We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid during san juan festival”
Review of Melia Alicante

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Alicante
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 July 2014

visited hotel at end of june,prior to collecting family member from airport the next day,booked into "the level",top floor rooms with separate access and 24 hour lounge,,sea view rooms etc,worth the small extra cost! hoever we were not advised when booking that for 4 nights during the festival san juan which is celebrated throughout alicante, that from midnight till at least 4 am it is impossible to avoid the noise (boom boom music?)that completely engulfs the entire area!We realize this is not the fault of the hotel,but if informed at the time of booking that you would be unable to sleep in the otherwise comfortable bed,we would not have stayed there. At 4 am went to the reception area and the night manager confirmed that all had dealt with from midnight was complaints from residents at 4am there were probably more hotel guests awake than revellers on the beaches! So unless you want to join in avoid for 4 nights during the festival

Room Tip: "the level"facility is worth paying a little more for if only to avoid the busy and crowde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank valerie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Valerie,

Thank you for taking your time to write the review.

We are very sorry for the inconvenience you have had during your stay. We want to point out that it was something absolutely exceptional that has nothing to do with the calm that we usually offer to our guests.

On the other hand, we are pleased to read that you have enjoyed the service provided on The Level.

We sincerely hope that we have the chance to welcome you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Mª Carmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,673 - 1,679 of 4,578 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Excellent hotel for a short and relaxing holiday with its nearby beach and many local restaurants in the neighbourhood. Great service. Very nice personell, specially those working with cleaning the rooms and the room servants. They had always time for a "buenos dias" or a "buenos tardes".

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Harald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Harald,

Thank you very much for such a nice review.

We are so pleased to read that you have had a great stay at Meliá Alicante and that you really appreciate the quality of our service, all the staff at the hotel always try to satisfy our guests’ needs with the best of our smiles and as we can read from your lines we have achieve your expectations!

We all hope to see you on your next holidays.

Best regards,

Mª Carmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

It's centrally placed and it has everything but because it's a huge, gauche 1970s construction it lacks style. Some areas look very tired and in need of renovation. Service is good, room was fine (refurbished) & the breakfast is fabulous with 180 degree see views. If you want to sunbathe and swim, it's perfect as it's right next to the beach and harbour. Two minutes stroll from the old town. Pleasant staff but I will stay somewhere more Spanish and less impersonal next time.

Room Tip: Floor five and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JoyY13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time in writting a review about your last stay at Meliá Alicante.

Reference your comments, I would like to point out that the hotel is in a process of improving facilities and rooms, in fact, we have recently refurbished the third floor.

On the other hand, I am really glad to read that you have enjoyed your holidays.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back and allocate you in our Premium rooms.

Kind regards,

Mª Carmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A very nice hotel, very quick check in, professional staff. Try to book a premium room as they have recently been renovated. The breakfast is good quality with a great choice and views over the beach.


Highly recommended.

Room Tip: get a premium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank michael140682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Michael,

Thank your very much for your updated comment.

We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our Premium rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind regards,

Mª Carmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This fabulous modern, clean hotel is suitable for couples and families of all ages that want to explore Alicante.
If available I recommended you stay on The Level - 5th Floor. The complementary extras are excellent in the bar area and you get fantastic views of the med from there.
Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms are cleaned to a high standard on a daily basis.
Superb. Would go back there!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buckleylol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and it is a pleasure for us to know that you were delighted with The Level and our staff. We are constantly working on providing our very best services for our guests, and we are glad to see that our attempts are appreciated.

We hope you visit us again and of course we will be very pleased to welcome you.

Kind regards,

Mª Carmen Benito.
Guest Experience Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Melia Alicante is been there for many many years . The hotel location is super right in the port with beautiful view of the city , the beach , the port and la esplanada. Walking distance of most of the attractions . the common areas are great, the spa and the hotel service i do not have complaints. check in was fast. the front desk personal is really helpful . i need to send some clothes to be dry clean for an special ocassion last night and the service was fast and efficient. we also were upgraded to a suite with a beautiful view of the beach . But the hotel is lacking in the rooms. the suite was definitely big but furniture are old and bad quality. the bed and pillows are not comfortable at all and the bathroom is basic and small. In general rooms need to be upgraded and this hotel will be great. But as I have said there are not many more options in the city and this one will be the more upscale

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pethabmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments reference our Hotel Meliá Alicante. Tripadvisor is a very useful tool not only for travelers but also for us who wants to know more about our guests.

Regarding about your comments for improve our room, we take note about it and we can tell you that our Hotel is being refurbished year by year. In fact, the third floor have been refurbished recently.

On the other hand, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed all the services and facilities, and also you appreciate the service offer by our staff at the reception.

We hope you come back to our Hotel and we encourage you to reserve our Premium rooms.

Best regards,

Mª Carmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Views of sea nice but again not side by side for family of 5. Our 3 kids are way down the corridor ( we are 99 and they are 55). Buffet breakfast included which is ok. Buffet dinner pricey at 25 euro each but having teenage boys they got their money's worth! Need more English explanation re beach towel service from reception which isn't explained. Beach, 6 euro for an umbrella and 6 euro for a sunbed so for a family of 5 from Australia who are used to paying zip for our beautiful beaches, bit of a shock to be hit up for 42 euro. Watch them though as they can't add up and asked for 48 euro! Overall, average.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 45,743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We really appreciate your comments, we do take them into account in order to keep improving our service, ensuring a good quality service and guest satisfaction.

All our team hopes to get an opportunity to welcome you here again soon.

Kind regards,

Mª Carmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 50 in Alicante
1,544 reviews
NH Alicante
#2 of 50 in Alicante
683 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Maya Alicante
#8 of 50 in Alicante
1,308 reviews
B&B Hotel Alicante
#26 of 50 in Alicante
442 reviews
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#4 of 50 in Alicante
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Alicante

Address: Plaza del Puerto 3, 03001 Alicante, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Ensanche Diputación
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Alicante
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Alicante
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#4 Business Hotel in Alicante
#5 Family Hotel in Alicante
Price Range: £64 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Alicante 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meliá Alicante has been open since 1973 and provides 545 rooms, all outward facing with views of Postiguet Beach or the marina. The hotel perfectly combines service for both business and leisure guests. Amongst its magnificent services and facilities, the hotel has 12 meeting and banqueting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 550 people, as well as an outdoor swimming pool, solarium, activities programme for children (in summer) and different dining spaces. The hotel also offers the exclusive The Level service (for adults only), a range of superior services and facilities, such as private reception and private breakfast buffet, and infinity pool for The Level guests with stunning sea views. The rooms are equipped with a welcome gift, bathrobe, slippers, pillow menu, bathroom amenities, kettle and the ironing of one item of clothing every day free of charge. The Level Junior Suites also have a Nespresso coffee maker, bathroom scales, iron and ironing board and Loewe bathroom amenities. The hotel also offers free WiFi and ADSL internet, as well as computer and printer services in the hall (with charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Melia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Alicante Hotel Alicante
Sol Melia Alicante
Alicante Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing