We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again!”
Review of Hotel Goya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Goya
Ranked #46 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Never again!”
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We stayed in Goya Hotel in December 2010. You get what you pay for. Small, old room, thin walls, you can hear everything happening in the next rooms. Small bathroom, the old heating system. It is not central. Approximately 1 km. from the city comercial center and 2 km from the city historic center.
The small restaurant on the first floor of the hotel is small, cosy and cheap enough.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SofiaGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    31
    77
    47
    84
See reviews for
32
91
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

First impressions last, how true in this case. Booked this online for a weekend stay and never even rested my head there. Was meet at the reception by the most arrogant man I have ever had the misfortune to come across. " YOU ASK ME IF I SPEAK ENGLISH FIRST" he screamed, this is how I was greeted. Glad I never stayed here judging by the reviews. Lost my money but ended up staying at a nicer hotel near the beach at a cheaper cost. Also this hotel is nowhere near the beach. A total discrace.
I work in the tourist industry in Scotland where we meet our guests with respect, if this is how you do it in Spain then shame on you!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dingomarshall30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alicante hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We have just come back from a weekend break at the Hotel Goya in Alicante, we paid just £99 for 3 night bed and breakfast for the two of us. The hotel is a little bit of a walk from the beach - about 15 minutes but the walk is a pleasure. The bedroom and bathroom were clean and tidy and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast was the usual continental style, croissants, coffee etc. Hotel staff were efficient and friendly - just one small comment about our bathroom, the shower cubicle was very small so if you are on the larger size you may have a problem fitting in! All in all the hotel was fantastic value for money and we will definately go back there.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Soozie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

It is on top of the hill but not too bad location because of the metro station 5 minutes and public transport is clean and fast also reception is friendly but breakfast poor quality rooms are small you need to go there with no expectations and use the room for shower and sleep.Next time will book somewhere on the beach and pay 10 euros more.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fyurday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Have been in this hotel during last June, it wasnt nice at all
when i opened the room, found a cockroach in the room between the 2 beds, it was very nasty, the room wasnt clean, the bathroom as well, and the tv was since 1985 or even older !! i am wondering how it was working !! dont go , an look for something better

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zigho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromsø
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2010

Notting fancy, but I kind of like small hotels. The room was small but OK. Breakfast was basic. There is a charming cafeteria next door in combination with the hotel.

Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrOlzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We have just had a weekend away and stayed here in the Hotel Goya . it was very clean, tidy, and very comfortable. The staff very friendly and also spoke english. The food was good and very reasonable priced. Definatley would recomend to a friend and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chrissy2444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
2.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Alicante
Ibis Budget Alicante
#34 of 49 in Alicante
345 reviews
2.4 mi away
Daniya Alicante
Daniya Alicante
#38 of 49 in Alicante
227 reviews
0.8 mi away
Campanile Alicante
Campanile Alicante
#19 of 49 in Alicante
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ibis Hotel Alicante
Ibis Hotel Alicante
#21 of 49 in Alicante
215 reviews
2.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Alicante
B&B Hotel Alicante
#23 of 49 in Alicante
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal La Lonja
Hostal La Lonja
#27 of 49 in Alicante
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goya

Property: Hotel Goya
Address: Calle Maestro Breton 19, 03004 Alicante, Spain (Formerly Goya Hotel de Alicante)
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Mercado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Goya 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Goya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing