We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel ok golf course not so”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Alicante Golf
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Scotland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Hotel ok golf course not so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

The hotel is clean and rooms a fair size, breakfast is disappointing. The hotel has the feel of one that is running a tight ship, e.g. well into March and both pools were empty and in a state. The breakfast was described well by a friend as "somewhat soviet". The golf course was very poor, fairways in dreadful condition (look like they had not been watered for some time) tees and greens poor.

The staff are doing a great job but you get the impression there are a few trying to do a lot.

Room Tip: I was in room 330 it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stirlingtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    150
    119
    39
    37
See reviews for
121
161
11
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Was there for 8 nights by myself in January.
There to meet my friend
Room lovely cleaned well nice view over golf
Course. Couple of maintenance faults. Pool water
Quite green reported this. The breakfast was
Lovely. Hotel quite quiet but staff nice.
Going back in July already booked.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

A very very large hotel, it was extremely quiet when we stayed but I imagine it could become quite noisy due to ts size and numbers of people. The hotel is very clean and the staff excellent, only had breakfeast in the hotel which was the usual buffet standard. The tram system to Alicante or to Benidirm is first class and very cheap wellworth using.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kopavogur, Iceland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Returned to Husa after a few years break. The place is very convenient for a golf break being situated on a nice and well maintained golf course. Some of the rooms are dated but many have also been renovated. All was clean and staff was helpful and friendly. All in all a good experience, but better to eat out.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I have just returned from a short break with my husband and 2 x children. The room was clean and well serviced but was in need of some decoration and general repair. As mentioned in a previous review the hotel does appear to suffer with drainage smell issues which affected one of the rooms that we were in. They were quick to bring an air freshener to deal with this but this is clearly an ongoing issue.

Breakfast was hugely disappointing the hotel was not busy but food wasn't replenished and hot option was lukewarm. So much more could be done to improve this. We ate there more for convenience but would recommend that you use the small tapas restaurant across the road for breakfast. Staff in general were slow to serve and lacked the customer service you would expect from a 4 star hotel. Facilities were generally closing due to the winter period approaching, We did use the indoor pool but this needs repair work to be carried out to the decking surrounding the pool. With young children and adults alike this was a concern as many of the panels were either loose or raised causing it to be a hazard.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moods74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kopavogur, Iceland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Now coming back again and again you see how a place changes. Last year I was not so happy but our golf group decided to try again, but not for a week like last time but only 3 days out of a 7 days golf holiday in Spain. And then after that, compering Husa and Alicante Golf to La Sella Marriot in Denia there comparison is unfair in almost every way.
The golf course is not properly maintained, we did not for over 3 days see anyone take care of the course. They did not even bother to move pins on greens between days, they did not bother to cut the greens on Sunday morning so it did not hold the putting line and spike marks around the holes were to the maximum.
The decline of the hotel continues, staff at the hotel bar did not bother to service you, charging bogus lunches to my rooms, and the breakfast buffet was to it's minimum. Luckely we did not have halve board based upon last time experience but if it's anything similar to the breakfast buffet, I cannot recommend it.
So after a trip in 2005, 2007, 2009, 2012 and 2013, this was the last time in a long while I will visit the Husa Alicante.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arni_Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celia T, Quality Control Dpt at Hotel Alicante Golf, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Good morning,

We feel very sorry to hear you had such a bad impression from the course and the hotel.

Refering to the golf course, they had just made the greens on the 16th and 17th September. This was the reason you didn’t find the course in its habitual condition, which is informed to every single agency and client.

As usually, after a hollow tinning it takes a minimum of two weeks to be totally recover, however this practise must be done in other to keep the greens in good shape.

We will be happy to inform you directly about any maintenance on the course so you can plan your holidays in the most suitable dates.

According to the hotel, we are always trying to improve our facilities and services. Our buffet has a large range of products, and now you can have a daily menu for 19euros, different everyday.

We really hope this incident doesn’t change your opinion about Alicante Golf Resort and you continue counting on us for your future golf holidays.

In that case, do not hesitate to contact me!

Best Regards,

Celia Trives
Quality Control dpt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alicante hotels

Wirral
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Overall was disappointed as we had been expecting something top class. The room was dated but was clean and the air conditioning worked great. You need to have your balcony door tight shut for it to work which is why some reviewers might have had problems. The views over the lake and golf course are very pretty and it was a pleasure to sit out at night. Although there was a restaurant in the hotel it was not open, which was a shame as we had to have bar food. This was acceptable but not the same as a special meal. Similarly the pool bar and the hairdressers seemed to be shut most of the time. We would have spent more money had things been open, as it was we went out.
The beach is a good walk away. There is a regular tram into Alicante but in hot weather this was too much hassle so we used taxis.
Breakfast was quite poor. This hotel caters for the Spanish tastes and it could do with being a bit more international. It would be fine for golfers but for a general holiday you are better off nearer Alicante.

Room Tip: Overlooking the lake for quiet and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beanbag2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celia T, Quality Control Dpt at Hotel Alicante Golf, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comments. It is a pitty you did not come again in july or august, as all our restoration was fully open, we had transfer to the beach, and the temperature was really nice!

I hope you enjoyed anyway your stay!

We take note of all your remarks.

Thank you very much!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hotel Castilla Alicante
#13 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Playa de San Juan
Almirante Hotel
Almirante Hotel
#17 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Cabo de las Huertas
Hotel Mio Cid
Hotel Mio Cid
#30 of 49 in Alicante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
NH Alicante
#4 of 49 in Alicante
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alicante Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alicante Golf

Property: Hotel Alicante Golf
Address: Avenida Naciones s/n, 03540 Alicante, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Playa de San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Alicante
#11 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alicante Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Alicante Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Alicante Golf And Spa
Husa Alicante Golf Hotel Alicante
Hesperia Alicante Hotel
Hesperia Hotel Alicante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing