We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good holiday, not luxury”
Review of Hotel Albahia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Albahia
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good holiday, not luxury”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We got a cheap last minute deal online, the hotel doesn't look good from outside I must admit, but inside it is nice and clean, good views from the bar to the sea, sufficient breakfast and dinner. Staff don't speak very good English but it has its Spanish charm..we had some good laughs and wasn't expecting luxury for the price. We both work in luxury hotels so we were absolutely satisfied with the level of service we got here because it is 3 stars!!! A bit out of town, 20 mins walk to the centre or you can take the bus, it's quite easy. In the evening we sat in the outside bar playing cards and having some drinks, it was good fun, very relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kata1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbahiaTyB, Revenue manager at Hotel Albahia, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear guest,

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at the Best Western Hotel Albahia. Thank you for taking the time to write this helpful review. We appreciate it all the more as it comes from hotel trade professionels.

We would be delighted to welcome you again if you come back to Alicante.

Best regards

Lola Llorca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    211
    140
    40
    53
See reviews for
109
270
16
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, Kwazulu-natal, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Beautifully decorated: crisp, clean, serene...well, that''s until you get to your room: the room itself again crisp, clean, beautifully decorated...but serenity rushes away every 15 minutes by means of the Tram Line that runs behind all the rooms without sea-views...your window looks out onto a stone wall 3 storey high which is the infrastructure of the Tram Line...so, between 5.30am until 23.45pm you have the tram vibrating past EVERY 15 MINUTES...be very warned!! this fact not mentioned on their web-site of course...very nasty surprise indeed. Further to this, very little english spoken and staff not very professional, its a bit of Fawlty Towers...Tapas & breakfast very good...far walk to the swimming pool which is only available 10.30am-14.30pm & again 16.30pm-20.30pm...if a hotel offers a swimming pool, i want 24hour access...gorgeous beaches close-by...terrible landscaping and un-kept grounds towards the tennis courts & swimming pool...reception rather rude and dismissive...i asked for a face towel and i was left feeling very intrusive of their time...30 minutes after arrival realising the Tram Scam, i asked for an up-grade to the sea view rooms at 15 Euro extra, but this request also turned out to be intrusive of Receptions time when i queried it the next day...apparently i made this request to the wrong person & my room was already cleaned, blah blah blah...when you make a request with anybody at reception you dont expect it must be directed to a ''special reception person''...reception is reception...and the on-duty reception person never instructed me to make this request to some or other ''special reception person'' who deals with these requests...4 nights of Tram Scam!!! GROAN!!

Room Tip: ...the sea-view rooms only!! but before your eyes reach the partial sea views you must over look the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank room108_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbahiaTyB, Revenue manager at Hotel Albahia, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at the Best Western Hotel Albahia and taking the time to give us your opinion.

However, we would like to highlight that, after talking with you of the problem of the noise, you were proposed to move to a superior room, as you mentionned it. We deplore that you turned down this proposition not to pack yourluggage again and were annoyed by any sounds during your stay.

Feel free to try again staying among us anytime, you will be welcomed.

Best regards,

Lola Llorca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alicante hotels

Shoreham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This Hotel is ok if you are into Tennis but I would not recommend it for a short break to Alicante. The hotel is clean and the breakfast is not bad. The rooms could do with a fridge so you can store stuff and chill down drinks.

The swimming pool is not open until June and there are no real beaches or places to sunbath if you are looking to just relax.

If you want a late check out unless you are will to pay for another night's stay forget it. There is no place to shower if you leave yours cases on the last day and go to the beach then return to collect them, so it's not worth leaving your cases as it's to far out to go back for them. I do have to say that the staff where nice, but they are tied to the rules and there's no room for flexibility.

As the hotel is a way out from Alicante you will need to use the bus or the tram system, they are both good and you can buy a card which gives you trips at a very low cost. These cards are available from the main ticket offices in Alicante. When you enter the tram or bus you need to swipe the card for each person. ie if you purchase a card with 10 trips and there are two of you travelling you swipe the card twice and it deducts the trips from the total. Very good system. You can also top up the card on the tram but the machines can be a little dodgy but people do always try to help. The beaches further away from Alicante (still in zone A for travelling) are better and cleaner so try them, they are worth the trip.

Room Tip: Do pay for sea view or you'll be facing the tram line, not so good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diversx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbahiaTyB, Revenue Manager at Hotel Albahia, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear guest ,
we appreciatte your opinion, but I must inform you that there are 3 little beaches just on left of the building. Besides, you can get the Albufereta beach ( sand beach) just 500meters from Best Western Albahía Tennis and Business.
I regret you didn´t enjoy as you expected.
My best regards.
Lola Llorca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed for a week in April, my present to hubby for his 60th birthday. We were both delighted with the room which was spotless and spacious. I booked a superior room with a terrace and sea view and we used the terrace a great deal. The staff were friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: superior rooms are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank welshTricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbahiaTyB, Revenue Manager at Hotel Albahia, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for your honest opinion.
All staff of Best Western hotel Albahía, apreciate that you spend your time in informing us about your experience.
I hope you visit us in Alicante next time.
we will be delighted!!
My best regards.

Lola Llorca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I was staying in this hotel for four nights and wasn't dissapointed at all. From outside building looks a bit scary, but inside is absolutely perfect and it looks exactly the same as in a pictures. I got great room in second floor with balcony and sea view, amazing bathroom! The rooms was cleaded every day. Gym is free for guest, which is not big, but you got all basic equipments. Location is real good, it's not town centre, but just about 20 minutes walking and 10 minutes from other beach. At night time was calm and peacefull what is good of you're staying with kids. Breakfast wasn't part of my room, but I enjoy amazing cappuccino and different pasties every morning for perfect value. Also you can have breakfast in the restaurant for 9 euros. There was just two small minus: not all staff members can speak english, so it was a bit difficult to understand each other and also there was written that u can chech out later just have to inform receptionist, but I had to sign out till twelve and there is no place to keep your laggauage safe if you have late flight. But despite that, thanks for all hotel staff. I definetely recommend this hotel for my friends!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maza_smilga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbahiaTyB, Revenue Manager at Hotel Albahia, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Good morning,

Thank you for you opinion about Best Western Hotel Albahía Tennis and Business, we appreciate it.

We have a room for the luggages, in front of reception and for free, you just have to ask to the receptionist. Sorry if there was a confusion.

We are glad of your opinion, and it's with happiness that we will receive you again, as your friends.

Lola Llorca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on our first visit to Alicante on the weekend before Easter and out of season it was quiet and very good value. The hotel is part of a massive 8 or 9 floor apartment complex built right next to the coastal cliff face and occupies part of floors 1 to 3. It is 5 minutes drive from Alicante and well connected by public transport in the form of the coastal tramway.

We paid a small supplement for a superior room with a sea view and it was well worth it, even if we spent our first night on the 1st floor, where the lock up garages in front occupied rather too much of our sea view! The staff, who were always friendly and helpful, changed us the next day
to the second floor. Both rooms were comfortable, spacious, impeccably clean, nicely decorated in Mediterranean white and had a small balcony with a table and two chairs with a view over palm trees, tennis courts and the sea.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor and a sea view. Here you’re insulated from the apartments above and much hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brucetaylortravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbahiaTyB, Revenue Manager at Hotel Albahia, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
All staff of Best Western Albahía Tennis and Business want to thank you for your coment.
We wish you come back to visit us in Alicante soon. It would be a pleasure and we would be delighted.
My best regards.
Lola Llorca
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pa.
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

After spending two days touring Valencia we headed to our hotel by the beach. We were not disappointed. What a beautiful location. Our room was a sea view at the second floor level and we had a balcony that looked out without restrictions of any kind--perfect. The beach was a ten minute walk from the hotel or you could just walk along the street and bulkhead in front of the hotel and enjoy the Mediterrean anywhere you wanted as there were benches everywhere. This is really a pretty spot and there were several restaurants if you wanted to stop for a glass of wine or a tapas to enjoy the day. The bonus here was that you caught a perfect sunrise off the sea in the morning and as the moon was in a waning mode we were able to see it set behind the mountains as the sun was coming up. What an awesome sight----all free too! The staff at the hotel was great and the housekeeper especially nice, as my wife and I know a little bit of spanish and she had fun with us with the language. There is a restaurant here, that looks out over the water and offers breakfast and dinner. We only stayed here two nights, but I could spend several weeks here, no problem. It is just beautiful.

Room Tip: The pool is open during the summer months. The hotel has rooms in the back that look onto a street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfer02_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbahiaTyB, Revenue Manager at Hotel Albahia, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear guest,
I appreciate to much your opinion about Albahía Tennis and Business and I thank you for it.
All staff are delighted that you enjoyed your holidays in Alicante and we wish you come back again when it be possible.
All best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
1,167 reviews
NH Alicante
#3 of 49 in Alicante
643 reviews
B&B Hotel Alicante
#23 of 49 in Alicante
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Daniya Alicante
#36 of 49 in Alicante
227 reviews
Hotel Castilla Alicante
#11 of 49 in Alicante
543 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albahia

Property: Hotel Albahia
Address: Calle Sol Naciente 6 | Albufereta, 03016 Alicante, Spain (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Albahia)
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albahia 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Albahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albahia Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing