We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 31/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Melia Alicante(Alicante)
Book now, pay at stay
US$227
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hospes Amerigo(Alicante)
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$120
NH Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Mio Cid(Alicante)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
NH Alicante(Alicante)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Maya Alicante(Alicante)(Great Value!)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (680)
Filter reviews
680 results
Traveller rating
68
216
203
93
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
216
203
93
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan juanresidential areapool areanumber buslovely poola bit tiredel campelloten minute walkearly checkcost eurosbreakfast buffet isnight lifedecent hotelbars and restaurantsshort breakhotel is situatedtapas
Filter
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 680 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

had a thoroughly enjoyable 3 night stay here experiencing none of the problems of some previous reviewers.
our room had a safe,air con,toiletries and daily towel change.
hotel is situated in a residential area,10 -15 minute stroll from gorgeous beach.
the resort itself is mainly Spanish,with very little English spoken or understood so would suggest swatting up on a few phrases and menu items as it would make for a more enjoyable break.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rookie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent the week from 16-20 Sep 2013 at the Holiday Inn. Decent location. We checked in and went up to our room to unwind and go about out our vacation. We paid the extra money for the breakfast, which was ok. They had a kid table with plastic plates and plastic kiddie cups with nesquick packets and straws but no kids plastic ware, which would have been useful for our two yr old. We had our room cleaned everyday, of course with two little kids it becomes a bit disturbed. The beds were ok, they had firm and soft pillows for preference. We had absolutely no shower gel/shampoo in the bathroom dispenser upon check in, and only one towel for all four of us to share. And as most of us know, after a long day of traveling its nice to take a shower once you arrive in your room. The front desk staff was busy, but always seemed to help us with directions or other stuff. We were moderately pleased with the stay aside from the weird musty/beachy smell of the hotel halls and our room. The bit that really disturbed us was that we had $400 US Dollars stolen out of our luggage in our room. We brought it as a back up in case we had to exchange the money. We didn't have a need for it so it stayed, untouched where we put it in our suitcase in a notebook. As soon as we arrived home, we noticed the money missing. We tried contacting the hotel by phone and email to speak with a manager, but were unsuccessful. We were very angry and hurt that someone on the staff would do such a thing. Its very unnerving and in all our years of traveling all over the world this was a first. There was no safe in the room, if there were we would have used it. Be aware! Don't leave any valuables or money in your room even if its hidden in something!!!!

Room Tip: beware of your belongings and valuables in your room!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sjdj82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Port Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear sjdj82,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Alicante Playa De San Juan, Spain. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Holiday Inn what are you doing in Spain with this hotel, it's poor. Booked as UK ones are very good and I use you often.
Arrived 19th Sept for 3 days and given a twin room which stunk of smoke, booked a double room all non smoking. Rusty bath, wallpaper coming off the wall, 2 large holes in the net curtain and as previous user reports air con is on last legs. We asked reception to find another room only to be told on the 3rd occasion we are full. We offered to go to another hotel and were told no refund as we had booked advance super saver. I reminded them that they were in breach of contract on their side, still no luck even though we had booked on the Holiday Inn web site. Went to the swimming pool to cool off and guess what the loungers do collapse, twice in one hour, cheap rubbish. Spanish hotels are normally very good, not this one. Immediately sent an email to Holiday Inn head office compliments of the free wi fi ( one good thing so you can complain) will wait to see what they say.
Had no option but to eventually bring luggage from car and use room until tomorrow arrives so we can take it further. If things improve we will update the review. In the meantime don't book it. Never moaned before. Room 113 facing the car park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MauimanManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Port Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear MauimanManchester,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Alicante Playa De San Juan, Spain. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We've stayed at the hotel quite a few times & still love it!! We have noticed that there seems to be slightly more British guests every time - so maybe "the word is out".

PERFECT

Affordable - Low rates (often you can get it on a 2-4-1) rate. The hotel is only 10k points for Priority Club redemptions . It has also appeared on the Pointsbreaks list in the past. You get Priority Club points too - which always seem to post correctly.

Breakfast - A steal at only €9 per person (I'm sure it has gone down from €12 which it was previously) - It is typically Spanish so if you're expecting baked beans and mushrooms - you are going to be disappointed.

Nice pool area - it can bet a little busy at times with families - so if this is a problem, just go to the beach. I'm not certain why anybody would want to spend too much time around the pool anyway when there is such a beautiful sandy beach so close. There are always loungers free. THEY HAVE CHANGED SOME OF THE LOUNGERS - So they don't collapse anymore (well the new ones don't anyway).

Close proximity to beach - I would only say it's about 10 mins to the beach (might be 15mins coming back as it's uphill). The beach is really good and it's a good base for long walks along the lovely seafront.

Plenty of affordable eating options nearby - there are a couple of big supermarkets nearby too - just check they're not closed for holidays / festivals.

Free Internet - It's a bit little flaky at times but they have abandoned the daft activation system - so you can connect as many devices as required without any messing about.

LOVELY POLITE HELPFUL STAFF - I was surprised to read that some reviewers thought the staff weren't as helpful as they had hoped. The staff are fantastic - A special mention has to go to Alba on reception who is especially nice. We have stayed at the hotel over 40 nights in the last 3 years and I can honestly say that we haven't ever seen a SINGLE member of staff be less than 100% professional to ANYBODY!!!

Affordable public transport options - It's really easy to get from the airport using public transport. €2.80 each on the Airport Bus to Alicante - change at Luceros and get the L4 tram to Av. Naciones (€1.45 max each ). Total time approx 1hrs.
It's also really easy to get to Alicante - Bus 21 or L4 tram or El Campello Bus 21 or L1 tram.

Hotel very clean - both the public areas and rooms were spotless - the housekeeping is very thorough.

Good air-con - It seems to do the job well & there is no 'override' by the management.

Early check-in - We've always been given this without any problems.



NOT PERFECT BUT NOT TO BAD REALLY

Lift broken - One of the lifts wasn't working & in all honesty there didn't appear to be big hurry to fix it.

Hotel a little dated - The hotel boasts 4 stars which is maybe a tiny bit generous. It certainly has a "90s" feel to it. It doesn't bother us but if you're looking for a hotel with a contemporary look and feel - you're probably in the wrong place. Yes the carpet in the hallways looks a little threadbare in places & there are a couple of marks on it - so what?!?


Restaurant Toaster not too good - Toasting aficionados will be disappointed! There is only one - which I'm sure doesn't work that well. Toasting capacity could do with being increased as there always appear to be a couple of guests determined to want to toast the entire buffet selection.

Room fridge was a bit rubbish - it just about worked but was on it's last legs.

Retro CRT TV with limited TV & Radio selection - It is easy to connect a media player to using the SCART socket (remember them?!) - Seriously though if you've come on holiday to watch TV you're probably doing something wrong.

Priority Club status recognition - nothing really - certainly no free drinks vouchers / water / fruit or upgrades offered.


Overall I would thoroughly recommend the Hotel. It is extremely good value, has excellent staff and is well appointed.
Absolutely there are minor stuff that could do with improving (TVs / carpet etc.) but if somebody offered me the things as they are at the current rates or cosmetic improvements to the hotel but with higher prices - I know which one I'd choose!

Room Tip: 2 single beds together are more comfortable than a double. Be nice to the staff & they will be nice to you!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank yog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Just spent a week here with 2 other adults. It's a nice clean hotel with basic facilities, which suited our needs. They have a pool which is 1.3m deep - great for me as I don't like it when I'm out of my depth. Plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas for shade - some of the loungers collapse unexpectedly - amusing the first once or twice but tiresome after that. Some of the loungers have arms - these ones are more stable. The life guard, who is on duty every day, spends time with the children playing games in the pool and helping the nervous ones relax. There are a variety of floats and even a floating basket ball net and goalposts which were used by adults also for a bit of fun.


The room was clean and comfortable however there were no tea/coffee facilities in room :( .

We ate in the hotel one evening they have an evening meal for €15 which consists of a buffet starter - wide selection, followed by a choice 3 mains and 3 deserts. The mains ( a choice of fish, chicken or rice dish(not vegetarian) followed by anegg based deserts or seasonal fruit which was a couple of large thin slices of water and honeydew melon and a slice of pineapple with the core still in or ice cream were disappointing. 2 of us ordered ice-cream we were not told there was a choice. both dishes had different ice cream. Although there were very few patrons the staff kept checking "are you finished?" and whisking the plates away as soon as the last forkful reached our mouths.

The other hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

The hotel is only 5 minutes from the shops, lots of local places to eat and the beach.

The no. 21 bus to Alicante city stops right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: There are five floors, the fifth floor was relatively child free they seem to place families on the lower floors.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews