We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second vist and still pretty good”
Review of Melia Alicante

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Alicante
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bromley, Kent
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“second vist and still pretty good”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Second time here in a few months, and discovered a big difference between the refurbished rooms (3rd floor) and the one we stayed in last time on the 4th floor. Its only when you see the refurbished ones that you realise that the others are a bit shabby.
The big selling point here are the views and you really can't get better than the seaview rooms. Its absolutely lovely lying in bed in the morning with the balcony doors open and hearing the waves.
We included breakfast this time and its excellent, from cakes and waffles to paella and spanish omlette you can have it all here. The dining room is huge, lots of tables have sea views and there is an oudoor area. My husband particularly enjoyed the donut type cake that looked unfortunately like something that a dog might have left behind.
As mentioned elsewhere the entrance area does smell somewhat of drains but as there was nobody there playing the grand piano there's no reason to linger there.
The bars could be better - the one by the pool is very small and the one in the lobby has no atmosphere and no windows. But there are plenty of bars a short walk away.
The reception staff member was very pleasant at check-in, changing the allocated room of one of our party to one that wasn't over the pool and had more of a side sea view.
Its not a luxury hotel so don't expect it, but its good.

Room Tip: refurbished rooms much nicer but more expensive. for a sea view room don't get one in the v shap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faddywaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear guest,

It has been very kind of you, that you took the time to let us know about our amazing experience!

Regarding to your comments, we are working about finish with the smell, which proceed of the street. We apologize for any inconvenience caused.

In other hand we appreciate your lovely words used to describe our sea views, breakfast time and the reception staff.

It would be a pleasure for all the Melia team to welcome you back in a near future.

Best regards,

MªCarmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,735
    1,569
    609
    194
    100
See reviews for
946
1,956
145
505
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (866)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed there for 8 nights. Hotel location is excellent, a few mns away from the beach and the pier. We had a superior room which was completely renovated and clean. There was an awful smell in the hotel lobby which was covered by air fresheners or deodorizers which made the smell even worse. Hotel staff were spraying air fresheners in the corridors on all floors and it was a nauseating smell. the pool is minuscule compared to the number of rooms in the hotel. If you arrive after 9 AM, you'd have to queue to have breakfast. Free wifi but very slow and in some areas you cannot connect. Not a children friendly hotel. There is a kids play area but not up to standards.

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlouchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing here your personal experience.

Regarding to your comments, we are working about finish with the smell, which proceed of the street. We apologize for any inconvenience caused. We are very sorry if your experience with us was not as pleasant as we would love.

In other hand, I would like to thank you for your kind words about our location and our premium rooms.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in order to provide the best of our service to make your stay more comfortable.

Best regards,

MªCarmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The reviews were good,so we booked a night here before returning to Scotland,and being familiar with the city,it's a short walk to all the evening festivities and restaurants. The difference between a hotel advertised as 4 star in Spain and UK is vast - this is the equivalent of a package hotel on a resort,with a breakfast room the size of Wembley,also used for the evening 'buffet' if you're daft enough to go there rather than the hundreds of better places in downtown.The lifts were slow and were always queued; the air con,the noisiest we've ever encountered;and the general standard of finish all over was 3rd rate.Do the Spanish mind? Probably not, as you're right on the beach too,but we won't be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockin ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent sending us your comments.

We are deeply sorry to read that your impression about our hotel was not as pleasant as we wished. Do not doubt that we take very seriously all the comments and suggestions we receive from our guest and we work day bay day in order to keep improving our hotel and service.

We truly hope that you come back and give us another opportunity to reach your expectation.

Best regards,

Mª Carmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Booked 2suites-hotel reception staff slow and uninterested in our custom, being first time guests. Suites small decker of rooms tired old fashioned and badly in need of revamp! Memo eyes paid for a weeks stay overpriced for quality of room and service we got! Would definetly not rush back. Going back too salou to suite that is spacious and nicely decorated and where sltaff appreciate custom!

Room Tip: The level apparently?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gez171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for spent your time in your review.

We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with all our service. Do not hesitate that every single comment will be carefully analyzed.

We will appreciate if you may reconsider to give us another opportunity to welcome you again, in order to provide you with our best service and recover your trust in our hotel.

Best regards,

Mª Carmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed her for 2 nights in July for a short weekend. Excellent location between the marina and the main beach. Views from both side of the hotel are fantastic. Also near new development of marina facing restaurants and clubs and very close to the main promenade area where there are many good restaurants and bars. Check in was efficient. Car park was full when we arrived at nearly midnight but car park staff took the keys and found a space. Room was on the "executive " floor and was very nicely furnished and the bathroom was spacious and well equipped. Nice balcony overlooking the marina that caught the afternoon sun. Nice small lounge with complimentary snacks and beer and wine. Easy walk to beach, city centre and the main castle area. The downsides - it's ugly, shame something more imaginative wasn't built in such a prime spot, the breakfast area is of industrial size and business. Lovely large breakfast room with great views bit everyone goes at the same time creating ling queues and much noise. The pool area is inadequate. Small pool mostly in the shade and not enough sun loungers or even deck area - the beach is right next to the hotel though.

Room Tip: Rooms of the beach or the marina are both good but try and avoid those rooms in the V shaped part of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Mr. Chris,

Thank you for reporting us your experience after your last stay at Melia!

We take account your suggestion in order to improve our service. Tripadvisor is a very useful tool not only for travelers bus also for us.

In other hand, we are pleased to know that you have been satisfied with our fantastic view, your room and breakfast time.

It would be a pleasure for all the Melia team to welcome you back in a near future.

Best regards,

Mª Carmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just stayed 1st to 4th august on the level, at this hotel, the whole experience was great, check in and check out was smooth go straight to 5th floor, room good, bathroom and toiletries were excellent, free mini fridge was a nice bonus. House keeping was very good. We really enjoyed chilling with a drink before we went out, afternoon and evening, also enjoyed the snacks laid out, the level experience was definitely worth the extra no queues, just added that special touch to a great mini break. Everyone was very friendly and helpful but must say Alina on reception on the level is exceptional definitely a bonus for this hotel. Great location, great hotel, great holiday will definitely go back and stay on the level. Worth every penny!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Mrs. Lesley,

Thank you a lot for taking your time to post a comment in Tripadvisor.

We appreciate to hear that your expectations were met with our services and facilities on The Level.

Also, thank you for your fine words for our staff, we will pass on your positive comments.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mª Carmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just returned from my third visit to this excellent hotel, the first two I went with a group of mates for a weekend break this visit I made with my wife and the hotel was suitable for both. On my latest trip we stayed on the Level, and would recommend this to anyone contemplating a visit. Separate check in facility, just go straight to the 5th floor, and we were able to check in at 11:30am with no issues making the first day so much easier. Complementary drinks available throughout the day with snacks served at various times. You can also have breakfast here instead of the main restaurant. The staff throughout the hotel are extremely polite and friendly and only to happy to help if you have any issues. One slightly negative comment as mentioned by others is the pool area is small for the number of guests but not an easy issue to resolve and the beach is only a couple of minutes walk.
The hotel is really convenient for getting into the center of Alicante with it's vast array of restaurants and bars or for strolling round the marina and watching the people go by. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra and stay on the Level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffDennison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Alicante, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for such a nice review written in Tripadvisor and in this way to share with others about your experience on our exclusive The Level floor.

All our team, especially The Level staff, is very proud to hear that you had a wonderful stay. The satisfaction of our guests is the most important criterion we consider to be, so we are really glad to know that we managed to succeed it.

You will be really welcome at Meliá Alicante.

Kind regards,

Mª Carmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 49 in Alicante
1,454 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Alicante
#3 of 49 in Alicante
625 reviews
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#4 of 49 in Alicante
775 reviews
AC Hotel Alicante
#8 of 49 in Alicante
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Alicante

Property: Melia Alicante
Address: Plaza del Puerto 3, 03001 Alicante, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Ensanche Diputación
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Alicante
#1 Green Hotel in Alicante
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#4 Business Hotel in Alicante
#5 Family Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Alicante 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meliá Alicante has been open since 1973 and provides 545 rooms, all outward facing with views of Postiguet Beach or the marina. The hotel perfectly combines service for both business and leisure guests. Amongst its magnificent services and facilities, the hotel has 12 meeting and banqueting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 550 people, as well as an outdoor swimming pool, solarium, activities programme for children (in summer) and different dining spaces. The hotel also offers the exclusive The Level service (for adults only), a range of superior services and facilities, such as private reception and private breakfast buffet, and infinity pool for The Level guests with stunning sea views. The rooms are equipped with a welcome gift, bathrobe, slippers, pillow menu, bathroom amenities, kettle and the ironing of one item of clothing every day free of charge. The Level Junior Suites also have a Nespresso coffee maker, bathroom scales, iron and ironing board and Loewe bathroom amenities. The hotel also offers free WiFi and ADSL internet, as well as computer and printer services in the hall (with charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Melia, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Alicante Hotel Alicante
Sol Melia Alicante
Alicante Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing