We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Albahia
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Castilla Alicante(Alicante)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hospes Amerigo(Alicante)
US$201
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Maya Alicante(Alicante)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Melia Alicante(Alicante)
US$204
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Mio Cid(Alicante)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveller rating
148
244
155
45
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
244
155
45
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstennis courtssea viewbottom floorsla isletamin walktram stoplarge apartmentlarge swimming poolalicante town centrenice hoteltram servicerestaurant staffwe stayed half boardclean towelsspeak good englishrelaxing staystayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 647 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

LOVERS BEWARE, a double room seems to consist of two single beds pushed together. Ours was.

An odd building which is mostly private apartments with the hotel taking up the lower three floors in the central area of a very large apartment block.

Recently refurbished, the interior is very nice, but please get a sea view room. Those that aren't are at the back of the building which is a few yards from a huge cliff. The windows in these rooms are high level, and only for letting in light. besides which you would be looking onto the local tram line.

Place seemed mostly for Spanish people, so if you don't speak any Spanish at all it could get tricky. The restaurant is very busy at breakfast, and the dinner service can be very slow. We were there in late September, and it was very bad one night, but the waiter (only one) said we should see it during August......BEWARE.

15 minute walk from main sandy beach, but little rocky coves close by with a couple of bar/restaurants which close about 5ish out of season.

Room Tip: You must book a sea view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbahiaTyB, Revenue Manager at Hotel Albahia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear Andy,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western Hotel Albahía we strive every day to provide a superior customer experience. I am sorry we weren’t able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future.

Because we value your business, we would like to provide you with a _25___% discount to use towards a future stay. When you’re ready to use this discount, please contact me directly and I will personally assist you with your reservation.

Please consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with superior service. You can reach me directly at +34 965155979.

Yours sincerely,

Lola Llorca
Revenue Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Albahia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

It's says on the tin: business and tennis. I came to this hotel to relax for a few days. I was looking for a quiet location, near to the seafront with tennis courts, reasonable price and a large swimming pool. All the ticks were ticked when I found this hotel on BA Holidays website.

The pool is huge and not so busy. A bit dated but nice trees around, adequate lounging space and you can buy ice creams and beer by the pool.

The tennis courts are not particularly busy, tidy and you can rent your balls and stuff from the reception.

I simply do not understand, why people are giving a negative review to this hotel someone actually complained that the pool was small, which is not true. Try swimming 5 lengths!!!!

The rooms are what you pay for I.e a budget hotel.

The Restaurant has a nice selection of food and drinks.

There is a convenience store 3 minutes walk away, open until 11 pm. The bus stop is nearby and the taxi journey to the Main Marina in Alicante is a mere eur6 one way. For a group of 2 or 3 it is the best option- taxi.

I've been to Alicante before and absolutely have no problem staying in this very hotel, at the same price I have paid to relax, detox, play tennis and have a relaxing time.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank German L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbahiaTyB, Revenue Manager at Hotel Albahia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear German,
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +34 965155979.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Lola Llorca
Revenue Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Albahia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Never again! This budget hotel is situated between Alicante (ten min away) & Benidorm (60 min away). It is "wedged" between a sheer cliff face and the sea. It is a deeply unattractive, brick clad building more reminiscencent of a seventies council block! It appears to be part of a huge number of local private apartments with all the activities/noise that goes with it. The interior is clean & modern with a tiny reception/dining area. It has a small gym & childrens play area. The rooms are adequate with modern fittings & daily maid service but we paid £E 3 per day extra for room with balcony overlooking tennis courts/sea. God help you if you get room at front of hotel facing the cliff & rail line! The whole area is surrounded by massive sky scraper flats & steep roads/steps. I would not recommend this location for those who cannot climb hills, as in hot weather it's diabolical!

There is a small swimming pool & several man made coves with tiny beaches beyond the tennis courts. There is a large sandy beach further along which can only be reached by 20min walk along an upper road. But there is a distinct smell of drains all around the area & a large storm drain empties directly onto the sandy beach which after the rain closes beach to swimming!

There is no entertainment of any kind at this hotel & nothing nearby. But Alicante is only 10mins away by a frequent bus service on top road (very steep climb!) Or Benidorm by tram takes about an hour. So if you looking for cheap & cheerful go to Benidorm, the old town is full of narrow winding streets full of shops,bars etc. & that's where we'll stay next time. But Alicante has wonderful old buildings, the magnificient Castel Barbara, sophisticated shops & loads of real Spanish tapas bars. The beach is fantastic & there's a large marina nearby. Both resorts are on flat, easy to walk stretches with plenty of shady parks & delighful squares. Both places come alive at nightime with bright market stalls & plenty to see.

Regardless where ever you go, the places are spotlessly clean & tidy unlike Britain! The Spanish are as friendly & helpful as ever, even with a language barrier. Transport is no problem as it runs on time & is dirt cheap! I won't be going back to Albahia!

Room Tip: If you must stay at this hotel get a room at the back over looking sea & pay the extra for a balcony!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidjames47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We made the booking last minute and were eager not to pay too expensive. We thought that the proposed price was reasonable compared to what we had seen on the internet.

The hotel from the outside when getting there by car looks rather scary. An enormous apartment complex stuck to a giant rock (the hotel seems to occupy a few floors only of this apartment building). In front of the hotel there is a one way street (partially without a pavement) on which you have to walk to the tram stop, which is not too far away. And you got the railway right behind that street.

We got to the hotel around midnight and were tired, but the receptionist was busy with a guest, complaining about an extra bed, and had us wait. It first did not bother us much but then we realized that this would be long and we had to insist he would hand us the key and that we would come back to take care of the administrative stuff.

So we did and were surprised that the receptionist wanted us to pay the entire stay in advance. We had booked through a booking system with no prepayment and when we said that his request was not normal he said that the entire stay would be quite some money and that he wanted us to pay all or at least half. We could have probably refused but we were too tired, but still had the spirit to only pay half because the room we had discovered quickly was not really to our liking.

Our room:
dark, looked oldish (nothing like the one we saw on the net although I later passed in front of one that looked a bit like the internet picture), first floor (2 floors below the reception) with a view onto the garages, of which you could make abstraction if lifting your eyes a bit to see an abandoned looking hotel ground with tennis courts above the garages (and a glimpse of the sea). The little balcony was a good surprise - we could have had a room to the other side, which would have meant a rock in front of our nose.
The little entry hall was isolating the noise of people passing by. In case you feel like having kids and want some training ask for a room next to a family with a newborn and you can get used to their schedule - all this to say, walls were pretty thin and once in a while from the outside we heard a machine noise that seem to come from an automatic garage door.
Big cupboard and the bathroom was big too with a window onto the balcony, always good to let of steam.
There was no minibar in the room and the most surprising thing was the safe: You pay 1 EUR to lock your valuables...but in case you need anything during your stay and open the safe and want to lock it again you pay another EUR. I wonder who invented this and even more who uses it!?!?
Air-condition worked, but too cold and could not be regulated and was noisy. So once in a while at night you have to go and cut it before you freeze and turn it on again before melting away.

The hotel hall was weird, narrow, very long, very white with neo lights, it made me think of an asylum, perfect for a movie scene. The reception, lounge and bar part looked nice and welcoming with a nice sea view. The hotel in general is very clean and the reception staff, apart from the arrival part, was very friendly too.

The breakfast buffet was not really worth the getting up on time. Did not look very appetizing and the juice and coffee from the machine were not convincing.

The swimming pool is at a few minutes walk next to the tennis courts - on the internet the swimming pool looked nice, the magic of pictures, it was taken from above, so no wire fences were shown. The pool was small, but clean, perfectly suitable to cool down and have a little swim.

The situations of the hotel is fine, tram takes you to the center of Alicante (or to Benidorm/Denia if you go the other direction) in about 15 minutes, very reasonably priced and quick. Last tram back around 11pm, unless you fall on high season and weekend when time schedules are adapted to Spain's party life and seem to run a lot later.
The beach Albuferete looked nice (we only saw it at night time) and is a few meters further than the tram station. Some small creeks just down to the left of the hotel where you also find several restaurants, both well visited by local people living in the apartments in one of the buildings around the hotel or the hotel building itself. There is a nice family ambiance.

All in all I would say if you get a really good deal, if you are not a breakfast person and you don't mind taking the tram to get into town, you can book that hotel without hesitating. But ask for a seaside room, the rock could get you depressed.
We left the hotel after 3 nights as we got for the last 3 days for almost the same price a much better hotel in the middle of Alicante (probably because that was not including a weekend).
www.heavytraveladdict.com

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We arrived to this hotel at twelve o clock at night , thinking it was the room that I had booked on the Internet it was early June , I was traveling with my son , sister and nephew . What a fright I got the room was a tiny my son who is 13 years of age was on a pull out bed that we had to pull out to let my nephew into his bed , and pull it the other way to open the balcony door not that you would want to look at the view it was of dead grass dead burnt flowers , so thank god I got my money back and got out of their the staff did not bother the fact that the room we had seen on the Internet was not even in the hotel , so just be very careful when booking this hotel , this is my second time putting this post up as it was taking down not sure how . I have to plug alicante hills it was great nice and clean and got a fab big apartment would go back again look it up staff so so nice .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lindamurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews