We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Maya Alicante
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Alicante
Reviewed 15 February 2011

A very comfortable stay. Check in was quick and efficient. The room although a little dated decor wise was spotlessly clean and welcoming. The views from the "balcony" were very good and for a city break, unexpected. The balconies themselves have been blocked in with windows, but still open to allow in the sunshine and fresh air. The walls in the hotel are literally paper thin and should you wish for a restful nights sleep or are a light sleeper you may have problems, but apart from that, a very nice stay, and a complete surprise for the price paid. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for quality and convenience on a budget.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

680 - 686 of 1,307 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2010

The hotel is worth recommending. We had a room on one of the higher floors - the view of the sea was magnificent. The rooms are spacious and clean. Staff was helpful, but actually quite slow. They made us wait for our room for a while, but it was not a big problem. There is a small outdoor swimming pool and we were happy it was open even though the hotel website contained information that it was closed. There are tennis courts, volleyball and basketball fields available for reasonable price as well. Hotel is located 10-15min walk from a city center, 10min walk from a beautiful beach and 7min to a tram stop.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Maya. It was conveniently located, close to the Metro, 15 minute walk to the Central Market, close to the Castle. Hotel was clean and the staff was reasonably friendly. Decent breakfast buffet with enough choices.
As other reviewers have noted, the only down side was the thin walls. You could hear everything in the adjoining rooms. We were at the hotel during the slow season so noise wasn't a problem.
They were working on a set of new elevators built on the outside of the hotel. During high tourist time I can see why they would be needed. We had no problem with them.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNwestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

When we first arrived at the hotel we were happy with the cleaness of our room, balcony was small and you are blocked in by a big window which is stiff and difficult to open. Then as we arrived a bit late were looking forward to jumping in the pool.... (the pool was one of the main reasons we booked this hotel) all excited and ready to go, went down and found out it was closed... then later found out that it was to be closed for the next year.... If so that should of been advertised or said on their website. Luckily the beach isnt too far, or the tram or the shopping centre, or city centre. We walked everywhere. On our second night in the hotel we ventured out into the town, when we arrived back we ended up getting stuck inbetween two floors in the lift for over 45 minutes, the alarm in the lift didnt notify anyone not even reception that we were stuck, (when we pressed the alarm, it just basically set off an alarm in the lift! I think we knew we were stuck in the lift!) as it was late in the night no one was around to hear my screams, luckily a couple coming home eventually heard me and notified reception, they had no clue what to do. The night porter was lovely but even he wouldnt use the other lift, so he was running up and down the stairs to try get help. The couple were very nice and stayed with us until we eventually got out. All we received was a cup of coffee, and an apology of the friendly night porter, him and another work colleague told us that they were going to notify the management about this and asked us for our room number, but yet we didnt receive one apology off management, one reasurance that the lifts were safe to use, nothing for the distress that they put us through!! What if that couple didnt hear us.... something tells me that we could of been stuck there for the night. It wouldnt surprise me if this has happened to other people staying in the hotel. As you can see for yourself we didnt use the lifts after that so we had to climb 7 flights of stairs everyday. The lifts were also very slow, you would always see people queing for them. They did have a notice up saying that they were putting up new lifts but I didnt see them even start to build or get prepared for them yet. Found the staff, okay to be honest, some helpful some not so helpful. On our last night it was raining so I asked the receptionist to ring us a cab, he made two attempts, left down the phone and while smirking at me, said "They are very busy you know, it is raining outside, what you expect!" So we ended up having to walk. Instead of him saying "wait in the bar and we will call you once we can get through to a cab company." As for the bar, couldnt say much we sat down for a drink and it took so long for someone to serve us that we just left, didnt eat in the resturant as it was the same thing, and we were just so fustrated with the hotel. Other than that it was clean, and everything in walking distance, and internet handy. And no I would never stay here again, and I wouldnt recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wacky001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

This was a great choice for a young couple, we stayed the first week of October. Very warm, but off-season for the town, so not as crowded. The hotel is in walking distance to all the highlights. 5 minutes walk to the main beach and lift to the castle. The city center is a 15 minute walk, but nice, because you can walk along the beach or through historic parts of the town. The hotel itself was a great value. Great pool and lounge area! Very modern and clean, except you can hear everything through the walls in the rooms, so don't expect a lot of privacy. Same with the balconies. The staff was pleasant. The buffet was very plain, so we recommend enjoying the real Spanish restaurants around the area. We would definitely stay again during the off peak season (it might be a little noisy during the summer).

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anon411x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

I did enjoy our stay in Hotel Maya Alicante at the beginning of October. Room was simple, but big enough and clean, with a little balcony and view to the sea side, there was safe and little fridge in the room as well. Staff was very friendly, especially girl in the bar; breakfast had nice choice, scrambled eggs could be bit dry, but usually we came in only few minutes before closing, so can’t complain.
Location is handy: 10 min walk to the beach, 15 - to restaurants and bars, 5 - to shopping mall and 3 - to tram station. (Note that tram in Benidorm called “Terra Mitica” is actually about 25 min walk from amusement park.)
Would stay there again if back in Alicante, unless after winning lotto would be able to afford 5* :))

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_lau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

five mins from beach and shopping centre. and ten mins from alicante centre and port Bus stop outside hotel and tram stop 2mins away, good location for the price the staff were helpful , the rooms spotless and cleaned daily. the pool nice for a dip, nice traditional spainish restuarant called 'lagar' on road into town out of main exit and first right great steaks and nice owner. small shops butcher and off licence on same road great for bread and palma ham on way to beach!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank bethspec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
NH Alicante
#2 of 50 in Alicante
682 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 50 in Alicante
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#4 of 50 in Alicante
835 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#6 of 50 in Alicante
1,093 reviews
B&B Hotel Alicante
#24 of 50 in Alicante
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maya Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maya Alicante

Address: Calle Canonigo Manuel Penalva, 2, 03013 Alicante, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#8 Family Hotel in Alicante
Price Range: £36 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maya Alicante 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Maya Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maya Alicante Hotel Alicante
Kris Alicante
Kris Hotel Alicante
Alicante Kris Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing