We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If all you need is an inexpensive room/base then this is fine.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Albahia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Albahia
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“If all you need is an inexpensive room/base then this is fine.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

If all you need is an inexpensive room/base (or want to play lots of tennis) then this is fine. If you are looking for a nice hotel with a beach and lots of places within walking distance then this isn't the hotel for you.
Positives-large clean room and bathroom (because of the exterior your expectations are very low so the room looks great upon first inspection-but it is ok)
Close to tram stop
Free wifi
Free parking
Negatives
No pool until Sunday 1st June (day after we leave). Wasn't on website through mobile devices and did explain this when we arrived that the reason we booked here was because we thought it had a pool ( and it was cheap- remember, you get what you pay for and in this case you certainly do). Reception asked for me to take a screen shot of this on my phone and email them which I did- the outcome a mention,I think, of the word sorry from 'duty' manager the next day- she will inform the web designer (nothing else).
Some noise from trams (from early in the morning)...it's not a quiet hotel and yes the walls really are that thin!
No beach
Not much choice for hot food at breakfast (pastry/breads/cheeses all fresh and fine if you want to have continental).
Looks awful from the outside (I had read the reviews but even that didn't prepare me when we arrived). The hotel is underneath a large, old and tired apartment block. Inside is much better.
On route to the tram/beach there is a small supermarket. The beach (5-10min walk) was lovely, very clean and quiet. (But no amenities-maybe until 1st June?). There were a small selection of bars/restaurants/shops under the bridge up the stairs on the right. The walk to Alicante beach was a little longer (about 30mins). Do explore the streets that run at the back of the main road in Alicante (opposite the marina area) a plethora of cafés, restaurants and squares. Far nicer than the seafront restaurants.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAlbahia, Revenue Manager at Hotel Albahia, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Google Translation
Estimada Kim,

Gracias por usar su tiempo para escribir sobre nuestro hotel y dar su opinión. Todos los comentarios son útiles para mejorarnos.
Estamos encantados de que haya disfrutado de la limpieza de las habitaciones.
Como se menciona en su post, hay un tranvía, y también el autobús para ir al centro. Además, la primera playa (Albufereta) está a 5 minutos andando.Tenemos buenas noticias, a finales junio, se inaugura el nuevo paseo que conectará el hotel Best Western Albahía con Alicante y su playa. Hay 20 minutos andando hasta la playa del Postiguet.
El hotel es muy tranquilo por su ubicación en una zona residencial.

Esperamos verle pronto en nuestro hotel.

Lola Llorca,
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    195
    129
    39
    51
See reviews for
104
243
16
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I arrived with my two children to what looks like a bad council estate wedged next to a cliff. Do not come here if you have small children or a disability the walk to the bus stop is VERY steep. The pool was closed on the website it says seasonal we arrived 21/5 and apparently season doesn't start till01/6. There is one small local shop there are no decent cafés/restaurant within easy walking distance everything is a bus ride away other than one beach but no cafés or anything on this bracket. Def would not recommend in fact we stayed one night and are checking out.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 020blondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAlbahia, Revenue Manager at Hotel Albahia, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Mr/s,

Thank you for expose your coment regarding your recent stay at Best Western Hotel Albahía.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
In reference to your coment I must tell you that there are at least 4 restaurants and bars in the area , but maybe you didn´t walk in front of the hotel and you couldn´t see them.
The childrens enjoy very much cos it is very quiet and have espace to play.The swiming pool is open on summer time, we inform in all place of it.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at +34 965155979.


Sincerely,

Lola Llorca
Revenue Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Albahia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alicante hotels

Western Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Don´t judge the hotel by the looks of it. It´s completely different from inside. Everything is ok and a three star rating is deserved. Staff should be able to speak a bit better English, but that seemed to be the problem where ever You went (in Alicante) Soundproofing needs a major update. Swimming pool wasn´t open until june. That´s a big minus. Still, well worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAlbahia, Revenue Manager at Hotel Albahia, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Matti,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel. Indeed, your opinion is very important for us because it allows us to better understand the wants and expectations of our customers in order to satisfy more.

Moreover, we apologize for any inconvenience you are experiencing. However, the majority of our staff speak English but we are constantly trying to improve ourselves so that our English-speaking customers are the most comfortable possible. Regarding noise, know that it is mainly due to some works of renovations that will be completed very soon. Thus, you will soon hear no more than the sound of waves.

Hoping to see you soon among us.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at +34 965155979.

Yours sincerely,

Lola Llorca
Revenue Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Albahia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Quite basic rooms/ food availability but reasonably priced for a short break. Rooms cleaned daily, flat screen tv with a few English channels and close to beach. 10 min taxi ride to port or 15min walk to tram line. Pool only open June-sept which was a little disappointing. Hotel quite noisy so take ear plugs if you want a lie in/ early night. Alicante isn't very touristy either so hard to change money or go to bars etc. All hotel staff nice and helpful especially receptionist Alberto - very nice man.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank emma m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAlbahia, Revenue Manager at Hotel Albahia, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Emma,

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment ! We are pleased that the location of the hotel you satisfied.Your opinion is very important for us because it allows us to better understand the wants and expectations of our customers in order to satisfy more.

We hope to see you soon in our hotel !

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at +34 965155979

Yours sincerely,

Lola Llorca,
Revenue Manager
Best Western Albahia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Close to the beach, ten minutes , close to bus stop five minutes and then five minutes to Alicante, close to tramseven minutes and then Calpe,Denis,Altea and Benidorm become close too!
The hotel was excellent value but from the moment we booked you had a good feeling, emails were answered promptly by Christina, after an early morning departure from home we arrived at hotel Albahia courtesy of the c6 bus from the airport to Puerto del mar 3.85 euro and then two stops on the 21 or 22 ,1.45 euro alighted at villajoysa 10 and five minutes later arrived at reception of the hotel (3 floors of the building).
Excellent service commenced from the moment we arrived,well before the stated booking in time, xxx, gave us so much helpful advice and our sea view room was already for us, in Alicante hotel room before midday, would not expect this next time (hope to return with the girls) but an encouraging start. Room was good, lovely sitting area, balcony and bathroom, bed is large and comfortable .
Pity the hotel swimming pool did not open earlier than June and we had packed Susan's gymwear.
At night after one less than favourable meal nearby we ate in the restaurant, romantic measls at 19.50 incl wine five course and glass of cava were excellent value, the daily menu at 12,50 also offered a good three course option. Hectic on 1 may, small restaurant when all wish to eat. A good start was a beer at the scvuba bar, its a little much at the hotel and having Heineken on draught why no it estrella, San Miguel, Alhambra or other Spanish beer.
Tip second floor room might reduce noise from garages that woke Susan.

We leave shortly and it is with Sadness, they say a business is as strong as its staff, this one is very strong, thank you to all but especially Ana and Xxxxx sorry I am getting old, was it Henri he has been off for the last few days so it is expected that I will forget.

Room Tip: Second floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paultrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAlbahia, Revenue Manager at Hotel Albahia, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Paultrevor,

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment ! We are pleased that the location of the hotel you satisfied.
The pool will actually open in June, we welcome you once again with pleasure !
We also say thank you for the compliment on our restaurant. However, we apologize for the inconvenience that woke Susan.

We hope to see you in our hotel !

Lola Llorca, Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Connectivity to the Tram to Benidorm is 2 mins walk from the hotel. Rooms were one of the cleanest and overall view from the room is good. Generally found the hotel staff to be very helpful, Only complain is about the exterior look of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Nishikant A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAlbahia, Revenue Manager at Hotel Albahia, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Nishikant,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your opinion is very importante to us. We have taken into account your suggestion about hotel’s outside and you can already see that we started a garden. In the same way, know that all the team is working on this point so that our hotel’s outside as pleasant as interior.

Hoping to see you soon among us.

Yours sincerely,

Lola Llorca
Revenue Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Albahia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ternat, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We arrived at the hotel and it is not in a good area. It was in a small street and there was nothing around. The superior room is new except for the doors and window. There is a lot of noice from outside, because there is a street and parking between the hotel and the sea. There is no beach and nothing to see. The bed was hard, the bathroom is good, the terras and size of the room is also good. The breakfast was good and the staff is very friendly.
This hotel is good when you have or rent a car and for a few nights...

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room, it 's just 9 € more for 1 night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWAlbahia, Revenue Manager at Hotel Albahia, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Christine,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We also apologize for the inconvenience caused by the work but know that those above are almost completed and soon you will not listen to the sound of the sea.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at +34 965155979.

Yours sincerely,

Lola Llorca
Revenue Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Albahia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hotel Castilla Alicante
#13 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
B&B Hotel Alicante
#23 of 49 in Alicante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cabo de las Huertas
Hotel Mio Cid
Hotel Mio Cid
#30 of 49 in Alicante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 49 in Alicante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Playa de San Juan
Almirante Hotel
Almirante Hotel
#17 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albahia

Property: Hotel Albahia
Address: Calle Sol Naciente 6 | Albufereta, 03016 Alicante, Spain (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Albahia)
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albahia 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Albahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albahia Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing