We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't travel here if your English and expect high quality.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Alicante Golf
Ranked #28 of 50 Hotels in Alicante
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Travelled here for a birthday getaway with my husband for 4 nights for my 30th. We booked a non smoking room and on arrival was given a smoking room on the 1St floor. The room smelt disgusting!! Stale smoke and to top it off the only thing to hold the patio door closed was a small tiny bent bolt.
I went to reception to ask to change rooms to be told to return in an hour as they had no other rooms. After an hour we returned to be told no rooms available but would give us a free upgrade to a suite!! Our new room was fantastic. Clean big etc. Not the 4 * it like to suggest but better.
Sadly the hotel goes down hill from there...
1 lacking badly in staff.
2 because of lack of staff tables are not cleared, long waits for service (20 min wait for 2 drinks at the pool bar)
3 buffet breakfast avoid at all cost. Cold hot food and at 13 euros per person a huge let down.
4 location... this is not in alicante.. it's miles away. 35 euros each way in a taxi. Playa San Juan is a 10 min brisk walk away.. beach is amazing clean tidy and full of locals. Can't fault it.
5 eating out is not easy unless you like tapas or pizza... extremely lacking decent restaurant's here and it badly let's it down.
6 don't come here if ty out can't speak Spanish.. NO ONE speaks English here and it's impossible to read he menus..
Lastly don't waste your time on the hotel pool.. the sun beds need condeming... they hurt and dangerous. Too many palm trees to see the sun. Grass like a back yard and the pool is tiny not like the pictures like to make out. Oh and the spa is a small salon with no staff so even if u wanted a treatment u would need to find a English speaking person to tell u what u can have!! And don't trip on the very dangerous in door pool flooring!! You have been warned... not 4* English or any other nations standards.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank auroralillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

the hotel is about 35euros from the airport(20 minutes drive).the hotel and staff are friendly,they let as have are room at 11am when check in time is 4pm.the rooms are big,shower nice,shower gel and shampoo really smell bad,do not use they stink.the balcony view was good room 415.the tv was not good,we had about 50 channels only english speaking channels was sky world news,euro sport and bloomburg.the breakfast was ok(not the best)but the food in the rest of the hotel was proper bad.the hotel food was reasonable priced but tasted really bad.the beech is a 10 minute walk but when you get there it is pure delight.the beech is the hilight of the holiday.there is plenty of room for everyone,the water is clear and warm and plenty of water sports for use.the resterents are few and far between but we did find a little gem in milan pizza cafe bar(its oppisite the head tennis courts).overall its a nice place to stay for a weekend the downside is there are no english speaking staff or people in the area.

Room Tip: higher rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moyner32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We have stayed for a week at Husa Alicante in order to enjoy the beach in San Juan. The hotel is actually the only decent one in Playa de San Juan, and even though it is about 10-15min walk to the beach (about 1 km), we would choose Husa Alicante again.

The hotel is good according to Spanish standards: the rooms are basic but good, sleep quality is ok, noise level is ok (though some guests love slamming doors as of 7am). We have not used any of the hotel's facilities like bar and restaurant as we always went out, even for breakfast, what I would recommend to everyone staying on hotel basis in Spain. The pool area is nice though I imagine it to be too small in high season.

Overall a nice stay, as good as it gets in Spain.

Room Tip: Choose for superior room withg Golf course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlainAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

3rd time we have been - 1st time under Husa brand. Accept some comments by previous reviewer that some of the frills have gone and staff are busier but we found them very pleasant and helpful and had a great weekend

We flew out early Saturday as two couples and played at 14:30 that afternoon and then again on Sunday. We flew back late Monday so had 09:50 tee time that day. The hotel was relatively quiet with regard to residents but had weddings during the day both Saturday and Sunday - but this did not affect us as our rooms were well away from the action! If you are worried about noise then you might object to the two peacocks who were stridently vying for the attention of the peahen but I liked them.

I am used to slow golf in Spain and Portugal generally but on this occasion we had the afternoon rounds virtually to ourselves and on the Monday morning we had players in front and behind but we completed a four ball in 4hr 20 min. The course is really good and because the holes meander through the development most of them feel independent from the rest. Considering the course is hemmed in, it is a tribute to the design that you never really notice this.

I disagree with the previous reviewers comments about breakfast. Sure it had some shortcomings in that the hot food was tepid but the choice overall was vast. At least 5 types of fresh fruit as well as some tinned and stewed, freshly squeezed orange juice as well as about 4 commercial fruit juices. About 5 types of cheese and 2-3 types of chorizo/salami/ and both " plastic" ham and proper dry-cured ham. Spanish bacon and sausages are not the same as British but two of the three types of sausage were spicy and good and I avoided the beans, scrambled egg and anaemic ?frankfurter-style sausage. They also had a big selection of croissant, Danish pastries and cakes. So if the cooked breakfast wasn't to ones liking there was plenty of alternatives. The tea was dunking a tea bag which is never going to make a really good brew but the coffee was from a nespresso machine and was excellent.

The set price dinner including a perfectly acceptable bottle of wine between four was pretty good and was 18 euro each and room service which we had on the Monday afternoon was really excellent with a fillet steak and chips and a Caesar salad for 4,and a bottle of wine costing 25 euro a head

If you are a golfer you should try it, if not there are better situated hotels on the coast and further inland

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireTud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Booked a week at the Husa Alicante using Southend Airport as it's very local to me. We were going to play golf with a few days inbetween to check out Alicante and the surrounding areas.

We chose the Husa knowing that it's quite remote and far out of 'town' although we expected that there would be some night life on San Juan Plaza and we could get a cab or tram into Alicante.

There is no night life on San Juan so if buzzing cafes and pubs are your thing, this is not the right place to stay. In saying that though there is a very buzzy plaza just opposite with several cafes/restuarants/burger king etc just opposite and we were quite happy with this.

The Husa is lovely - i think its worth 3-4 stars. Staff are very friendly and although I speak some Spanish it was not necessary - staff all spoke English. We had a nice room (deluxe overlooking the golf course) however our view was obscured by palm trees and a higher room would have been nicer.

I have only 2 grumbles about the Husa - the breakfasts are absolutely dire and they really ought to do something about this as it brings the whole place down. I ended up eating cereal as the cooked and cold breakfasts are just awful. The hot food is cold (cold beans uggggghh) too which makes it worse.

The other niggle is that I booked a double bed, clarifying on 3 occasions with the agent that this was confirmed and then was given a twin when i got there with no option to change.

Everything else is great - free parking, easy acccess to the countryside and a cheap cab to Alicante.

The standout of this trip however was the golf course - loved it. The course is superb and I am so glad we booked 3 rounds on the same course. Even with this however, comes a negative - the play is EXTREMELY slow and this drove us nuts. They book everyone as a 4 ball and unless you insist they will pair you up with random strangers so that they can get more on the course. It is way oversubscribed and I found this annoying - we were quite happy to tee off in the afternoon (course is quite empty after about 2pm) and ended up changing 2 of our tee times because 5 and a half hours to go round is just ridiculous.

The above was an annoyance that i will avoid in future all over Spain as I believe this is quite common. We are going for the weekend again in May and I will be sure to book as late in the day as possible.

All round, I loved the holiday and will definitely go back to the Husa again

Room Tip: If golf is your thing and you want to overlook the golf course make sure you are on the third or 4th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I've been here recently, stayed for 3 nights. Hotel is beautiful, large and spacious. Breathtaking view over golf fields and mountain(room 430). Everyone was very friendly and helpful.

Rooms are strong 3*, maybe 3+*(ask for higher floor! no slippers and bathrobes, just ask for them at reception). They have body cream with disgusting smell! Take one with you! Same thing with shampoo and conditioner. If you have a room in the right wing looking over garden, you can get sun showers in the morning on the balcony.

Breakfast was good, good but not great variety and a lot of greesy dishes. Restaurant food was delicious! and not very expensive, set menu was 18euros.

Spa is very plain, no jacuzzi, warm sauna and small pool only. We went their for free as a part of our offer, but if you pay - you just waste your money.

Peacocks walking on the territory! We had two peacock males flying to our balcony! Had really nice pictures with them and their glamorous tails:)

Spent really good time there!

Room Tip: Rooms looking over garden have amazing view. Right wing gets more sun during a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed there in Jan 2012, the company I work for held their global sales meeting at the hotel.

The website advertises a gym but its only open from 10am only had some treadmills and no weights,
The free wifi didnt work most of the time.
The food was ok, pretty bland which was a shame

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brymills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hotel Castilla Alicante
#14 of 50 in Alicante
571 reviews
Playa de San Juan
Almirante Hotel
Almirante Hotel
#11 of 50 in Alicante
383 reviews
Hotel Maya Alicante
#8 of 50 in Alicante
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
NH Alicante
#2 of 50 in Alicante
683 reviews
AC Hotel Alicante
#9 of 50 in Alicante
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alicante Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alicante Golf

Address: Avenida Naciones s/n, 03540 Alicante, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Playa de San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Alicante
#12 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
Price Range: £54 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alicante Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Alicante Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Alicante Golf Hotel Alicante
Husa Alicante Golf And Spa
Hesperia Alicante Hotel
Hesperia Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing