We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 24/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Melia Alicante(Alicante)
Book now, pay at stay
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hospes Amerigo(Alicante)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Hotel Maya Alicante(Alicante)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
NH Alicante(Alicante)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Castilla Alicante(Alicante)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 24/07
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (680)
Filter reviews
680 results
Traveller rating
68
216
203
93
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
216
203
93
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan juanresidential areapool areanumber buslovely poola bit tiredel campelloten minute walkearly checkcost eurosbreakfast buffet isnight lifedecent hotelbars and restaurantsshort breakhotel is situatedtapas
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 680 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hotel was one of the nicest we have stayed at in spain although the area in which its set mainly caters for the spanish!! Found one british bar but noone spoke english!! Slightly disappointing, no nightlife to talk of at all and walked for hours trying to find some!! Beautiful beach tho about 10mins from hotel and weather was gorgeous!! Not sure if we would visit alicante again though as we prefer resorts slightly more lively and that caters more so for british tourists!!! I couldnt even find anywhere to buy a lilo for their beautiful beach!! :(

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaitlyn1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

small hotel in a quite residential area , but 10 mins from a most beautifull beach , shops and bars , the hotel was very comfortable and clean the linen was changed daily, most of the staff were very friendly and helpful especially the reception and the two guys in the bar / restaraunt dominic and christian but if the lady with long black hair and glasses was on duty forget being served as she will ignore you and was very rude . we enjoyed our stay the pool was lovely not too deep and it was very peacefull no rowdy bars in the area but still a bit of night life

Room Tip: get the airport shuttle bus into alicante then the no 21 bus drops you outside the hotel
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzyengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

had a thoroughly enjoyable 3 night stay here experiencing none of the problems of some previous reviewers.
our room had a safe,air con,toiletries and daily towel change.
hotel is situated in a residential area,10 -15 minute stroll from gorgeous beach.
the resort itself is mainly Spanish,with very little English spoken or understood so would suggest swatting up on a few phrases and menu items as it would make for a more enjoyable break.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rookie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent the week from 16-20 Sep 2013 at the Holiday Inn. Decent location. We checked in and went up to our room to unwind and go about out our vacation. We paid the extra money for the breakfast, which was ok. They had a kid table with plastic plates and plastic kiddie cups with nesquick packets and straws but no kids plastic ware, which would have been useful for our two yr old. We had our room cleaned everyday, of course with two little kids it becomes a bit disturbed. The beds were ok, they had firm and soft pillows for preference. We had absolutely no shower gel/shampoo in the bathroom dispenser upon check in, and only one towel for all four of us to share. And as most of us know, after a long day of traveling its nice to take a shower once you arrive in your room. The front desk staff was busy, but always seemed to help us with directions or other stuff. We were moderately pleased with the stay aside from the weird musty/beachy smell of the hotel halls and our room. The bit that really disturbed us was that we had $400 US Dollars stolen out of our luggage in our room. We brought it as a back up in case we had to exchange the money. We didn't have a need for it so it stayed, untouched where we put it in our suitcase in a notebook. As soon as we arrived home, we noticed the money missing. We tried contacting the hotel by phone and email to speak with a manager, but were unsuccessful. We were very angry and hurt that someone on the staff would do such a thing. Its very unnerving and in all our years of traveling all over the world this was a first. There was no safe in the room, if there were we would have used it. Be aware! Don't leave any valuables or money in your room even if its hidden in something!!!!

Room Tip: beware of your belongings and valuables in your room!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sjdj82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Port Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear sjdj82,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Alicante Playa De San Juan, Spain. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Holiday Inn what are you doing in Spain with this hotel, it's poor. Booked as UK ones are very good and I use you often.
Arrived 19th Sept for 3 days and given a twin room which stunk of smoke, booked a double room all non smoking. Rusty bath, wallpaper coming off the wall, 2 large holes in the net curtain and as previous user reports air con is on last legs. We asked reception to find another room only to be told on the 3rd occasion we are full. We offered to go to another hotel and were told no refund as we had booked advance super saver. I reminded them that they were in breach of contract on their side, still no luck even though we had booked on the Holiday Inn web site. Went to the swimming pool to cool off and guess what the loungers do collapse, twice in one hour, cheap rubbish. Spanish hotels are normally very good, not this one. Immediately sent an email to Holiday Inn head office compliments of the free wi fi ( one good thing so you can complain) will wait to see what they say.
Had no option but to eventually bring luggage from car and use room until tomorrow arrives so we can take it further. If things improve we will update the review. In the meantime don't book it. Never moaned before. Room 113 facing the car park.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MauimanManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Port Alicante, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear MauimanManchester,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Alicante Playa De San Juan, Spain. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews