We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alicante”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Pension Portugal

Pension Portugal
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension Portugal
Ranked #41 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Dorset
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Alicante”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Clean but scruffy.Staff very helpful. Convenient location.
Difficult to find entrance.The Pension notice is well lit, it is just that the entrance itself is round the corner and a bell push on a pad of occupants of the building.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueDDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    4
    15
    8
    8
See reviews for
2
15
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

The only good things about this place it's v cheap and not too badly located.
The rooms were dirty and dingy, all the furniture looked like it was bent or broken, the sheets had white stains on them. The bed was supposed to be a double but was tiny and had a dip in the middle making for a v cramped and uncomfortable nights sleep. The smell of the room was also quite horrible, very damp smelling.
The staff were quite unfriendly, but weren't actively rude. And when you want to enter you have to buzz in at all times.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E123w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alicante hotels

Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

The posision is good enough, but if you want a quite and normal stay, don't go there !
We had a terrible night there, the trafic and the noise from people it's coming in the room without any sound isolation. The lady from reception ( Isabel ) was very helpful and tried to help us, but it's nothing to make with the terrible sound from the street.
So, if you are not in big economical problems and you can pay more for a room in Alicante choose something else !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lusken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed overnight before travelling back home. I was given a double room with an ensuite. It was really spacious and the room was very clean. I chose to stay here because it said it was beside the bus station on the website. The bus station has now moved and is a 10 minute walk with cases from the hotel. Overall, I liked the hotel as it suited my needs but it was a bit annoying having to buzz in to get in from the street.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wafox93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cordoba
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

It's run down and seedy, dark and dingy, bathroom smells, my room had no window, the bed creaked and I could hear every noise from all sides, from the plumbing to the phone at the desk to people talking etc, all night. Despite this it was way over priced by comparison with much nicer hostels I found later. As the bus station has moved and it's no longer anywhere nearby, there is no possible reason to patronise this place.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gramail2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

I stayed overnight and chose it because of proximity to the bus station. I would have been better off trying to sleep in the bus station. I was given a single room near reception which was noisy and the room was very old and dirty. The vanity was coming away from the wall, something else fell out of the wall in the middle of the night and the room smelt of smoke even though it was "non smoking". The shared bathroom was also dirty and I went without showering until I reached my next destination. I would not recommend this to anyone, even considering the location.
The only positive was the free wifi that helped keep me amused for the many hours I did not sleep.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SoloTraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2003

I stayed in a double (two single beds) for a few nights for apx. 30 euros. The rooms were clean, with clean shower inside the room. Across the street from the bus depo, 5 minutes to the beach, 10 minutes to the clubs. Lots of sunlight in the room with a mini balcony. Overall I was pleased and the beds were good.

Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Centro
Hotel Alamo
Hotel Alamo
#36 of 49 in Alicante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Hostal La Lonja
#28 of 49 in Alicante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Hotel Residencia San Remo
#34 of 49 in Alicante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Estudiotel Alicante
#26 of 49 in Alicante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Milan
#46 of 49 in Alicante
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Ibis budget Alicante
#37 of 49 in Alicante
3.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Portugal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Portugal

Property: Pension Portugal
Address: Calle Portugal 26, 03003 Alicante, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante > Ensanche Diputación
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 49 Hotels in Alicante
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pension Portugal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing