We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but similar food every morning”
Review of Hotel Albahia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Albahia
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Alicante
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Stayed on 2011, september. The hotel is really worth 3-star category or even 3+. The only disadvantage is similar food variaty and every morning. We stayed all week - absolutly no changes. No vegetables at all though it is Spain. Dinner was ok, but no soup every day.
The room was large, clean and bright. The view from the balcony was great - sea and palms. The bathroom was renewed recently.
The location of the hotel is near the beach and tram station in a quiet place.
In conclusion, we can call it 3+ star hotel, worth the money we had paid. Would return.

Room Tip: ask for sea-view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

I was at Albahia two weeks ago, the stay was perfect, the rooms were big and clean, staff was very friendly and the connections to Alicante city centre were close by.
Raquel

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raquel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I read these reviews prior to departure and was terrified I would be staying in the hotel from hell! All I will say is that half these people were expecting the ritz or are just your usual 'moany-Brits-abroad'!

Location:The hotel is located 20 minutes from the airport and will cost around 20 euros in a metered taxi so don't bother to book a transfer in advance. The hotel sits on a beautiful stretch of coastline in a mainly residential area and is part of a block of flats ( not as bad a it sounds!) the beach outside the hotel is rocky but there is a beach 7minutes walk away that is lovely and also one near the town centre! The Marina and town centre are 20 minutes walk away so we never bothered with a taxi.

Rooms: Our room was clean and modern with clean sheets, good aircon, LCD tv, lovely big shower and modern decor. Towels are changed every day and balcony with gorgeous view!

Food: Breakfast was average, mostly cold cuts, cottage cheese and fruits...don't expect a full English or anything spectacular! Don't bother with dinner, the price is way too expensive (40 euros for 2 people) for below average meals.

All in all, I was pleasantly surprised I would recommend for a short stay ( we stayed for four nights) but no longer also irritating that pool closes for 2 hours between 2:30/4:30 and is closed in winter months!

Hope you have a good holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iloveholidays_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Myself and a friend are just back from Alicante, this hotel was lovely very clean, towels changed each day! Bar food was ok not much of a variety but did it's job, breakfast not worth the 9 euro everyday to be honest, but you can get bites in the bar for cheaper!! Pool was perfect not too busy but it did close every day from 2.30-4.30 so not very happy with that! Not much of a variety of restaurants around this hotel so you would have to go into Alicante which was 2 bus stops away which was fine, a tram service also available about a 6 minute walk from hotel. As we were wanting to go clubbing we went to benidorm quite a bit, get the tram it is however an hour away and only 3.50 And you can get a bus from station for 4.00 euro not bad!! Benidorm great fun depending on what you are looking for the square is the spot for all the clubs and bars defo worth a night out!! Make sure u check out tram timetable (available at hotel reception) last tram to benidorm is around half 9 and earliest tram back is 6ish in the morning, so we went out late and got back early!!! Latest bus e got was 12.30 took half hour!!!!! Hope this review was helpful if I were to book again I'd defo stay in benidorm!!! Only thing is taxi will cost around 75 euro from airport so get bus!!!! 2 Irish girls in late 20's

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carliecoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

A friend and I decided on this hotel because it offered plenty of tennis courts and we wanted to be able to play every day. The hotel is about a twenty-five minute walk from the centre of Alicante, although it's a walk alongside a main road, so nicer to take a tram from a few mins away from the hotel into town. We also got the tram out to one of the larger beaches. Trams run until about midnight, and later on the weekends.

The communal areas of the hotel are clean and cool. Nice bar and restaurant area. The pool is excellent - nothing fancy but a good plenty big enough and deep enough to do some proper swimming, even when there are families in there as well. Lots of sun loungers, and as the other guests seemed to largely be families, or couples in their twenties or older, it was a pretty relaxed atmosphere. Lots of tennis courts at 5 euros and hour - all hard courts and a little lumpy in places, but very serviceable. Gym is very smaller, basically a running machine, a bike and some free weights - also boiling!

Our room was very clean like the rest of the hotel, and comfy. Certainly spacious enough for two guys for a few days. Bathroom likewise. Overall it was comfortable and perfectly adequate for a few nights but lacked any wow factor or the crispness of the lobby and bar - it looked a bit worn out in places, such as chipped tiles in the bathroom, an old chipped desk in the bedroom, and dated looking plumbing. Aircon was a bit lackluster and noisy - glad I brought ear plugs!

There was plenty of food available for breakfast but rather like the room it was adequate but rough around the edges. Everything seemed to have been out for two long, so was dry/cold/warm etc when it shouldn't have been. Could have done with being delivered in smaller batches to avoid this. Although the quality was questionable, there was plenty there, so we filled up well each morning.

We ate once at the restaurant, but for the money there are much better things to be found in town.

Overall - a relaxed hotel which seemed to cater largely for spanish families and older friends/couples - so in no way lively. Great for tennis and pool and relaxation which was what we wanted, and only a very short tram ride from town and some big beaches. A bit let down by worn looking room, and rather tired breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ResearchTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We went with 2 adults and 3 children on first impressions of the outside i thought it looked awful but parked in the car park attatched and went in to a gorgeous hotel, they were really accomodating when we got there and even upgraded us as there was so many of us and they had a few rooms left. The room was gorgeous with a view over the pool tennis courts and sea. The breakfast was also great! The hotel is situated about 30 minute walk from the marina but nice walk along the sea and there are buses and trams from the marina that stops outside the hotel, overall great value for money would definately go again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mel262516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

This is a nice hotel located next to a really scenic part of town. Outside of the hotel does not reflect the quality of the inside of the rooms.
The rooms have ample space, an LCD TV, and a balcony. The bathrooms are also very spacious.
Outside of the hotel, there are connecting buses and trams to Alicante city centre. Bus stop is about 5 min walk up a steep driveway at the main road. Buses are about every 20 mins during work hours, and run 24 hours. After 11pm, the buses are less frequent at one every hour. The bus numbers to and from this hotel are 21 and 22. The Trams are about a 7-10 min walk. The closest tram stop to the hotel is La Isleta, the trams actually go all the way to Denia (via Benidorm) from this stop. The cost of one trip to the City Centre is €1.25 per person each way.
The hotel receptionist was very helpful and quickly organised the keys to our room. After reading other disappointed traveller's reviews, I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel room.
The water next to the hotel is not sandy, but rocky and not suitable for swimming, but the receptionist told us that there was a sandy beach about a 10 min walk from the hotel .
I also booked the hotel straight from their own website. The prices were cheaper on Albahia website than other 'discounted' hotel room website.
Also hotel provides free wifi.
This is a very good hotel and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chadsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 50 in Alicante
1,353 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Cabo de las Huertas
Hotel Mio Cid
Hotel Mio Cid
#29 of 50 in Alicante
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Playa de San Juan
Almirante Hotel
Almirante Hotel
#12 of 50 in Alicante
391 reviews
B&B Hotel Alicante
#24 of 50 in Alicante
445 reviews
Hotel Castilla Alicante
#15 of 50 in Alicante
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albahia

Address: Calle Sol Naciente 6 | Albufereta, 03016 Alicante, Spain (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Albahia)
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Alicante
Price Range: £26 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albahia 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Mirai, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Albahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albahia Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing