We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ronsie
Stirling, United Kingdom

Great hotel , good location ,excellent service

Review of Melia Alicante
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks ago
Great Hotel, good location,excellent service
Stayed at Meliá Alicante for a week with friends. We enjoyed a lovely holiday , the hotel is beautiful, staff were all very kind and helpful. There was a slight mixup but reception staff were very efficient and the manager Inma was so considerate and resolved the issue very quickly. We were impressed by the warm welcome at breakfast from Elisabeth she has a wonderful smile. We visited the. Bribone bar in the evening and Alba was very attentive and extremely good at her job. What a hard worker she never stopped. Our rooms overlooked the marina , beautiful view . We had a chocolate left in our room every evening along with a can of water . The chambermaids were very quick to replenish tea and coffee in our room. We will definitely be returning to the Meliá Alicante. Excellent service all round.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: If a marina view go for a high floor , best view .
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Melia Alicante, responded to this review
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for this great review.

We are thrilled to hear that our location served you well and that our staff provided excellent service, making your stay memorable. It's wonderful to learn that the issue you encountered was resolved promptly by our efficient reception team, and that Inma's consideration left a positive impression on you. We're also delighted that Elisabeth's warm welcome at breakfast contributed to a great start to your day, and that Alba's attentive service at Bribone bar enhanced your evening experiences. Your appreciation for the marina views from your room and the thoughtful touches like the chocolate and water are much valued. Our team takes pride in ensuring that our guests' room experience is comfortable and well-catered for with timely replenishments of amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,

Guest Experience Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Spa
£293
  • Melia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.1 miles from Melia Alicante
Free Wifi
Pool
ALBAH POOL
£65
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.8 miles from Melia Alicante
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Port Alicante City & Beach piscina
£218
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.6 miles from Melia Alicante
Pool
Restaurant
Exterior view
£101
  • Tripadvisor
    £101
  • Priceline
  • ibis
    £108
2.9 miles from Melia Alicante
Free Wifi
Free parking
£113
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.2 miles from Melia Alicante
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £137
  • Expedia.com
    £158
0.7 miles from Melia Alicante
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £139
  • Priceline
1.6 miles from Melia Alicante
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £136
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from Melia Alicante
Free Wifi
Habitación triple
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £128
  • Agoda.com
    £123
  • Vio.com
2.9 miles from Melia Alicante
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
Go to your Happy Price
  • ibis Budget
    £84
  • ZenHotels.com
    £82
  • Booking.com
    £84
2.9 miles from Melia Alicante
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Alicante
Reviews (7,236)
Filter reviews
7,236 results
Traveller rating
3,258
2,389
987
365
237
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,258
2,389
987
365
237
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free bar level experience sea view level room level guests old town large hotel tapas beach side pool area junior suite afternoon sun building work half board fantastic location fifth floor paella
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 7,236 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here on our way home from Alicante. The hotel was beautiful and right on the beach. The room was great and reception staff were very good.
The restaurant near reception looked beautiful too. Whilst we had paid for half board expecting a buffet style meal we were told to use the restaurant as the buffet was closed. We arrived at our booked time and it wasn't busy but the staff seemed manic. A person rushed by us at the door without stopping shouting something we couldn't understand and then shouting again looking back at us. We began to follow thinking that's what they meant but were then rudely told to go back and wait. This seemed to be the restaurant manager 'Jose Manuel' who came across as rude and demanding. Once we were seated, we waited about 25 minutes before being asked what we wanted to order to drink.
We also ordered our meals which were limited choices but still nice and we had to pay a supplement for our choice. Part of the joy of a buffet is seeing your choices beforehand so that was a bit disappointing too.
The waiters hustled and bustled around noisily and seemed really stressed.
The food was good though.
I would definitely stay at the hotel but wouldn't touch the restaurant again.
Christina on the restaurant door was the only pleasant person in the restaurant.

Room tip: Avoid the restaurant near reception it's lovely to look at and food is good but waiting staff are disastrous.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Daisy_in_Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ms. Durham,
Thank you for the time taken to share your experience of staying with us.

We're delighted to hear that you appreciated the beauty of our hotel's location right on the beach, and that our reception staff provided an excellent room experience. It's wonderful to know that the views from your room added to the enjoyment of your stay.
We regret that your dining experience did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to provide exceptional gastronomic experiences, and it seems we fell short during your visit. We take your feedback seriously and will share it with our team to ensure our service culture is reflected in every aspect of our hotel, including our restaurants.
We're pleased that, despite the service issue, you found the food quality to your liking and that Cristina at the restaurant door made a positive impression.

We hope to welcome you back.
Best wishes,


Giulia Coraggio
Assistant Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not a great stay at the Melia Alicante. Requested a quiet room before arriving and we were given one of the noisiest right over where functions are held. Loud music and people talking until the early hours. We couldn’t sit on the balcony on the Saturday as the noise from the wedding below was deafening.Rooms aren’t great either, the shower from the room above us leaked through the ceiling and into our room. No offer of moving us when this happened. A bar of chocolate left in the room as an apology. The breakfast is good but the coffee machines are a nightmare and you could be waiting ten minutes to get a coffee. The restaurant isn’t great either, very slow and the staff really don’t know they are at, they brought our dessert before we even had our main course. Very poor response from them when I gave our feedback. I wouldn’t waste your money on this hotel. We stayed in this hotel in 2018 and it was exceptional unfortunately we did not have the same experience this time. Very disappointed

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Experience Team , Guest Services / Front Office at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ms/Mr. Sylmcd,

First of all, thank you for trusting our hotel for your stay in the city and for taking your time to share your experience.

Regarding the noise caused by the wedding celebration, we assure you that our rooms comply with the necessary protocols of isolation and we constantly check that the decibels are within the established limits, we are sorry for any inconvenience caused by the noise.

We deeply regret that your experience at the room did not meet your expectations and it was affected by this excepcionals circumstancies, we assure you that of all our in-room facilities have already been checked to ensure that this is not repeated. Respect to the service at our restaurant, we assure you that this is one of our best service areas, we have already spoken to the relevant department managers to find out what happened.

We assure you that your feedback is of great importance to us and that we learn from it. we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2024 via mobile

We left the United States April 15 and visited at least 5-6 Hotels in Italy and this was our second stay in Spain. I will stay the GM and high level Management should be very proud of the way this place operates. Every staff member I saw diligently working to the area they were in. Professionals at check in and through out from when I walked in to all housekeeping staff on our floor to staff in 100 Level Lounge. The detail from even the lady that maintained the steps and areas outside the revolving entrance was noticed. Great Job and food and drink and rooms were very nice. Highly recommend if in Alicante for a great experience. Well done.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Randy,
Thank you very much for this kind review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind comments.

We look forward to a return visit from you in the future.
Best wishes,


Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2024 via mobile

Very good good hotel with friendly staff. We had booked ”the level” as members of the rewardprogram. Very nice to have a lounge with snacks and drinks designated for the level booking. Fantastic seaview from our room with sunrise every morning. Very easy to get around with taxis outside the door and many restaurants very close to the hotel. Buses are just 50 meters away as well if you need the bus.
The only minus is that you are still allowed to smoke outside on the balconys which feels very old fashioned and really bad for allergic guests or guests that simply doesnt like smoke. Must change to get full point from me.

Room tip: If you are allergic to smoking tell the reception when you come so you dontbhave to complain later.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank showmastermusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Madam,
Thank you for the time taken to share your experience of staying with us.

We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the spectacular sea views and the exclusive The Level lounge with its range of amenities. It's wonderful to know that our location made your stay convenient for exploring the city and that our friendly staff contributed positively to your experience. We appreciate your feedback regarding the smoking on the balconies; please know that we aim to ensure the comfort of all our guests and will keep your comments in mind as we continuously seek to improve our service culture and room experience.

We hope to welcome you back.
Best wishes,


Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2024 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel as soon as you walk in and smell the air you know it's going to be great! Rooms were excellent and clean, with turn down service and chocs on the beds each night! The hotel is in the perfect spot, so close to everything, and if you don't want to walk, grab a taxi or Tuk-Tuk. We didn't try the restaurant, so we can not comment, but the buffet breakfast was excellent, with such a wide choice of items. The pool was great, and the hotel provided us with beach towels, which you pick up from reception. All in all, a great hotel. I'll definitely be back!

Room tip: The Tuk-Tuks are really fun, one time we took one up to the Santa Barbara castle and back down! Or just hire them to look around.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank A8583PXtraceyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel- cmanager, Owner at Melia Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2024

Dear Madam,
We'd like to thank you for this positive feedback about your stay in our hotel.

A message of satisfaction from a recent guest is always a reward and incentive for our team to continue upholding our high standards. We are delighted that you had such a pleasant experience.
Thank you for noting our handy location.
We are glad that you also enjoyed our tasty breakfast buffet.

It would be our pleasure to have you return on another occasion.
Very best wishes,


Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews