minutes taxi ride from the airport for 20 Euros or 7.50 Euros on the bus. Breakfast was excellent standard with plenty of choices. Plenty of local places to eat - worth walking into Old Town for food, cheaper than the beach front - If you like a Latte ask for Coffee with Milk.

Take a trip to Aqua Land, Benidorm on the train - great fun.

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Berman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Mr. Berman,

First of all we would like to thanks you for the time that you have spent sending us your comments.

Your nice review will help others travelers that would like to come, so I would like to present you all of my appreciation.

I remain at your complete disposal and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

María Tomás
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,539
    1,446
    564
    178
    89
See reviews for
843
1,786
130
463
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (786)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a nice hotel facing the sea this might be something, but be aware that the level is not what you may expect.
The gym is really very small, there is often a weird smell which makes exercising not really comfortable. The room I had was fine, but I had to pay an upgrade to get it.
The service at check-in and -out is really cumbersome and slow. Nothing you would expect at a business hotel.
The spa, which isn't part of the hotel, but in the same building, is to be avoided. Prices are not low and the service is really just average. A manicure and pedicure is done without base and top coat, so literally it won't hold longer then a day or two.

Overall I wouldn't recommend the hotel.
Only plus the deck chairs and swimming pool.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mitochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Mr. Mitochi,

Thank you a lot for having trusted in us for your last visit to the city and for give us your opinion about your stay with us.

We are very sorry if your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Be sure that your comment will help us to keep improving our service and product.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in order to provide the best of our service to make your stay more comfortable.

Regards,

María Tomás
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel right on the harbour with spectacular views and a minute walk from the beautiful beach. What more could you ask for. Has it's own pool with two lounge areas and fitness suite. Takes around 15 minutes taxi ride from the airport. Even the breakfast was excellent standard with plenty of choices. Amazing stay!!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott1566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Mr. Scott,

Thank you for having trusted in Meliá Alicante for your last visit to the city and for being so kind to share your comments about your stay with us.

Please do not hesitate that it makes us extremely proud to know that we managed to exceed your expectations and that you had a pleasant stay with us.

The entire team will be very glad to welcome you soon!

Yours sincerely,

María Tomás
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

As part of a business trip I and my colleagues stayed few days in this hotel. The location is great next to the beach with lots of restaurants around. It is about 15 minutes walk away from the city center and the breakfast was great with lots of lots of options. The staff were very helpful too.

Room Tip: Get a see view to enjoy your stay even more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marko_Polo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Mr. Marko,

Thank you very much for so kind review and also for sharing it here with other travellers, we are sure it will be very useful for them.

We wait for you to come back to Meliá Alicante.

Best regards,

María Tomás
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This is a really good quality hotel from the Melia chain, located in the prime location in Alicante. It is sandwiched between the main beach and the new Marina area and is in easy walking distance of all the attractions of the old town. Huge range of restaurants within a few minutes and the main shopping areas just a little further.
The public bus C-6 runs every 20 minutes from the airport and the stop is right outside the hotel. The same stop is used to return to the airport as the bus is a circular route also including the main rail station with a flat fare of 3.85 per journey. From the hotel it is also an easy walk to the local rail station to Benidorm and Denia. There is also a tram through Alicante with a terminus again outside the hotel at the end of the main promenade.
Buffet breakfast in the hotel is first class and there is also an a la carte restaurant available. Over the summer the hotel is also offering a buffet dinner.
Premium Rooms are very well furnished and presented with style and flair on the 3rd floor but some other floors may not be so attractive. The 5th floor contains 'The Level' where for an even higher price, several complimentary facilities are also available.
One drawback is that there is only a rather small swimming pool and sun terrace but with a huge beach and ample sunbeds available right on the doorstep, this is not really a problem. The beach also has big areas where there is no charge. It is very popular with locals but there always seems to be plenty space for everyone. Swimming is excellent with very watchful lifeguards on duty. There is also a reassuring and friendly police presence along both the beach and the wide, attractive promenade.

Room Tip: Well worth the extra for the added style, comfort and finish of the Premium Rooms on the 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayrshire911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, many thanks for taking your time to share with other Tripadvisor users about your experience in Meliá Alicante.

We are hugely pleased to read that you enjoyed the service provided and were impressed by our Team. Their passion to deliver above and beyond and to exceed our guest expectations every day is the reason why we are proud of our profession.

We hope you visit us again and of course we will be very pleased to welcome you.

Kind regards,

María Tomás
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have visited Alicante a number of times now and this is the first time we stayed at the Melia. We stayed on The Level which is for adults only which has some good perks with it such as breakfast area just for the guests on this floor, bar with free drinks and snacks etc. Only disappointing points the service at (main) reception on arrival eg 3 receptionists 2 chatting to each other and one looking busy on the computer with no acknowledgement of our arrival...unless u get up at 7 and put a towel on a bed by the pool...forget it. We had to ask 3 times for an iron and were eventually offered a travel iron without a board which was about as much use as a chocolate teapot - top tip then: ask for an iron in the morning! That said, the room and service on "the level" were excellent and well worth the extra £s.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KBW175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you took in writing your impressions about our Meliá Alicante on TripAdvisor after your recent visit.

Do not doubt that we take very seriously all the comments we receive from our guests and we work day by day in order to keep improving our hotel and service.

All our team hopes to get an opportunity to welcome you here again soon!

Best regards,

María Tomás
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband and we decided to go for a room on 'The Level' this is well worth doing - there is a seperate checkin/ reception desk located on the level which meant no queue at check in downstairs which was very busy. And you also get access to the level lounge where there has an excellent selection of alcoholic and soft drinks that you can help yourself to throughout the day (10:30am- 10:30pm) also canapés are provided at times throughout the day. You can also choose to have breakfast in this area , which we did as although it did not have the huge selection on offer in the buffet breakfast it still had a selection of cereals, tea coffee, juices, fruit, breads , pastries , scrambled egg and bacon and was more relaxed with no queues any time during our stay. The room was clean, the bed and pillows were very comfortable and the bathroom is kept stocked up with complimentary toiletries such as shampoo, bath gel , small toothpaste etc. We had a seaview which also overlooked the pool . The pool is my only criticism of the hotel..... It is far too busy to cope with the demand for sun loungers! Although everywhere around the pool it states you cannot reserve a lounger this is not policed before 10am when the lifeguard starts duty so people do reserve loungers , from my balcony I could see people reserving from as early as 7:45 and by 9 o clock they are ALL reserved but no one using them until later. When the lifeguard does come on duty he does attempt to keep track and remove towels when he observes loungers unoccupied , but his times are inconsistent ( my husband needed the bathroom one day and he attempted to remove the towel within 2 minutes of him leaving ) some removed after 10 whilst others left an hour! people are scattered across the pool area waiting for the loungers to become available, when one does a scene worthy of Pickfords will commence to get the loungers to a suitable position! There is another sun area on the marina side , but all the loungers are gone from there too..... Most of them taken and scattered in any space possible on poolside! This meant it was not as relaxed as I would expect a pool area to be in this standard of hotel. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel is well located to get to the beach , shops bars and restaurants.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank toffeesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for spending a few minutes of your time, to write about your last stay in our hotel.

We are very proud to know that your experience in Meliá Alicante satisfied your expectations. Be sure that we will share your comments with all our staff.

We are really pleased that you have had an impressive stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

King Regards,

María Tomás
Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 49 in Alicante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#3 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
NH Alicante
#4 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Alicante

Property: Melia Alicante
Address: Plaza del Puerto 3, 03001 Alicante, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Ensanche Diputación
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Alicante
#1 Green Hotel in Alicante
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#4 Business Hotel in Alicante
#5 Family Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Alicante 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meliá Alicante has been open since 1973 and provides 545 rooms, all outward facing with views of Postiguet Beach or the marina. The hotel perfectly combines service for both business and leisure guests. Amongst its magnificent services and facilities, the hotel has 12 meeting and banqueting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 550 people, as well as an outdoor swimming pool, solarium, activities programme for children (in summer) and different dining spaces. The hotel also offers the exclusive The Level service (for adults only), a range of superior services and facilities, such as private reception and private breakfast buffet, and infinity pool for The Level guests with stunning sea views. The rooms are equipped with a welcome gift, bathrobe, slippers, pillow menu, bathroom amenities, kettle and the ironing of one item of clothing every day free of charge. The Level Junior Suites also have a Nespresso coffee maker, bathroom scales, iron and ironing board and Loewe bathroom amenities. The hotel also offers free WiFi and ADSL internet, as well as computer and printer services in the hall (with charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Melia and TravelUp so you can book your Melia Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Alicante Hotel Alicante
Sol Melia Alicante
Alicante Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing