We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a great location!!!”
Review of Melia Alicante

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Alicante
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Visited Alicante and this hotel for the last three years for my girlfriends birthday.
Planning to visit again in 2015

Good breakfast, and the level experience is a must :-)

Great place for a long weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Mr Mark,

We appreciate to hear about your last stay in our hotel.

We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed our services in The Level.

You will be really welcome in the future.

Best regards,

Maria Tomás
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,604 - 1,610 of 4,522 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

The location is absolutly perfect, the marina on one side and the beach on the other. Walking distance to the old town, and city center.
The lobby is very big but welcomning, and the reception staff are very friendly and attentative. Lobby bar is nice with superb service.
Rooms and bathroom are spacious and clean. Beds are a bit on the firm side, for my taste anyway. I stayed at the "level", with a nice superior room with balcony overlooking the beach and sea.

Room Tip: opt for superior rooms, or on the "level" so you can enjoy the balcony and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank plummer074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the time you took in writing your impressions about our hotel on Tripadvisor after your recent visit.

It is always a great pleasure to read comments like yours and see that you enjoyed the lobby bar and the excellent location.

The entire team will be vey glad to welcome you soon.

Best regards,

Maria Tomás
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Just back from a weekend break in Alicante. Why Alicante you may ask? Well we really didn't want to fly for more than two and a half hours and left from our local airport (Liverpool) We searched the internet and found the Melia Alicante. It looked to be in a perfect position, with the beach on one side and the marina on the other side.We arrived on the Friday night and booked in at reception where the staff where absolutely superb. Asking if we had been before, which parts of Spain we had been to and where else in the world we had travelled to. They where very attentive and after five minutes gave us our swipe cards for the room and directed us there. The room we had booked was with a sea view and was only about £10 extra per person, but with this you got breakfast in the buffet dining room. The food was first class. At reception we where told that we could get towels for the beach so this was an added bonus. Situated in the Hotel is its own Tapas bar, we looked in and it looked fabulous, but unfortunately we did not have enough time to dine there. The bar in reception was spotless and the bar staff excellent. The main entrance outside the Hotel is a great space for people who smoke to enjoy a drink, whilst sitting on the comfortable patio settees. I could go on and on about this hotel, but really you should try it for yourselves. The location is great and the shopping centres are about five minutes walk away. Always something going on at all times of the year, can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Opt for a room with a sea view, as breakfast is included
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Mr Tony,

Thank you very much for your posiitives comments written on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much appreciate your kind words about our staff, food and the location. These words encourage all of our staff to continue working every day better.

We hope to see you again in your next holidays!

Best regards,

Maria Tomás
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Positives: nice hotel, great location, good breakfast, great views from some rooms, friendly staff.
Negatives: some rooms have poor view( we asked for a different room after first was on 2 nd floor and had no view), unless you have opted for a premium room you will get the old style rooms which are dated. Busy reception so have to wait to be checked in/ out.
Breakfast is too busy. Have to wait for a table in line! I have never had to do this! WORST problem is the lack of sunbeds. Guests save them. You can save them for hours/ all day and nothing is done at all. There are no signs up to warn guests and so unless you join in with this, you will struggle to get one. Also, pool area is full of kids. It is not a relaxing area for guests without children.
Alicante is nice. Loads of places to eat and drink and reasonably priced ( 2 euros ish for wine and a similar price for beer if you look around). Castle is nice, art gallery poor!
Would I recommend? Yes if you are not bothered about kids running around or have kids. Try and get the level rooms as I guess it is much better up there!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank 187048Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dea Guest,

Thank you for sharing here your personal experience among us and also for having chosen Meliá Alicante to spend your holidays in Alicante.

We are deeply sorry to read that your impression about our hotel was not as pleasant as we wished.

We really appreciate your comments, we do take them into account in order to keep improving our service, ensuring a good quality service and guest satisfation.

The entire team will be very glad to have a chance to receive you again in our hotel in order to change your impressions. Please do not hesitate to contact me in order to welcome you personally.

María Tomás
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed here during the holidays in August for 4 days, the location was the best, right next the beach and opposite the main tourist esplanade.
The family room we got was average, old and outdated but the ocean views were stunning.
The 2nd best thing about this hotel is the breakfast, a huge dining room with stunning views on the beach, one of the best equipped buffets I have experienced. Huge selection of everything, the Spanish meats/Jamon, chorizo, tortilla, paella, cheeze and fruit selection is fantastic!
Service provided throughout the hotel was generally very good.

Room Tip: Ocean view, views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank PeteFeran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your positive feedback .

It is great to hear that you were delighted with our services and excellent location. We are very glad to hear that you really enjoy the breakfast time too.

Once again we thank you for your recent visit and we hope to welcome you soon.

Best regards,

Maria Tomás,
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Have just returned from a lovely trip to Alicante. We stayed on the Level and the staff there are fabulous and very friendly and the view from the Level lounge with its compimentary bar is superb. You could also have a nice relaxed breakfast there in the morning which we enjoyed.

We had a great room with a stunning view of the harbour and a lot of the rooms will have a sea or harbour view

The pool area is relatively small but the hotel is on the beach so there is always another option

Room Tip: We stayed on the Level and felt it was well worth the extra cost for a quiet luxury break but the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your comments, moreover for taking the time in sharing your experience.

We very much appreciate your kind feedback and your lovely words used to describe The Level and the rooms. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

The entire team will be very glad to welcome you soon.

Best regards,

Maria Tomás
Guest Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is an excellent hotel, not the best looking in the world,but with great staff and good location. We opted for the Level, which gives you a complimentary bar during the day, soft drinks and beer in your room and tapas at certain times. It also means you have your own breakfast area, which is quiet and hassle free, avoiding the queues we saw in the main dining room. Must also mention the staff on the level who worked very hard keeping everything stocked and clean.

The beach next door was busy at the weekend, but you could find a space somewhere if that's what you like. The pool is small and limited sun beds.

We enjoyed Alicante, with plenty of good restaurants close to the hotel, particularly in the old town.

Also take the tram to Benidorm, and visit the castle for great views.

We will certainly be back, and far preferred Alicante to Barcelona.

Room Tip: Marina view room for afternoon sun, and evening interest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CazBromsgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaAlicante, Director de Recepción at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf the entire team we would like to thank you for reporting your impressions and feelings regarding your last stay at Meliá.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you feel comfortable with our staff and you can enjoy the advantages of our location and the services of The Level.

We look forward to receiving your visit soon and we remain at your disposal.

Best regards,

Maria Tomás,
Guest Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 50 in Alicante
1,525 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
NH Alicante
#2 of 50 in Alicante
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Maya Alicante
#8 of 50 in Alicante
1,265 reviews
B&B Hotel Alicante
#25 of 50 in Alicante
437 reviews
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#4 of 50 in Alicante
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Alicante

Address: Plaza del Puerto 3, 03001 Alicante, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Ensanche Diputación
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Alicante
#1 Green Hotel in Alicante
#2 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#4 Business Hotel in Alicante
#5 Family Hotel in Alicante
Price Range: £74 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Alicante 4*
Number of rooms: 545
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meliá Alicante has been open since 1973 and provides 545 rooms, all outward facing with views of Postiguet Beach or the marina. The hotel perfectly combines service for both business and leisure guests. Amongst its magnificent services and facilities, the hotel has 12 meeting and banqueting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 550 people, as well as an outdoor swimming pool, solarium, activities programme for children (in summer) and different dining spaces. The hotel also offers the exclusive The Level service (for adults only), a range of superior services and facilities, such as private reception and private breakfast buffet, and infinity pool for The Level guests with stunning sea views. The rooms are equipped with a welcome gift, bathrobe, slippers, pillow menu, bathroom amenities, kettle and the ironing of one item of clothing every day free of charge. The Level Junior Suites also have a Nespresso coffee maker, bathroom scales, iron and ironing board and Loewe bathroom amenities. The hotel also offers free WiFi and ADSL internet, as well as computer and printer services in the hall (with charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Melia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melia Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Alicante Hotel Alicante
Sol Melia Alicante
Alicante Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing