We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A glorious summer evening”
Review of L'Atelier

L'Atelier
Ranked #4 of 1,338 Restaurants in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Busot, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A glorious summer evening”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We were so lucky to have found this place. Our friend trawled through your website and we booked the restaurant on the strength of the reviews.All I can say is quality , quality and more quality.The chef certainly knows how to season the food, it was all delicious. the sorbet was so refreshing and the rest of the food was cooked to perfection. The location in the "lanes" of old Alicante is magical. Please give it a try, you will need to book as it is a small and intimate place.
I have a big birthday next year and I have chosen this restaurant to celebrate it.
Sue

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JANE531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    109
    37
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Hidden away behind the Cathedral, this place is a rose among the plethora of Alicante's tourist traps.

You are drawn to the impossibly underpriced 16 euro tasting menu. So cheap you wonder if it is any good. Well it was a mixed batch: the low was a very strange tasting parmesan based cake-thing; the high was a beautiful sea bass on some perfectly cooked vegetables. My rioja was superb and eyebrow raisingly cheap, so overall I came away thinking that on the whole the meal was excellent value for money.

The place was packed, and my only criticism was that the staff were really challenged. While the food always came out in perfect condition, the seven courses took 3 hours to get through which was a bit too long.

The staff were truly friendly, explained each course and on that basis I rate the overall experience 5 stars.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kirth-Gersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Visited here influenced by the very good reviews. We weren't disappointed and had a great night. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced. We will return.

Helpful?
Thank Anne470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great little find!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Brilliant family run restaurant. Great 5 course taster menu for 21 euros.

Would recommend if you're in Alicante. It's a real fine dining experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank chelsea-roses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orihuela, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We first went to this restaurant last year and as we were going to Alicante with friends we decided to book a table again. The food is excellent and one of our friends can only eat gluten free foods. She mentioned this and when they brought the bread rolls for us they provided her with gluten free bread, similarly with the desert with no fuss, bearing in mind that she had not asked for this simply mentioned it in case anything she ordered was not gluten free. We all enjoyed our meal, it is excellend value and there is no rush, you can just enjoy your meal in your own time. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pjhvh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Atelier also viewed

Alicante, Costa Blanca
Alicante, Costa Blanca
 
Alicante, Costa Blanca
 

Been to L'Atelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing