We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Melia Alicante”
Review of Melia Alicante

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Alicante
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Hotel is so central, next to the beach and only steps away from bars and restaurants. Beautiful large cool reception area. No fuss checking in. I stayed on the 5th floor (The Level), well worth paying the extra. Free snacks/drinks from mini bar in room which were restocked every day. Room beautifully decorated. Large bathroom with Jacuzzi bath and fabulous shower with different level settings. Shampoos/conditioners/toothbrushes/razors supplied daily also. Free private bar on this floor also for 'the level guests'. Breakfast had something for every ones taste. Towels for pool/beach provided on a daily basis if required. Did find pool area disappointing but not a problem as beach so close. Would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely return. All staff very friendly and helpful if required.

Room Tip: Pay the extra in order to stay on the level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MSR186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your positive feedback about some points of our Hotel and our staff.

We are proud to know that you have enjoyed the facilities and the rooms offered on The Level. Be sure that we will share your comments with all our staff.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again!

Best regards,

MªCarmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,616 - 1,622 of 4,522 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stayed here with my teenage son and daughter on a last minute half board basis for 3 nights and we had a great break, the hotel is lovely and clean, the food was good lots of choice and the staff were very friendly. We had a room on the 2nd floor over looking the harbour which was great, there,s lots going on around the hotel its in a good location, the market starts in front of the hotel which some stalls open around mid-day and stay open to the evening , you can find lots of skilled craft stalls and pottery . The city centre is about 10 minutes walk with great shops and cafes, they have a great bus service we got the local bus from outside the airport and the melia is just across from the 3rd stop, it only cost 3.70 each and was easy enough. Going back to the airport we got a taxi which cost 18 euro which again was easy has they que outside the Melia. We got sunbeds by the pool only because were up early, you have to be there before 10 really for a sunbed . there were plenty of taken beds on the terrace , it was really busy has we stayed from the 6th to 9th of august it was very hot and the pool area offers alot of shaded area and the air con had plenty of use. Would we stay here and recommend this hotel YES .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank hayley e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Hayley,

Thank you for reporting us your experience after your last stay at Meliá! It is a real honor to know that you enjoyed it!

It is a pleasure for us to know that our customers feel comfortable and glad with our location and we very much appreciate your kind words about our staff, because this is the main goal of our Hotel and our Company.

All our team hopes to get an opportunity to welcome you here again soon!

Best regards,

MªCarmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have stayed here many times always on The Level. alicante is a great place to enjoy many different foods. Great location and fab hotel tKe the tour red bus round the city it's a bit scary going up to the Castle but the drivers know what they Are doing you can get the lift bsck down which I do recommend

Room Tip: I live beside the sea so sea view does nothing for me on holidays but if you don't have that pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Deborah,

It has been very kind of you, that you took the time to let us know about your amazing experience.

We are very happy to know that you enjoy another time in The Level, and you can appreciate our great location.

It would be a pleasure for all the Melia team to welcome you back in a near future.

Best regards,

MªCarmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

This is, in my opinion (and I travel a lot), an old three star hotel, sold as a four star.

Was staying at "The Levels", the premium choice.

Clean hotel, ok service, great location, great view from my room. Ok pool area.

BUT, pretty much everything else was bad. First of all - the rooms were so old and did't look even close to the pictures which probably were taken a long time ago - really, really dissappointing. The balcony had a fence that was almost falling apart. There was a free minibar but almost nothing in it - would have preferred to pay for better/more options. The aircond was too loud and the lowest level was still too cold. The roomservice phone operator spoke terrible English and it sometimes took us four or five calls to sort out one order. I would not reccomend this hotel to anyone, especially not for this price.

Last night I changed to a two star hotel which was absolutely great in every way and only €65 for the double bed suite at an even better location 5-7 minutes away. It pays to look around.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Anders N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write the review, we really appreciate it.

We regret to know that your experience with us was not as pleasant as we would love. Do not doubt that we take very seriously all the comments and suggestions we receive from our guest and we work day by day in order to keep improving our hotel and service.

In other hand, it is great to hear that you enjoy our views, location and our good service.
We would be glad to have the opportunity to receive you once again in our Hotel and change your last impression.

Best regards,

MªCarmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed with my family for 3 nights. Was upgraded to 2 premium rooms on arrival. On level 3 they were positioned at the end of a large corridor with magnificent views of the harbour and beach. The family room was 2 rooms one with a lovely large bed and the other a couch which became a bed. Looked okay until we decided to move the couch to the other wall. Shock when we removed it, the floor underneath the bed was filthy, crawlies crisps rubbish, never been moved for ages. Also the bed had food lodges on the edges of the cushions and a dirty used counterpane on. Not what I expected from 4 star hotel. Immediately called in a lovely maid who cleaned it. But glad we did move the bed or else would not have seen this. Do they never clean under beds I ask? Apparently the maids are not allowed to make these beds up for weight???

Anyway still enjoyed our stay, but not much of a apology from Hotel, a bottle of wine would have been appreciated take note.

The Hotel is manic at breakfast round about 9.30 long queues waiting for tables. Nice choices but think breakfast time should be extended to 11.00am.

Pool area all taken very quickly but beach handy although expensive for beds.
Perfect location for everything, Car Parking about 21 euros a day but safe.

Room Tip: Corner suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JudyxxxPunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time that you have spent sending us your comments.

Our apologies for the inconvenience you have had in your stay. Do not doubt that we take very seriously the comments to work day by day in order to keep improving our service.

In the other hand, it is great to hear that you like our location and you can enjoy this advantage.

We hope we have the chance to meet you soon in our hotel!

Best regards,

Mº Carmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We are currently staying at the melia alicante on the level, superb location fabulous staff, before we arrived we had not realised that besides the free mini bar in your room the fabulous level guests lounge area provides a lovely selection of alcoholic drinks and tapas snacks completely free of charge.the hotel is really friendly and in a superb location, so much to see day and night already searching out flight's for a re - visit

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank GRAHAM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Graham,

Thank you very much for your review.

It is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in Meliá Alicante and it is a pleasure for us to know that you were delighted with The Level, our location and our staff.

We are constantly working on providing our very best services for our guests, and we are glad to see that our attempts are appreciated.

The entire team will be very glad to welcome you soon.

Kind regards,

María Tomás
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is our second stay in this hotel. More satisfied this time. Stayed in a juniour suite (nr 2079) which was very well equipped: two bathrooms (one with bath, sink and toilet, the other one with sink and toilet), bedroom with large, comfortable double bed, sittingroom with entrance to a nice balcony towards the sea. Lovely. Breakfast crowdy, but well organized. Expensive but excellent selection of everything. We were there in the beg. og August which was a rather hot period. We were so happy with the air con. Worked very effeciently (even had to turn it off sometimes!!) Swimming pool area is nice, though there is a problem. People "reserve" the best located sunbeds from 0830 in the morning by putting their towls on the beds. Some of the reservers don't show up before 11- 1130. Something should be done about this. Otherwise...... quick check in/check out :-). Avoid check out around 10.30-11.30 if you can. Will I return? YES.

Room Tip: Room towards east (pool and sea) have sun in the morning. It is an advantage in the summer beacause...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback.

In reference to your comments about the sunbeds being reserved, we assure you that we are working to improve this service because as you know, it is forbidden to reserve sunbeds.

In other hand, we appreciate to hear that your expectations were met with our services and facilities and that you enjoyed especially our sea views and air conditioning.

We hope you visit us again and of course we will be very pleased to welcome you.

Best regards,

Mº Carmen Benito
Guest Experience Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 50 in Alicante
1,525 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
NH Alicante
#2 of 50 in Alicante
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Maya Alicante
#8 of 50 in Alicante
1,269 reviews
B&B Hotel Alicante
#25 of 50 in Alicante
437 reviews
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#4 of 50 in Alicante
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Alicante

Address: Plaza del Puerto 3, 03001 Alicante, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Ensanche Diputación
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Alicante
#1 Green Hotel in Alicante
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#4 Business Hotel in Alicante
#5 Family Hotel in Alicante
Price Range: £73 - £393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Alicante 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meliá Alicante has been open since 1973 and provides 545 rooms, all outward facing with views of Postiguet Beach or the marina. The hotel perfectly combines service for both business and leisure guests. Amongst its magnificent services and facilities, the hotel has 12 meeting and banqueting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 550 people, as well as an outdoor swimming pool, solarium, activities programme for children (in summer) and different dining spaces. The hotel also offers the exclusive The Level service (for adults only), a range of superior services and facilities, such as private reception and private breakfast buffet, and infinity pool for The Level guests with stunning sea views. The rooms are equipped with a welcome gift, bathrobe, slippers, pillow menu, bathroom amenities, kettle and the ironing of one item of clothing every day free of charge. The Level Junior Suites also have a Nespresso coffee maker, bathroom scales, iron and ironing board and Loewe bathroom amenities. The hotel also offers free WiFi and ADSL internet, as well as computer and printer services in the hall (with charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Melia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Alicante Hotel Alicante
Sol Melia Alicante
Alicante Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing