We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Anniversary Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Alicante
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times. Amazing suite with Sea View suite .Very good location close to the beach and always lots to do.The staff are very helpful in the hotel and the spa.I would
recommend the beauty treatments.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thamesreading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

Location fantastic, plenty of places near the hotel to eat. Lots to do and see in Alicante all in easy reach from the hotel. Bus station and beach a short walk from hotel. Spa relaxing. View from the room AMAZING

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madaboutsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Amazing hotel. We choose this for the location, you can walk everywhere from here!
The hotel is clean, spacious - its definitely worth getting the suites so you have access to the outdoor area and the separate kitchen room, no lines! and free cava :)
Table tennis table, pool table, games room - lots to do.
We had a fabulous time here. If you want a hotel that is clean, luxurious, great location and amazing view then stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrs_Trigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Just returned from a girls weekend, it was a treat for a special birthday and we booked two suites, however we did not get a sea view, and the staff were not helpful or bothered about this. We got the impression this was a common complaint from other guests. The rooms were large and very well equipped but we found the room noisy as it faced the casino and disco and we experienced noise in the early hours. The seperate breakfast area was very relaxing and Allen in there was very hard working. The swimming pool area was quite small but nice to relax in later in the day after a day out.
I think the biggest disappointment was reception staff, even on check out still quite surly which surprised us as usually Spanish staff are very pleasant.

Room Tip: Difficult to say as we had asked prior to departure cetain requests but they were not met.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joannegromito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaDptoCalidad, Gerente at Hotel Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear guest,

First I would like to thank you for choosing Suites del Mar for your last stay in Alicante and also for your coments recently made on Tripadvisor in reference to the services you have been offered during your stay. Regarding your coments about the room types you have booked for your "girls weekend", I understand you were not fully satisfied with the views of the two Junior Suites del Mar (not "Suites" you wrongly mentioned) and at that point, I inform you that due to the geographical location of Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar hotel, our Junior Suites del Mar have all a sea view and depending on the orientation of the room you may be offered when checking-in, some face the beach/bay of Alicante, some face to the open/deep sea and some the Port/Marina where boats/yachts are docked with a large view of the Volvo Ocean Race depart area (you may check that information on our official website) but we never confirm a specific view/orientation and if a guest is requesting a specific view when making his reservation, we make our best to satisfy his desire accordingly to the availability of our rooms but you please be aware that if the hotel is fully booked for a specific date, not always we will be able to offer what our guest is requesting for. That is probably for that reason you mentioned on your coments that "staff in reception were not helpful or bothered about it" but our receptionist always try to provide full explanations/argumentations about our guests´doubts and requests but the question is we can not offer a room on a specific location if we do not have any available room on the orientation the guest is asking for !

I would be pleased to welcoming you personally if you think about returning to Suites del Mar in your next visit to our sunny and beautiful city of Alicante,

Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I recently stayed in this hotel. I was in Alicante on business, and had previously stayed in the hotel next door. Either is a very good quality at a reasonable rate. Cleanliness is of the highest order, and the service is also very good.
The location of the hotels mean your early morning view of the bay is beautiful. The town is just a step away, and the airport shuttle buses stop about 150 m away. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huw W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaDptoCalidad, Gerente at Hotel Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Huw W,
Muchísimas gracias por sus comentarios sobre su estancia con nosotros. Es un orgullo saber que ha disfrutado de nuestras instalaciones y que el equipo humano ha estado a la altura de sus expectativas.
Con la esperanza de darle nuevamente la bienvenida, reciba un cordial saludo,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

As mentioned in other reviews the best part of this hotel is the location to get out and about, it is just a shame that outside access is limited as is the spa. You get access to the spa but not to the outside pool and decking area, for that you must have to booked a suite. Cannot knock the rooms as thought they were very modern and clean, book a sea view though. Breakfast are area is very small as is the food selection.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room and if you can afford the upgrade book a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank broadfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location between the marina and the beach, close to the esplanade. The most disappointing thing is the so called 'outdoor circuit', which is a con. This hotel has no outdoor areas, except for one reserved for occupants of their suites. What they call 'outdoor circuit' is access to a Wellness Centre, which is attached to the Melia Hotel next door, so access from the Porta Maris is via a fire escape back door. The Wellness Centre has a fairly average gym, a hydrotherapy room that was not working when we visited and a very small, shallow, overheated, indoor pool, which was useless for swimming. There is a small outdoor area off the pool on a rather scruffy astro-turfed terrace, with half a dozen poor quality sun beds. We were foolish enough to pre-book daily access to the 'outdoor circuit' at 10 Euro per person per day, only to find that, in fact, that allowed only one visit per day, so it you want to ust the gym in the morning and the pool in the evening, you have to pay twice. When we complained that this was not made clear in their website, the receptionist told us dismissively that it was clear to her. In fact the facilities were so poor that we did not even use the visits we had paid for.

Maybe the facilities provided for the suites are good, but otherwise it is hard to see how this hotel can justify the word 'spa' in its title.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank anonyman_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerenciaDptoCalidad, Gerente at Hotel Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014
Google Translation

Distinguido cliente ,

En respuesta a los comentarios realizados en Tripadvisor tras hospedarse en Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar quisiera en primer lugar, agradecer sus comentarios que sin lugar a dudas nos ayudan a alcanzar nuestro objetivo que no es otro que la mejora constante y continua en la prestación de nuestros servicios.

Quisiera, sin embargo, hacerle las siguientes consideraciones para que se puedan comprobar ;
La entrada al Wellness Center es una de las dos entradas principales que ofrece el complejo que no es ninguna "salida de emergencia" como lo indica Usted en su comentario, sino una puerta de acero y cristal con su rótulo y timbre para control de acceso.
El área del Spa, donde tienen acceso nuestros clientes, consta de un espacio amplio donde se encuentra una piscina climatizada, cubierta en invierno y descubierta en verano, jacuzzi, pediluvio y una zona exterior solarium (espacio 3 veces superior al de las Suites del Mar), todo ello formando parte del circuito exterior. Lo que Usted describe como exterior es, en realidad, el circuito interno compuesto por 3 mini piscinas de contrastes (con agua fría, templada, caliente), baño de vapor, ducha escocesa, duchas de contraste. En esta sala de hidroterapia, me complace informarle que no nos consta que ninguna avería no haya sido reparada en el mismo día que ocurriese y siempre pre-avisando a nuestros huéspedes de la imposibilidad de uso de parte de las instalaciones y ofreciendo entrada adicional para el mismo día.
En cuanto a su comentario que había pocas tumbonas quisiéramos aclarar que se ofrecen tumbonas según afluencia de clientes. Respecto al gimnasio, de 200 m2, dotado de instalaciones para realizar todo tipo de ejercicios e información del acceso diario a la zona del Spa, le remitimos a nuestra web donde claramente delimitamos las fechas y el tipo de acceso a la zona y adjuntamos fotografías y descripciones detalladas de los servicios que se ofrecen.

De cualquier modo sentimos no haber cubierto sus expectativas y le agradecemos por haber escogido nuestro hotel y haber realizado sus comentarios en Tripadvisor. Espero tener la oportunidad de saludarle personalmente en su próxima visita.

Atentamente,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alicante hotels
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 50 in Alicante
1,550 reviews
Centro
Tryp Alicante Gran Sol Hotel
NH Alicante
#2 of 50 in Alicante
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Maya Alicante
#9 of 50 in Alicante
1,326 reviews
Ensanche Diputación
Abba Centrum Hotel
Abba Centrum Hotel
#4 of 50 in Alicante
843 reviews
Centro
Eurostars Lucentum
Eurostars Lucentum
#6 of 50 in Alicante
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar

Address: Pz Puerta del Mar 3-5, 03002 Alicante, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Alicante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Alicante
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alicante
#5 Romantic Hotel in Alicante
#7 Business Hotel in Alicante
Price Range: £49 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Spa Porta Maris & Suites del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Spa Porta Maris And Suites Del Mar
Hotel Porta Maris Del Mar
Spa Porta Maris Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing