We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for our short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Alicante
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Hop out of the airport onto a local bus which drops you close to the Hotel and runs every 20 minutes. From the Hotel everything is so easy. The staff are very helpful and very friendly. We had a twin room which was fine, clean, and quiet. Breakfast was perfectly good for us. Plenty of selection, all continental.
Excellent value !! We would definitely recommend.
There are lots of good local restaurants. The old town and the harbour area are good for evening walks and don't miss the Volvo Ocean Race Museum, and of course the Castle. Beach is lovely and a 2 minute walk away.
Can't fault it for a short break.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 806TomHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crbs65, Gerente at Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thank you very much 806Tomhelen for staying with us and for sharing your experience!!!
We aree very happy to see that you enjoyed your Shortbreak and look forward to welcoming you again. Alicante is a lovely city for short breaks and our location is the best!!!
Carlos Bosch
Managenent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

Just back from Alicante. My stay at this hotel was so pleasant that I would stay nowhere else should I return to Alicante. It could'nt be better placed for transport to and from the airport, and to beach and harbour. The staff are first class and I loved the breakfast room. Mr Bosch, the director stepped up on the first morning and showed me how to operate the tea and coffee machine. Altogether, a good experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mikey406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crbs65, Gerente at Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you Mikey for your stay with us and for your kind comments. It was great to meet you and your wife in Alicante, unfortunately the weather was not the nicest one, but I am sure in Ireland is still colder!!! It seems that now spring has arrived and we have already very sunny days.

Hope to welcoming you soon again.

Best regards,

Carlos Bosch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Lovely hotel!!! best value! great location and super friendly staff. I strongly recommend it!!! it was really easy to find .bus is just one step from the hotel...beach is 100 m away and all lovely restaurants are in 3 min walk

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank 971milena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crbs65, Manager at Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you 971 Milena for staying with us and for sharing your kind commens.
We look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Best ragards,

Carlos Bosch
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We spent a long weekend here.

It is an ideal location being on the edge of the old town and very close to the castle, the beach and not too far from the main shopping areas. There are a wide variety of restaurants in the old town and along the sea front to suit all pockets and tastes.

Our room was comfortable and looked out onto a narrow side road, the apartments opposite are almost in touching distance!. The hotel has a very small undergound car park which was challenging for our small hire car. How people managed with anything bigger I am not sure.

Unfortunately, there is a night club opposite and on Friday and Saturday night we were woken around 3.00 AM by people shouting in the street below. This was particularly bad on Saturday night when the last outburst took place at about 7:30 in the morning.

We liked the hotel and its location very much and would return again. Just remember it is a central hotel and the neighbours can be noisy from time to time!

Room Tip: Perhaps rooms at the back of the hotel would have been quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David350z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crbs65, Manager at Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you David for staying with us and for shering your experience.

Being in the city center may have ocasionally an inconevenience like the noise; We have replaced all the hotel windows in the last month and I can assure you that for your next visit noise will not be a problem during your stay. We will be renovating more rooms and items during 2014 and therefore improving standards.

Best regards,

Carlos Bosch
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Four of us stayed here for New Years Eve. The location could not have been better, 100 Mtrs from the Town Hall Square. As it happens it is very close to the beach as well. We were upgraded to a premier room, large, clean, huge terrace and for less than 50.00 Euros, fantastic value for a city centre hotel. In a nutshell a great 3 star hotel in the city. Now the down side - it only offers a continental breakfast and that is not very good, and the service is even worse - we asked for boiled eggs 4 times, it took 40 minutes to get them. We asked for the fruit juice to be topped up, that took 30 minutes and generally the selection of produce available was poor. By the way, do not think it was a language problem, we all speak Spanish. My advice, stay at this great value hotel but go out for breakfast.

Room Tip: Top floor is quieter. Room 505 is really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlos b, Gerente at Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014
Google Translation

Gracias Eric por sus comentarios, sinceramente creo que el desayuno ha sido una mala coincidencia por algún motivo que desconozco, ya que el buffet está por encima del estándar usual en tres estrellas. Siento de verdad que no haya cubierto sus expectativas y le invito a regresar en el futuro invitándole a desayunar, para lo que me tiene a su disposición.

Un saludo cordial

Carlos Bosch
Director gerente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on about five occasions and have always enjoyed our stay, We always book a superior room and always at the rear of the hotel facing the castle. The hotel is in a excellent location for the beach( a two/three minute walk) city centre, old town,etc.
The superior rooms have a balcony and are a little more spacious, comfortable beds and bath and shower and the air con worked ok. The room was cleaned every day with clean towels.
Opposite the hotel there is a little bar next but one to the night club, it is really good value we paid 8 euros for a gin & t and a vodka & t the average price in other bars was 13/14 euros.

Room Tip: Superior rooms (5th Floor) at the rear are quieter, and have great views of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaccaMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We couldn't be more pleased with our stay, the hotel room was (fairly) spacious, working air-conditioning, comfortable double bed, nice bath and shower, toilet and bidet, decent balcony and stunning view of the castle as we were facing away from the beach.
The smiley maid came in every day and did a thorough clean. Friendly staff on reception.
The only things that I would comment on is there was a cracked tile in our bathroom and a bit of a nasty smell coming from the plumbing occasionally (only lasted for a few minutes after flushing the toilet etc) but it was hardly worth making a fuss about.
There is a nightclub opposite (beach side) which attracts the Spanish youngsters on a Friday and Saturday night, so if you want a peaceful night's sleep ask to be put in a room facing the castle.
Brilliant location for the beach, the old town, harbour and castle. Enjoyed our stay immensely.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 403 and was VERY quiet and had a lovely view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saill28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 50 in Alicante
1,326 reviews
NH Alicante
#2 of 50 in Alicante
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#4 of 50 in Alicante
844 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#7 of 50 in Alicante
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel

Address: Calle Gravina 9, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Alicante
Price Range: £40 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tryp Ciudad de Alicante provides the finest hotel location in the city thanks to its proximity to the most popular attractions and venues in the city for both business and leisure travellers. Easily reachable from all of the main highways into Alicante thanks to a location behind the Plaza del Mar, next to Postiguet Beach on one side and the Explanada de Espa??a on the other, a promenade which runs along almost the whole length of the Alicante seafront. Next to the Marina and Casino and a great choice of restaurants, bars and leisure facilities. 150 m from the Plaza del Ayuntamiento and City Hall and with an easy walk to the city centre and its shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp Ciudad de Alicante Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Ciudad De Alicante Hotel Alicante
Sol Melia Alicante
Alicante Sol Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing