We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lesmas123
Chelmsford, United Kingdom

Inform guests they will have building work going on under their room

Review of Melia Alicante
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 18 Apr 2024
Building works woke us up first thing and still going on now at almost 5pm. Should have let us know. Premium sea view room we cannot enjoy. Check in awful.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Experience Team , Atención al cliente/recepción at Melia Alicante, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Mr./Ms. Lesma

First of all, thank you for choosing us for your visit to the city and thank you for taking the time to let us know your experience, for us it is essential to know the experience of our customers.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the ongoing construction works during your stay. Please be assured that these renovations are necessary to enhance the overall guest experience and ensure the long-term quality of our facilities. In order to avoid any disturbance from the refurbishment work, we have blocked off the rooms closest to the construction site to prevent any noise from affecting the experience of our guests, we sincerely regret any inconvenience this may have caused. Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we will strive to minimize any disturbances.

We are sorry to hear that your feeling at check in did not meet your expectations, we have already contacted the reception manager about this matter.

We remain at your disposal.

Kind Regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Premium Room
Melia.com
30 years of Melia Rewards
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £141
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from Melia Alicante
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Barcelo.com
    £85
  • Booking.com
0.5 miles from Melia Alicante
Free Wifi
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £80
  • Booking.com
1.6 miles from Melia Alicante
Free Wifi
Pool
Doble superior king
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £132
  • Booking.com
0.2 miles from Melia Alicante
Free Wifi
Pool
ALBAH INT
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £59
  • Algotels
1.7 miles from Melia Alicante
Free Wifi
Free parking
451039 Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £49
  • Algotels
2.2 miles from Melia Alicante
Free Wifi
Free parking
Eurostars Lucentum
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £87
  • Booking.com
0.5 miles from Melia Alicante
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Habitación triple
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £52
  • Algotels
2.9 miles from Melia Alicante
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £50
  • Hotels.com
2.9 miles from Melia Alicante
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £36
  • Priceline
2.9 miles from Melia Alicante
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Alicante
Reviews (7,224)
Filter reviews
7,226 results
Traveller rating
3,252
2,389
985
364
236
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,252
2,389
985
364
236
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free bar level experience sea view level room level guests old town large hotel tapas beach side pool area junior suite afternoon sun building work half board fantastic location fifth floor paella
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 7,226 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2024

Hardest bed I’ve ever slept in. For a ‘Premium’ room it was unacceptable. Everything cost extra, apart from a small tin of water which wasn’t even replaced when we drank it. Asked if we had to pay to go to sun deck, told by receptionist we needed to be on a ‘special tariff’ to go there.
Biggest annoyance was the noise below us however. I understand they were doing refurbishment but we could have been warned. We were woken by smashing mirrors/glass one morning. Returned to have drink on balcony overlooking Marina to the noise of smashing metal bars being thrown from a height into skip on back of lorry. Then there was the big yellow tube that debris was thrown down through. Dust was everywhere.
Wasn’t asked anything about how we enjoyed (or otherwise) the 6 night stay as we checked out!! That was a first for me. We’ve stayed there three/four times over past five years but Never, ever again!!

Room tip: Make sure renovations are complete before you book. I’m sorry I wasn’t told about them at the time. I won’t be back.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veron186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Experience Team , Atención al cliente/recepción at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ms/Mr. Veron.

First of all, thank you for your continued confidence in us. It is essential for us to know how our guests' experience has been, so we also appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with us.
We are very sorry to hear that the comfort of the bed did not meet your expectations. The quality of our furniture is of the utmost importance to us, and is constantly under review, so this is not a common occurrence and we will investigate the situation immediately. The use of our solarium, located on the mezzanine floor of our hotel, is free and accessible to all our customers so there must have been am error of communication with our employees, the only area of the hotel that is not available to all our customers would be the area of The Level which is excluded for those customers who hire it. Regarding the works in the hotel, we are constantly working to improve our facilities and sometimes we have to do works to do so. We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused by the noise from the refurbishment works, which will be completed in the next few weeks.

It is very important for us to know your experience at check-out as we greatly value your feedback and regret that we did not have the opportunity to address your concerns during your stay and we assure you that this is a process that we follow and attach vital importance to. We hope that you will eventually decide to continue your visits to our hotel, as we look forward to welcome you again

Best Regards.

We remain at your disposal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2024 via mobile

As a family, we have been visitors to this hotel, many, many times over the last 15 years but haven’t actually been back since C-19. In the past we have had some inconsistent experiences but we’ve still come back as it’s so central and always reasonable.

So since our last stay the hotel has literally been transformed. New reception, brand new bar, upscale restaurant and the breakfast restaurant totally revamped. There is still some evidence of some building work on going and the lifts still need some TLC but all in all, it’s immeasurably better.

If I had one some area for improvement it would be the bar service. There just isn’t enough staff and many of the ones serving are very inexperienced. It just makes for a very slow and drawn out experience. Also, housekeeping is a little inconsistent. One day our room wasn’t serviced when we came back around 4pm and one of our three nights, the turndown service didn’t happen. Probably just needs a little bit of better logistics.

I’m convinced this hotel is aiming for the aspirational 5 stars. You aren’t too far away. Sort of a few of the service issues and I’m sure it will come.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank robjupp1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2024

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at our hotel.

We're thrilled to hear that the transformation of our hotel has impressed you, and we appreciate your acknowledgment of our new reception, bar, upscale restaurant, and revamped breakfast restaurant. Our commitment to providing exceptional room experiences is unwavering, and we're glad that the continuous updates of our spaces have enhanced your stay.
We regret to hear about the slower service at the bar and the inconsistency in housekeeping. Your feedback is important and helps us maintain our service culture, ensuring every guest's stay is seamless and enjoyable. Please be assured that we are addressing these points to improve our guest experience.
It's heartening to learn of your long-standing relationship with us, and we're grateful for your confidence in our journey towards excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back on a future trip.
Best regards,


Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2024

I reviewed the Level at this hotel minutes ago and do apologise that I forgot to thank the two lady chefs in the Level lounge for their wonderful cooking with smiles at breakfast which set us up for the day every day.Sincere apologies to both and we look forward to enjoying your excellence again

Room tip: The Level experience is amazing
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2024

Dear Guest,
Please accept our thanks for your kind review regarding your stay.

We are thrilled to hear that the culinary delights prepared by our dedicated chefs in The Level lounge added a touch of joy to your mornings. It's wonderful to know that their warm smiles and exceptional gastronomic experiences set a positive tone for your day. We pride ourselves on our service culture and strive to deliver memorable room experiences, so your appreciation is greatly valued.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Many thanks again,


Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2024 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, excellent location, will return again!

I stayed last year in the Melia Suites del Mar so this was my first time with my daughter, as recommended by my friend, who was recommended by me last year: When I Iove somewhere I have to share.

The hotel itself was large, spacious and our room was a premium twin, harbour facing, which was excellent for afternoon and evening sun. Sun rises on pool side which is brilliant for sunbathing, although due to shape I note a spot to choose your sunbeds if you want to stay all day. See photo of sunbeds!
We just had breakfast and ate dinner out. Breakfast was a very large selection (although no oats/porridge: problem for me as I'm Scottish 😂) but they had yogurt with muesli. Lots of fruits meats, cheeses etc.
Bar selection there were a few different places you could buy drinks, we didn't use the spa but I will definitely next time.

The TV in the room you can cast your phone so my teenager could watch her Netflix series which was a definite, she (13 years old) loved it.

I enjoyed my almost solo trip and will definitely return with my husband. Thankyou to all the staff, technician who fixed the TV and cleaning staff who did an excellent job every day!🙏

Room tip: If you don't any an all day sunbed spot see my picture where the sun stays ALL day till about 6
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank joanneth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2024

Dear Mrs. Joanneth,
Please accept our thanks for your kind review regarding your stay.

It's delightful to hear that our location proved excellent for your enjoyment of the afternoon and evening sun from your premium twin, harbour-facing room. Our gastronomic experiences, particularly the extensive breakfast selection, seem to have started your days on the right note, even if we missed the mark on the oats—we'll keep your Scottish preference in mind for future improvements. We appreciate your kind words about our attentive staff and are glad that the TV casting feature enhanced your room experience, especially for your daughter.
We look forward to providing you with more energy for life activities, and perhaps a visit to the YHI SPA, on your next visit with your husband.

We hope to have the occasion to welcome you back.
Kind regards,


Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2024 via mobile

Great hotel with a fantastic location. Check in was fast and efficient. Stayed in a junior suite with sea view. Room was spotless and spacious. Twice daily room service. Always clean towels. Fresh water by the bed each evening.
Breakfast was wonderful. Unbelievable selection of food. Loads of sun loungers with a choice of lying under the sun or under the shade.
All though their was 2 separate balcony’s they where small. A sun lounger would have been awesome. All in all would definitely stay again

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Maps17020396818
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2024

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

We're delighted to hear that the check-in process met your expectations with efficiency and speed. Your kind words about the cleanliness and spaciousness of our Junior Suite with sea view are greatly appreciated; it's rewarding to know that our dedication to maintaining a pristine room experience paid off. It’s also wonderful to know that our breakfast selection impressed you, as we strive to offer diverse and satisfying gastronomic experiences.
We take note of your feedback regarding the balcony size and understand that more space for relaxation would have enhanced your stay.

We do hope we will see you again on a future visit.
Kind regards,


Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews