We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a quick stopover...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Maya Alicante

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Maya Alicante
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect for a quick stopover...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

The hotel was difficult to find when arriving by car, a sharp right off a busy one way road with no drop off area to speak of. the room was quite good by Spanish standards, minibar and nice balcony where you can stare at the balconies on the opposing buildings!! There are no room service menus in the rooms and when i asked the reception for a menu they simply said 'come and get one' i chose to guess what they had and received a call 10 minutes later saying they had no more left and had to order something else. The restaurant itself was quite good with service and i recommend that instead. Its quite good value for money and you can definitely do a lot worse in the area. Parking was 10 euros a night and is a must unless you are not particularly fond of your car as the streets outside wouldn't be my first choice to park in.

Room Tip: lifts were temperamental, we had to use stairs on more than one occasion so ask for a low floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    423
    216
    45
    30
See reviews for
170
448
46
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We visited Alicante last march and we were a bit disipointed by hotel location. But it turn up to be very good. Rooms are in very good condition large enough, modern furniture and clean. Buffet breakfast is very rich and seved till 10 am. If possible try to be in rooms on high floors with sea view view is spectacular. Service and staf is very proffesional. I would recommend this hotel to everybody. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms on high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sasa608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ulster
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

I had the pleasure of enjoying a week at 'Maya' over Christmas-my first visit to Alicante.
The hotel maybe slightly out of town however the airport bus leaves you approx 100 meters from the hotel so despite other contributer's advices you do not require the tram.
Check in was very good -the young gentleman was really friendly and organised a room with a sea view.
The bedrooms are well proportioned with bathroom in very good condition and nice flat screen tv[although limited english channels].The balcony has the benefit of opening windows-a nice touch.The rooms are serviced every day and spotlessly clean as is are all public areas and restaurants.Also free wifi with excellent connectivity in rooms.
Breakfast is pretty good-dinner maybe average at best-however with such friendly staff and the price I should not complain.
The fantastic tram service stop is situated one minute from the hotel and can take you to Alicente centre or as far as Benidorm and beyond.
I recommend this hotel to tourists and business travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on top floors with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ulsterDistillery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

I was in Alicante and stuck for wi fi to make an emergency change to our flights. I popped in to the Hotel Maya to ask to use their wi fi or business centre. The man on Reception not only let me use the wi fi for free, as a one off, despite me not being resident, but also walked me to the basement restaurant and offered me a cup of tea. It was exactly the customer care i needed and i SO appreciated. Whilst I didn't stay at the hotel - I had to write to just note this & say THANKS HOTEL MAYA! I would stay here just on this basis.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lena289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Stayed 8 nights, very comfortable 3 star type hotel, great dining room for buffet breakfasts, for a good feed at start of the day! Reception staff always very helpful, and spoke English. Nice easy pleasant 10 minute walk to centre of old town, and marina. Very good rate offered as well!

Room Tip: Ask for queen or king beds if wanted, or may get 2 singles as I initially was given, but swapped wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Faberge36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Hotel is 10 min walk from beach and lovely tiled seafront walkway. Booking in was slow and staff pleasant but could smile more. We had the 8th floor looking over roofs to the sea. Room was good size with fridge and tv, air con was great or we'd never have slept! Breakfast had something for everyone, hot section included eggs, bacon, meats and mushrooms, cereals, breads, fruits, meat, yogurt, tea, coffee and fruit juice. Pool was cold but lovely once you were in. As we went out of season it was never busy. Poolside cafe offered coffee at 1 euro 30 and served by a very smiley lad! Would recommend this hotel to anyone and go back if we ever return to Alicante.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We spent 3 nights here and were pleased with our choice of hotel.

Check in was a bit slow unfortunately but the staff were very pleasant. We had asked for a smoking room which we received and because we asked to be able to smoke, we were given a superior room. As far as we could tell, the inside of the room didn't seem very superior if I am being honest - however ! - we did have a balcony which looked onto the Castle and also had a view over the med.

A previous reviewer advised the air conditioning was switched off at certain times, but we did not have that issue. Our air conditioning was on all night ( and day when we were in the room)

We had decided not to have breakfast as we realised it would be typical of most hotels, but with so many cafes in the vacinity, we were glad to be out and about for breakfast. Many cafes offer tostada and coffee for between 1.95 and 2.95 euros ( the latter being a toastie) so eating out wasn't expensive and it was nice to join the locals.

There is a large supermarket a 10 minute walk away from the hotel which was useful for bottles of water, diet coke, fruit juice etc. It is a huge shop so you can purchase even things you may have forgotten to pack including clothes, toiletries etc. Very useful.

I notice that most people have advised taking the C6 bus from the airport and changing to a local bus to the hotel which is handy, however the airport C6 bus actually has a stop just a very short distance from the hotel so I would advise staying on the airport bus and alight at the main tram stop as you go up the hill to hotel. You will see the hotel on your left - just alight at the next stop. No changing buses :)

For eating, go to the old town. We had a 3 course meal for 2, two beers and a diet coke for 20 euros ! ( The owner even threw in two free liquers) Look for those advertising a 'deal of the day' There are also a number of lovely small bars and as the old town is all high buildings, you can enjoy a beer in the shade !

The Hotel Maya is very modern on the outside and in reception, but the rooms were a little dated. Having said that, location was superb ( 15 minute stroll into town or the beach) and if we were back in Alicante, we would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you do smoke, make sure you request a smoking room when making the initial booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank traveller281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hotel Castilla Alicante
#13 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#3 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 49 in Alicante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Albahia
#16 of 49 in Alicante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
NH Alicante
#4 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya Alicante

Property: Hotel Maya Alicante
Address: Calle Canonigo Manuel Penalva, 2, 03013 Alicante, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#8 Family Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maya Alicante 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotelopia and LoveHolidays so you can book your Hotel Maya Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maya Alicante Hotel Alicante
Kris Alicante
Kris Hotel Alicante
Alicante Kris Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing